Customer Reviews for

The No-Cry Sleep Solution Enhanced Ebook

Average Rating 4.5
( 345 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(280)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Kind to babies, kind to parents and you're both going to sleep!

If you're reading this, you're probably extremely tired, so I'll try to cut to the chase!

1. The title is a misnomer - it should be "No Cry sleep solutionS". You pick from about 50 different ideas, each tailored for different situations and put a plan together that ...
If you're reading this, you're probably extremely tired, so I'll try to cut to the chase!

1. The title is a misnomer - it should be "No Cry sleep solutionS". You pick from about 50 different ideas, each tailored for different situations and put a plan together that suits your baby and your parenting style. There are ideas for co-cleepers and for cot-sleepers. Ideas for bottle feeders and ideas for breast feeders. Ideas for dummy users, car-seat sleepers, older babies and new borns. It's really individualised.
2. Pantley herself co-slept and breast-fed BUT, unlike almost any other parenting book out there, she not only respects other parenting choices, she provides solutions that will suit the bottle-fed, cot-sleeping baby etc. She is never judgemental, never tells you you have only yourself to blame for your child's sleeplessness and never tells you what to do. I'd read these books even if they didn't work because she's so encouraging! So refreshing not to feel you've been beaten over the head with a stick!
3. She had 4 kids and worked with loads of test families. I only have 1 but she has had 3 periods of poor sleep, 2 after developmental leaps and 1 after 9 days illness. Each time, we've tailored a slightly different plan using this book and the nap book. We've seen about 30-50% improvement immediately which has given us energy to hang on 6-10 more days for a real turnaround. It's not as quick as controlled -crying but it's far less painful. No tears for Mum and Dad and you can look your child in the eye in the morning.
4. This really is a third way - I actually can't contemplate controlled crying but some Attachment Parenting books seem to suggest you leap joyfully out of bed 8 times a night in sheer delight at meeting your child's needs night or day. I'm not going to force my baby to work out how to sleep on her own and if she needs me, she gets me, but if I can gently lead her towards a full night's sleep without tears, it means I can function much better and be the kind of creative, fun, loving Mum I want to be during daylight hours rather than the grouchy wreck I was who was, snappy with everyone, especially those I loved most, and a menace behind the wheel of my car!!!!
I really wish you joy with your baby and I wholeheartedly believe this book will help you experience much more of that.
Just a final note, I thought the nap book would be a rewrite of this one but we have both and it really does have enough new information in it to be worth getting if naps are also an issue.

posted by Mama_Jen on February 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sleeping twins - thank you!

Elizabeth Pantley gave me hope in our very dark (and very awake) days when our twins were 6 months old. They woke up 7 to 8 times a night (each) at different times, and we were desperate for improvement. I shudder when I remember the tears and silent pleas when you get ...
Elizabeth Pantley gave me hope in our very dark (and very awake) days when our twins were 6 months old. They woke up 7 to 8 times a night (each) at different times, and we were desperate for improvement. I shudder when I remember the tears and silent pleas when you get up again after only half an hour, not to mention the strain it put on my husband and my relationship. Following a twin sleeping plan took determination, but in my opinion, you'll never appreciate something fully if you didn't have to work hard for it. And wow, did it pay off! Our twins are 18 months old now (falling asleep & sleeping by themselves for months), and we just moved them into their own toddler beds. It took just 2 nights for us to realise what they needed to learn to fall asleep in their new beds. Rubbing their backs, sitting with them or lying down next to them quickly calmed them, and just 5 days later I was able to put them down by myself, and merely "sh" for a while. They fell right asleep. I am sooooo impressed with them! They didn't even get off their beds. Elizabeth, thank you so much again for all your wonderful advice...we'll be starting pre-potty training soon, which I feel excited about - thanks to you!

posted by ChristelleB on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 345 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    Kind to babies, kind to parents and you're both going to sleep!

    If you're reading this, you're probably extremely tired, so I'll try to cut to the chase!

    1. The title is a misnomer - it should be "No Cry sleep solutionS". You pick from about 50 different ideas, each tailored for different situations and put a plan together that suits your baby and your parenting style. There are ideas for co-cleepers and for cot-sleepers. Ideas for bottle feeders and ideas for breast feeders. Ideas for dummy users, car-seat sleepers, older babies and new borns. It's really individualised.
    2. Pantley herself co-slept and breast-fed BUT, unlike almost any other parenting book out there, she not only respects other parenting choices, she provides solutions that will suit the bottle-fed, cot-sleeping baby etc. She is never judgemental, never tells you you have only yourself to blame for your child's sleeplessness and never tells you what to do. I'd read these books even if they didn't work because she's so encouraging! So refreshing not to feel you've been beaten over the head with a stick!
    3. She had 4 kids and worked with loads of test families. I only have 1 but she has had 3 periods of poor sleep, 2 after developmental leaps and 1 after 9 days illness. Each time, we've tailored a slightly different plan using this book and the nap book. We've seen about 30-50% improvement immediately which has given us energy to hang on 6-10 more days for a real turnaround. It's not as quick as controlled -crying but it's far less painful. No tears for Mum and Dad and you can look your child in the eye in the morning.
    4. This really is a third way - I actually can't contemplate controlled crying but some Attachment Parenting books seem to suggest you leap joyfully out of bed 8 times a night in sheer delight at meeting your child's needs night or day. I'm not going to force my baby to work out how to sleep on her own and if she needs me, she gets me, but if I can gently lead her towards a full night's sleep without tears, it means I can function much better and be the kind of creative, fun, loving Mum I want to be during daylight hours rather than the grouchy wreck I was who was, snappy with everyone, especially those I loved most, and a menace behind the wheel of my car!!!!
    I really wish you joy with your baby and I wholeheartedly believe this book will help you experience much more of that.
    Just a final note, I thought the nap book would be a rewrite of this one but we have both and it really does have enough new information in it to be worth getting if naps are also an issue.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    For all the sleep deprived parents...

    Take my word for it, this book is an absolute must-have for any parent who is fighting the sleep battle with their baby and doesn't believe in letting them cry it out. I have been fighting a bedtime battle with my five month old son for months now. He absolutely REFUSED to go to bed before midnight, and by that time he was literally passing out from exhaustion, as was I, after being an inconsolable terror for four or five hours. I tried everything. Nothing made him happy, nothing stopped the fussing, not playing, not eating, not a diaper change, nothing. I'm a first time mother, and when I would share my problems with some of the more experienced mothers I knew, they would simply tell me to put him in bed and let him cry. I just couldn't do it. I couldn't listen as he screamed and gasped for breath until he was coughing and gagging. And I didn't see how this could possibly foster a trusting relationship between us. So I started looking online for possible solutions and came across mention of Elizabeth Pantley's book. I jumped in my car and drove straight to the bookstore to buy a copy, came home, and read it cover to cover. This book is filled with so much helpful information that you can use in any situation. Whether you have a newborn or a baby who is a little older, whether you breastfeed or bottlefeed, whether you co-sleep or your baby sleeps in a crib. It even address other issues such as making the transition between co-sleeping and sleeping in a crib. I immediately began using the techniques that Elizabeth Pantley wrote about in this book, and for the last three nights my son has been in bed asleep by 7:30 at the latest. And during the day he is a whole new baby. Well-rested, happy and playful. And I.well I am a much happier well-rested woman and because of that I am able to be the kind of mom I want to be. If sleeping is an issue with you and your baby, whether it's what time they go to sleep or whether they sleep through the night, you MUST read this book. I assure you, you won't regret making the investment.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    AMAZING RESULTS!!

    I purchased this book mostly based on reader reviews and I was not disappointed! It was near impossible to get my five month old son to fall asleep (for bedtime OR a nap) with out a very long process of rocking/walking/bouncing/swaying/crying/you name it. And he would almost always wake up (usually crying) the moment I placed him in his crib and I had to start all over again. It was exhausting and stressful and I came to dread nap times and bed time. That is until I discovered this book. In just four short days my son was falling asleep more quickly and more peacefully than ever before. Our nap routine has been cut from 20 plus minutes to about five minutes! Bedtime is actually enjoyable. Tonight, day 7, I put him in his crib after just a few minutes of cuddles after reading and he woke up. I was actually able to lull him back to sleep with a song in about one minute. I'm still in shock. I'm able to sit down and write this review because my son is sleeping peacefully right now, thanks to this book. If you are looking for help with a sleep issue please try this book. I don't know why anyone would even attempt to let their child cry it out if there is an alternative like this. In the past seven days my son hasn't shed one single tear due to a sleep related issue. It works! Plain and simple.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Very highly recommended - get rid of that guilt of making your baby cry it out.

    I came across this book after trying the cry it out (CIO) technique with my son when he was only 7 months old and it was like a pray. That may sound exaggertated but if you are feeling as desperate as I was to make your baby sleep and just couldnt bear them crying out for you while you ignored them, this is for you!!

    That was the most painful experience I have ever had during parenting. If you feel the same, this book is for you.

    When I first bought this book, I was very very tired, I was very upset (feeling like a failed mum), I was stressed and NOT in need of another book full of ideas for "textbook babies". Sound familar?

    My son is an individual and not passive, he is stubborn and strong willed and many books make babies sound like easily trainable things but that just isnt true. They have personalities (even as newborns) and have like and dislikes that are all individual to them.

    Reading this book was like sitting down with a good friend who suggested lots of different ideas which YOU choose. The ideas are really well thought about. They are not the obvious "how can I fill another page in my book" type of ideas. They were really useful, clever ideas used by parents which could be easily adapted or cut out completely depending on the personality of your baby. You decide and you get to try them all out in a structured easy to follow way.

    The book is written very clearly and its easy to just navigate to the page you need. You dont need to sit and read every single page to work out what the author wants to tell you however, I found that despite being sooooooo tired, I wanted to read it all (especially the first few chapters) because it truely felt like a friend was sitting in front of me and telling me about her experiences and really really relating to my desperation.

    I felt like I sat there reading the book and its ideas and saying "wow, that could really work...or, noo,I dont think that would for us because of xyz but yeah actually if I try that instead it may"

    I definitely give this book 5/5. Excellent! Full of really good ideas! Easy to read! Puts things into perpective!

    Most of all, slowly but surely, bedtimes become a very very enjoyable experience again, full of love.

    I used to walk away from my sons cot feeling upset at seeing him upset, feel tired and worn down. I now walk away from my sons cot each evening, brimming over with how much I love him and reflecting on how lovely our time together that day has been. This is all thanks to Elizabeth Pantley!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    This book has made a huge difference in our home and the way we sleep. My son is 7 months old and was waking 7 to 8 times a night still. The only way I could get him back to sleep was through breastfeeding - EVERY time he woke up. He began sleeping in my bed because I couldn't stay awake and feed him that many times a night and still get up and function for work in the morning.
    One weekend, I read The No-Cry Sleep Solution. I was pleased to find in the book there were solutions for all kinds of families; families that breastfed or bottlefed, co-slept or didn't, and anything in between. This book offered SO MUCH advice and support. It provided lots of things you could do to help your baby sleep better without making one drastic change that is tough on you and baby.
    Ms. Pantley's book offers a way to help your little one sleep without using cry it out methods. We started on a Monday with, what I considered, small changes and by Thursday we were seeing results. My son went from waking 7 to 8 times a night to only waking 2 times!! It was amazing. If your little one is having trouble going to sleep, staying a sleep, or getting back to sleep - read this book. It will help you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Sleeping twins - thank you!

    Elizabeth Pantley gave me hope in our very dark (and very awake) days when our twins were 6 months old. They woke up 7 to 8 times a night (each) at different times, and we were desperate for improvement. I shudder when I remember the tears and silent pleas when you get up again after only half an hour, not to mention the strain it put on my husband and my relationship. Following a twin sleeping plan took determination, but in my opinion, you'll never appreciate something fully if you didn't have to work hard for it. And wow, did it pay off! Our twins are 18 months old now (falling asleep & sleeping by themselves for months), and we just moved them into their own toddler beds. It took just 2 nights for us to realise what they needed to learn to fall asleep in their new beds. Rubbing their backs, sitting with them or lying down next to them quickly calmed them, and just 5 days later I was able to put them down by myself, and merely "sh" for a while. They fell right asleep. I am sooooo impressed with them! They didn't even get off their beds. Elizabeth, thank you so much again for all your wonderful advice...we'll be starting pre-potty training soon, which I feel excited about - thanks to you!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    At last what I wanted to hear ... sleep and no crying in the same sentence!

    I asked around other mums and professionals and searched the internet high and low for strategies to help get my baby to sleep and I kept getting the answer as 'let him cry himself to sleep', 'shut the door to the nursery and turn up the tv' and other such notions to this effect. I was adament that this was NOT the way I was going to treat the baby I had craved for such a long time and along came a link to the book 'THE NO CRY SLEEP SOLUTION'. I immediately bought the kindle version and read it all almost in one go! Pantley's views and strategies for gently teaching your child to sleep on their own spoke to my heart. The book is easy to read and gives ideas in an easy to follow manner covering all possible scenarios. The personal anecdotes from herself and her 'test-mums' make you realise there are other mums pacing the halls late into the night all dreaming of sleep and determined to not leave their baby's to fall asleep crying also. This was a revelation to me as all I had been told was to leave them to cry themsleves to sleep so that they would 'learn the lesson'.
    When other mums now ask me how I get my baby to sleep I mention this book and they also have the same response as I have done... 'No tears? Then that's for me!'
    Elizabeth Pantley is my new herione!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Finally something that works for us!

    I got this book about 3 weeks ago. What interested me was the no-cry part, because my 4 month-old daughter was sleeping quite well but cried a lot before falling sleep. I had been told that it was normal, that some babies need to cry themselves to sleep. Well I couldn't stand it anymore! I loved the book and applied lots of the tips in it. Now not only does my daughter fall asleep without crying, but she takes longer naps and wonderful 12 hours nights!! I wasn't expecting that, but I am sooo happy :) I think everyone can benefit from it, since it is very flexible. Thank you Elizabeth!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    There really is no crying!

    I am a first time mother to a wonderful four month old baby girl.

    I found the No Cry series through the Dr Sears website and I have to say that it has changed our lives! We were in a cycle of rocking our baby to sleep every night up until 12 weeks of age. We co-slept up to that point and I was exhausted! I got to that point of not being able to do it for one more night and I read the No Cry Sleep Solution in a couple of hours. I put it into motion that same night. I used the Phases that the book suggests and realized after two nights that we were already making HUGE progress! After a week, I was able to put baby in her crib 90% awake and have her fall asleep on her own.

    She is still a pacifier fan but I will use the Gentle Removal Plan when the time comes to go there - for now, she uses it when she first falls asleep at night and then rarely after that. She only wakes once a night and generally refuses the paci at that time - she is starting to sleep right through on occasion as well! Last night, I put her in the crib fully awake and crossed my fingers - she did it!! A little whimpering but she was out in less than 10 minutes! The best part of all of this - NO CRYING! I really struggled with the whole idea of letting her CIO at any age - despite numerous people telling me that it was the only way to teach her to sleep on her own... so sad that so many babies are subjected to such a cruel thing.

    These books understand that all families and all babies are different. If you are looking for a one size fits all magic arrow, this will not be the book for you, and I would venture a guess that there is no such thing.

    If you are looking for a series of adaptable tools that you can use to guide your baby gently and lovingly with no crying, this is the book to buy! There are many different ways to deal with a plethora of challenges that babies throw at us when it comes to sleeping (or not!) and Elizabeth hasn't missed anything. Most importantly, this book gives you the courage to stick with whatever course of action you choose - never claiming that it will be easy, but always reminding you that a babies development is a process and like all processes, it takes time. If you are considering this book, chances are that you have spent a great deal of time not sleeping, so spending a little bit more time with a goal in sight isn't a huge change!

    My success happened very quickly! We went from rocking our baby to sleep to her falling asleep on her own when fully awake within a week. That was over a month ago :) Honestly, NO CRYING!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    Are you sleepy? Is your child keeping difficult to get to sleep

    Are you sleepy? Is your child keeping difficult to get to sleep, or do they wake up all night long? Buy this book. You won't regret it. I bought this book in desperation when my twins just wouldn't sleep. They battled ear infections and colds, so I knew that was part of the problem. But I also knew that I would have to change my ways. I couldn't stand to hear them cry, and when they got really cranked up, it just fed the other twin's anxiety. I knew Cry It Out methods just wouldn't work for my family. I read Elizabeth Pantley's book (a very quick read, by the way), and found the information in it to be affirming of my own parenting style. I also found a plan I could clearly follow. In fact, I had instictually followed her plan with my daughter (now 4 and an EXCELLENT sleeper). I just needed to follow it with my twins. If you are struggling with your child's sleep and don't feel that the Cry It Out methods will work for your family, this book can help you. Do not expect overnight results, but you will sleep if you follow Ms. Pantley's plan. Good luck and zzzz's to you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    I stumbled upon the ┬┐No-Cry sleep solution for babies┬┐ like many

    I stumbled upon the “No-Cry sleep solution for babies” like many other parents when my sleep depravation started to have bad consequences on my daily mood and my ability to gently care for my child.

    My wife and myself knew, that we wanted a loving sleep teaching for our kids and that we didn’t want them to fall asleep while crying. When we found Elizabeth Pantley’s book, it was like a breath of fresh air in our daily exhausted routine. This book was exactly what we had been looking for. A book that understands the troubles in which parents can be when their kids don’t sleep, a book where there is no judgment for parental behaviour once sleep lacks, a book that acknowledges that every child is unique and different and that his needs to fall asleep vary. This book also emphasizes on the fact that sleep education is a fundamental part of children’s education and that it should be considered as such. Hence it means that this takes time, consistency and efforts and that no short-term solution can bring success to the child.

    The various proposed solutions are like a toolbox where the parents can choose which tool best applies to their child. Some of them will work, some of them won’t, but Elizabeth Pantley, who uses comforting words to the parents, understands all this. This gave us a lot of assertiveness to approach our children’s sleep.

    With the second baby, I thought I could use the techniques I learned with the first one. Well I was mistaking! I pulled the book out of its shelf and it became my daily book for several weeks, again! Like I said, every child is different and needs different approaches. One thing is always the same: Every child needs his parents to learn how to sleep on his own and a sane sleep is the key for a peaceful life. If you aren’t a sleep expert and want to bring to your child this peaceful start in life without letting him cry, this book will definitely help you reach that goal !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Nice one

    Nice one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Our daughter wasn't sleeping at night! 1am/2am/3am walks for one

    Our daughter wasn't sleeping at night! 1am/2am/3am walks for one hour.
    Oy.
    And we believe in not letting babies cry it out. We (the adults) were crying in exasperation.

    Thanks to this book, we learned about routines and this and several other great ideas in the book
     helped us PROFOUNDLY. Our baby is now sleeping normally through the night. Thanks Elizabeth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    This book is a great read for parents looking for a gentler solu

    This book is a great read for parents looking for a gentler solution to sleep training. I truly believe there's no one fits all approach to sleep training, each family is different with different needs. The downside to this book is that there's so many options it can be confusing for parents who are already sleep deprived to comprehend, and the process can be a lengthy one. The addition of the videos to go over each section is wonderful. It also is very supportive of all parenting types; whether you breast or bottle feed, or your baby sleeps in a crib or co-sleep Ms. Pantley covers it in a very non-judgemental way.  All in all I would recommend this as a  good read for parents who are looking for the gentlest way to sleep train. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    This book is kind, gentle and understanding to both mother and b

    This book is kind, gentle and understanding to both mother and baby. There's no strict schedule to try and force your baby into that leaves you feeling like a failure. It's a very easy read and doesn't take too long to read. The book helps you to come to know your unique baby better and do what works for you. The sleep logs are a great reflective tool - I found I was so caught up in what was going on I didn't even know how frequently my baby was waking at night or how many naps he was having during the day. The logs helped me reflect on this and identify where and how we could improve. It does take time to get results, but for me it's worth it to avoid the distress of cry it out techniques. The book really speaks to you as a parent; acknowledges how hard it is to cope with little sleep. It also gently reminds you how precious parenthood is and how important it is to cherish your baby. This book really spoke to me and I feel better connected to my baby having read it. Our sleep continues to improve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    The addition of videos to The No-Cry Sleep Solution is a boon to

    The addition of videos to The No-Cry Sleep Solution is a boon to this already extremely helpful book. In them, Pantley is warm, calming, and reassuring. Helping a baby to sleep better is a trying and exasperating task (I say this from current experience, and I haven’t succeeded just yet!), and Pantley’s reassurance in these videos is reenergizing. It can be hard to keep going with a new plan when your outside support is just the words on a page. Through her videos, Pantley offers the reader another way to look at each chapter’s lessons, and I think it has made the book even more accessible. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    With two theories of parenting choices at night "let her cr

    With two theories of parenting choices at night "let her cry it out" or "spoil" this book is a great read for parents. It has videos at the end of each chapter that do an excellent job summarizing the chapter for a sleepy mother to comprehend the book. This book has advice for parents that co-sleep, breastfeed, baby in crib, or bottlefeed. This book helps understand why the baby has certain sleep patterns and how you can work with your darling baby to get a more restful nights sleep with realistic expectations. The No-Cry Sleep Solution will help you create a custom plan for you and your baby. This is the book for any parent truly ready to get a full nights rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    You won't have to worry about finding A LOT of time to read this

    You won't have to worry about finding A LOT of time to read this book. You can pick it up for only a few minutes and find something helpful for you and your baby to sleep. The author has lots of experience with her own kids as well as others. She has the sweetest approach YET effective. You won't worry about ANY tips or strategies that are suggested to try. I have two young boys who have NOT been good sleepers. One was only breastfed (co-sleeper) and the other one was mostly bottle fed (crib sleeper)...you will find help for ALL kinds of babies. GOOD LUCK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Elizabeth Pantley's No Cry Sleep Solution is a must read for all

    Elizabeth Pantley's No Cry Sleep Solution is a must read for all parents and parents-to-be. Having a baby with reflux, lactose intolerance and sleep issues literally brought me to my knees. After reading the No Cry Sleep solution, we have never looked back. Using a variety of the techniques in the book, my son has gone from waking 8+ times a night to sleeping through, without even a minute of letting him cry on his own.
    I researched a number of sleeping technique books, but the reason I chose to follow Pantley's is because the techniques are based on real life research as well as professional advice and opinion of paediatricians and child psychologists. I am confident that the techniques in this book are supportive of a baby's emotional and physical needs as well as a parent's need for restful sleep.

    The No Cry Sleep Solution will teach you to understand how babies sleep and how to identify sleep patterns and habits. It will empower you to make choices that are right for your baby and family rather than following popular trends. Most importantly, it will help you to achieve your sleeping goals using a wide variety of strategies that really work.
    In our house, bedtime is now my favourite time of the day. With the help of the No Cry Sleep Solution, it is a peaceful, loving, night time ritual that strengthens our family bonds and sets us all up for restful sleep. Thank-you Elizabeth Pantley for creating this amazing resource!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is a wonderful tool for parents to help their child sl

    This book is a wonderful tool for parents to help their child sleep. Unlike some other harsher methods, that make you ignore your child's cries for help, this book encourages you to respond to your child's needs. This makes for a happier baby and parents! It may take a while and take more patience then what other books suggest, but no one said that every parenting obstacle was going to be an overnight success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 345 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18