Customer Reviews for

The No-Cry Sleep Solution for Toddlers and Preschoolers: Gentle Ways to Stop Bedtime Battles and Improve Your Child's Sleep: Foreword by Dr. Harvey Karp

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

For the most part our son has been a good sleeper, but recently

For the most part our son has been a good sleeper, but recently he has gotten to the point where if he doesn't sleep with us...he doesn't sleep at all...and neither do we. So, we turned to the No-Cry Sleep Solution book to see if we could find answers. Not only did th...
For the most part our son has been a good sleeper, but recently he has gotten to the point where if he doesn't sleep with us...he doesn't sleep at all...and neither do we. So, we turned to the No-Cry Sleep Solution book to see if we could find answers. Not only did the book provide tips and guidance on how to solve our particular problem, it provides solutions for a plethora of other sleep issues - all without making your child "cry it out." Sometimes all a parent really needs is an authoritative voice to tell you that everything is fine. We found out that certain behaviors that several well-meaning (though people who should mind their own business) individuals thought was a problem are actually normal. The most important pieces of advice: Make sure they get enough sleep and trust your instincts as a loving parent. You know your kid better than anyone and every child is different. Highly recommended no matter what sleep issues you are dealing with during the toddler phase. One additional warning: If you go with the e-book, most of the page references (and there are a ton of them) will not match up.

posted by 1000_Character_Reviews on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not so much

How to get a co sleeping toddler into the crib successfully to me wasn't covered with sufficient enough information.

posted by bookstothemax on March 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Not so much

    How to get a co sleeping toddler into the crib successfully to me wasn't covered with sufficient enough information.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    For the most part our son has been a good sleeper, but recently

    For the most part our son has been a good sleeper, but recently he has gotten to the point where if he doesn't sleep with us...he doesn't sleep at all...and neither do we. So, we turned to the No-Cry Sleep Solution book to see if we could find answers. Not only did the book provide tips and guidance on how to solve our particular problem, it provides solutions for a plethora of other sleep issues - all without making your child "cry it out." Sometimes all a parent really needs is an authoritative voice to tell you that everything is fine. We found out that certain behaviors that several well-meaning (though people who should mind their own business) individuals thought was a problem are actually normal. The most important pieces of advice: Make sure they get enough sleep and trust your instincts as a loving parent. You know your kid better than anyone and every child is different. Highly recommended no matter what sleep issues you are dealing with during the toddler phase. One additional warning: If you go with the e-book, most of the page references (and there are a ton of them) will not match up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    So helpful! I love this book!!

    We had been having an awful time getting our boys (2 & 3 years old) to sleep at night. I was almost in tears every night it was so stressful. Everyone was telling us that we had to let them "cry it out", put a lock on their door or at least a gate. I felt there had to be another way but I was skeptical of a "no cry" solution. I read through some parts (I'll admit it, I was desperate for answers so I didn't read the whole thing) and came up with a plan. IT WORKED THE FIRST NIGHT!! Since then there have been nights where the boys have tested limits and have not gone to sleep right away but I'm not getting 1/2 as upset as I had been. We're on the right track and we all feel (and sleep) so much better. I love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Highly Recommend, it helped our family

    I found Mrs. Pantley's book very helpful! Reading through the tips I discovered they weren't difficult, I just had to acknowledge each one and incorporate them each and every day. My fourteen month old daughter had to be nursed to sleep and was getting up 1-2 times in the middle of the night and would have to nurse to fall back asleep. After two weeks of practicing tips from the book, my daughter's sleep habits have improved immensely! Now, I'm putting her to bed awake, she fusses as I walk out of the room but then plays for awhile with her `aquarium' on her crib and then falls asleep with no crying. My daughter has also started going to bed earlier and sleeps for 9-10 straight hours. We will continue to work on all eight steps to further improve her sleep habits!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    GREAT book- GREAT ideas!

    I love Elizabeth Pantley's approach to parenting/sleep advice. When you read her books you feel like you have the ear of a sympathetic mommy friend who has "been there and done that" 4 times of her own. In my opinion that makes all the difference. I used her first book The No Cry Sleep Solution for my first son back in 2005. It did wonders for my sleep and more importantly for my confidence. It helped me to understand that my parenting instincts were something to cherish and not turn off. Fast forward to a few years later- my second son wasn't a bad sleeper at all because had already benefitted from the knowledge I gained from the NCSS (for babies) but there was one hurdle I didn't know how to cross. I was co-sleeping, he was almost 2, and I was ready to night wean him. The No Cry Sleep Solution had some great ideas for that!!! This book has some great ideas for a lot of different issues and I have it on my shelf in case anything comes up in the future. The No Cry books don't pretend to have the ONE answer or system to make your child sleep because there is no one answer. As a mom of 3 I can tell you that all kids really are different. This book gives you a menu of ideas that you tailor to your own child's personality and needs. I HIGHLY recommend this book to any parent of a young child!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    From breastfeeding 10 times a night to sweet sleep!

    I can remember not that long ago sitting in my daughter¿s room in the middle of the night thinking I must be the only mum in the world whose baby didn¿t sleep. I was lucky to get three hours sleep on any given night, and never three hours in a row. But thanks to Elizabeth Pantley and her book ¿the no-cry sleep solution¿ my little girl Milla has gone from a baby who breastfed 10 times a night to a gorgeous 18-month-old who sleeps between seven and ten hours straight! Apart from being exhausted when Milla wasn¿t sleeping, I was miserable because of all the pressure being put on me to ¿do controlled crying¿ from extended family. One even said I was a ¿bad mother¿ for getting up at night for my girl and not teaching her to sleep by letting her ¿cry it out ¿ for hours on end. Everything in my heart said controlled crying wasn¿t right for my Milla. She was a sensitive, gentle and caring girl who was very attached to her mummy. I loved my little girl too much to hear her cry because her mama wasn¿t there when she needed her. After applying Pantley¿s gentle and practical tips, Milla is now sleeping peacefully - and knows that I am there for her when she needs me. I treasure every second with my little girl and am so glad I never abandoned her to cry. We have such a close and beautiful relationship. I feel like the luckiest mum in the world. The first key point I learned from Pantley was that as long as Milla and I were getting enough sleep and we were happy ¿ then we didn¿t have a problem ¿ regardless of what anyone else thought. Milla now wakes once a night, between 5 and 6, and I give her early morning cuddles till get-up time. Controlled crying experts told me NEVER to cuddle my daughter back to sleep. I¿m glad I ignored them because I treasure those mornings when I hold Milla in my arms and feel her soft breathing beside me. This is not a problem for us and a lovely start to our day. Pantley¿s eight bedtime tips seemed rather simple and obvious at first ¿ but once I put them into practice they actually worked. Milla no longer has a night light, has a long and quiet bedtime routine at the same time every night, no tv is allowed when Milla is in the room, she is now going to bed when her biological clock says is the right time for Milla 'not what experts say' and while my husband calls me a ¿sleep Nazi¿, it works! And for those with sleep-log phobias, I still keep a meticulous sleep diary. It helps me notice subtle changes in Milla¿s sleep patterns as she grows older and her sleep needs change. The final chapter in Pantley¿s book ¿ Adult Sleep: Now It¿s Your Turn ¿ was also a life saver. When Milla finally started sleeping well, I would lie awake for hours at night waiting for her to wake. I always tended to be a bit of an insomniac, and her tips for babies have actually also helped me! I would strongly recommend this book to any mum who needs sleep and can¿t find it in her heart to do controlled crying. Pantley¿s approach might take a bit longer than controlled crying 'though even controlled crying isn¿t guaranteed to fix sleep problems quickly and for life' but considering babies and toddlers grow up so quickly, it is worth the investment. My little girl goes to sleep with a sweet smile on her face, not tears!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    Below is a copy of the email I wrote the author of this book I'd

    Below is a copy of the email I wrote the author of this book I'd like to share with everyone. Worth reading if you are considering purchasing the book or want your toddler/preschooler to sleep through the night without more than a few minutes of crying-consider this book a gift to you and your family.
    This book was so life changing for me I want to tell everyone I know about it. I am a smart, well rounded, well read and open minded person as well as a very dedicated mother, but I knew there was more to learn about my son and his sleeping.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I'm not sure if these emails get read by Elizabeth but figured I'd write anyway. I want to take the time to tell you how grateful I am for your book, "no cry sleep solution for toddlers." My son was sleeping 11 hours straight from 4-11 months and then the "sleep regression" (as I named it) started. He was getting up 1-5 times a night and the only way I could get him to go back to sleep without serious crying was to nurse him. I never considered letting him "cry it out" but I was willing to let him cry for 5 minutes, max. My son is now 13 months-I was at a point of complete exhaustion on this past 2 week vacation with my family, I was so tired I couldn't keep up with conversations during the day. I came home and decided I needed to find out what I was doing wrong and ways to fix it. I browsed many books online and started reading the "free" pages on amazon from your book. I purchased it the next day but started using tips from what I learned from the "free" pages that night-first one being to remove the nightlight next to his bed. The second I removed it he relaxed his body. That first night I was able to put him to back to sleep without nursing-3 times! I read your book in its entirety the next day, incorporated more of your tips and that night he slept 11 hours straight through!! It's been over a week and he's been sleeping 10-11 hours straight EVERY NIGHT! I also put him to sleep half awake and only had to let him cry 2 times and after 2 minutes he was sleeping (my cut off was 5 minutes before I planned on going into him). I can cry out of happiness while I write this. I believe that sleep is so important for optimal health and mental sanity for my entire family. 
    I want to tell everyone who has a toddler that gets up even once to read your book. It is honest, supportive, written with kindness and GENIUS. The minor things you talk about changing I felt were easy and "no brainers" but they make a world of difference.  
    Thank you so much for writing this book - it has changed my family's life. 
    Best regards,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    After struggling for months with our son taking 30-45 minute na

    After struggling for months with our son taking 30-45 minute naps, we
    finally found some good solutions in The No-Cry Nap Solution! Our son is
    now sleeping for 1-2 hours for every nap - we are in heaven!! What's so
    great about Elizabeth Pantley's books is that she doesn't offer THE
    solution, she offers many different solutions and suggests that you pick
    and choose the ones that are right for you and your baby. And there are
    so many solutions to choose from and they are all gentle! I find myself
    going back to the book over and over when our son is doing something new
    and different and I always find something valuable to try. Elizabeth
    Pantley is also available to her readers ... I sent her an email with
    questions about suggestions for international travel and she responded
    right away. It was so nice to have an answer directly from the author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    I read the first No-Cry book for infants when my daughter was ab

    I read the first No-Cry book for infants when my daughter was about a year old. After being told by everyone - including my pediatrician- to let her "cry it out," I was desperate for something that felt less traumatic for all of us. Within a few weeks, we went from spending almost 1.5-2 hours trying to get her to sleep to a fraction of that, and her sleeping duration went from 2-3 hours a stretch to 6-7 hours. A year later, we found ourselves with more and different sleep issues. I initially started to re-read the first book to refresh myself but then saw this option. I was so excited when I found out that this book, tailored for older kiddos, existed.
    As with the first book, this one begins by letting you know that you're not alone. That in and of itself was of great comfort to me. For so long, I thought my kid was odd or my parenting was seriously flawed. The author then offers very pragmatic advice on how to identify possible causes of sleep issues followed by ideas with which you can create a sleep plan that makes sense for your child and household. More than once I was surprised at very basic things that as a first-time parent, I simply had not thought about. Tweaking small things can make a huge difference!
    I have been so impressed with this author's suggestions that I have already acquired her titles on parenting and discipline, the need of which was largely illustrated by our responses to the sleep problems! If you can't stomach the idea of your child screaming alone in his/her room at night, this book is a lifesaver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    I bought the No Cry Sleep solution for babies when I was pregnan

    I bought the No Cry Sleep solution for babies when I was pregnant, and it helped me immensely. Now my daughter is almost two, I thought I would get the No Cry Sleep Solution for Toddlers and Preschoolers.
    I found it's tips and techniques fabulous and so relevant for me and my daughter.

    I love how gentle and child-centred the book - and indeed, all of Elizabeth Pantley's books - are.

    While her sleep is not perfect, I have learnt through the book, there is no such thing. Having realistic expecations for her sleep is one of the many things I have taken away from the books.

    This book, and indeed, any of Elizabeth Pantley's books I would recommend for parents, either first timers, or for those with many children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Amazing Author, Amazing Book, Amazing Advice!

    My 22 month old had stopped sleeping well for over 6 weeks. She woke at least once a night and took over 2 hours to fall back asleep. She was tired in the morning and if she napped (which took me 1.5 hours of crying and frustration (from both of us) until she finally slept) she was cranky for the afternoon and cried when it was bedtime! I was at a loss. Until I read about Elizabeth Pantey’s Hush Hour in “No-cry Nap Solutions.” In only four days after using the techniques and following the advise in the book I saw great improvement in not only my daughters sleep routine but in her behavior; Even her eating improved!! My DD was quiet and rested for 1 hour every day, she went to bed earlier and slept for 12-13.5 hours a night! If she woke, it was at 5 am where she would then fall back asleep within half an hour for another 3 hours! My little girl is happy again! Thank you Elizabeth! This book is a must read for every parent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A gentle, practical guide for parents.

    Like the other books in Pantley's parenting series, this book offers practical, gentle tips for helping your toddler's sleep habits. Although her tips are not magic overnight answers, you will gain an insight into toddler sleep and get some common sense tips about how to make changes, without tears. I also like that she points out at the beginning that you only have a sleep problem if it is a problem for YOUR family - a nice reminder that each family and child is different and if your current sleep patterns are working, no matter how unusual they are, then don't stress about fixing them.

    One of my favorite parts is the last part where she breaks down her advice into sections based on specific issues and problems.

    Highly recommended for those parents who want tips and reassurance outside of the usual cry-it-out literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    A true lifesaver

    This book was truly a lifesaver for my family. My 14 month old had never slept through the night and would wake up screaming as if he were terrified in the middle of the night. After only two weeks of using the techniques my 14 month old is sleeping through the night and later in the morning. Best of all he wakes up happy and comfortable. I tried the CIO method for three nights and knew there was no way that was for my son or myself. I went searching for answers and found this book, bought it, applied the techniques and it was like magic. I see dramatic changes in my son¿s energy level and my husband and I feel like new people. I would highly recommend this book. It works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Hope for everyone!

    This book saved our nights! I am mother to three great kids. Our toddler was nursing to sleep ever since she was born and when her baby brother came, she kept right on nursing. She would be unable to fall asleep without nursing in my bed and would often wake 3-6 times a night to nurse. I read this book and followed the suggestion to make a sleep plan. I was committed to change the way our family did bedtime and night-time nursing. I determined it was time to night wean her and I couldn't do that fairly until she was in her own room. A month after we began to implement the tecniques found in this book, we are thrilled to report all of us are sleeping well. Bedtime has become a pleasure instead of an unpredictable chotic time. We successfully stuck to the plan and followed through on our commitment to get more sleep. If you have a particuraly hard case in your home, please read this book- it offers so much hope and many great solutions to many different sleep issues. One thing that made my daughter's falling asleep so hard was that she never took to a bear or lovey to go to bed and thus never learned to fall asleep on her own. I was her only lovey and with gentle reassurance, now she falls asleep without nursing now and I simply get to lay at the foot of her bed and doze while she works out her own way of falling asleep. Its my favorite time of day. I get to see her talk to herself and sing songs as she gets sleepy, all the while she knows I am there (but we don't talk after lights out). Too all the sleep deprived moms and dads, there is hope!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    Elizabeth Pantley is a lifesaver

    The way that Elizabeth Pantley approaches parenting is with love for the child'ren' as well as the parents. She does not demonize other methods, but for those of us who feel instinctively that allowing your young child to 'cry it out' is wrong,she provides useful and effective tools. Furthermore, she gives a lot of support to parents who are desperate and sleep deprived. My son is two, has slept beautifully since he was 5 months old, and I still keep her books nearby for much needed advice when we have a rocky patch. I recommend all of her books to everyone I know who is pregnant or has a young child. Her no-cry series of books is the single best resource I have found for parents. She reminds us that it is good to love and nurture your child in a world where that often needs to be defended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Grateful To Be Sleeping Again

    I have such a better understanding of my toddler's sleep patterns. I thought if I kept our dtr up later at night that she would sleep through the night and actually after reading the book it is quite the opposite. The author also takes the time to praise your efforts of parenting and acknowledges the challenges. She provides encouragement to parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    Worked for us!

    This is by far the best sleep book out there. I have read others and tried other methods without any luck. What I liked best about this book is that she understands that every family is different and has different problems. She spends time addressing many common problems individually. She also believes that if everyone in the house is getting enough sleep and is happy with their sleep patterns there is not necessarily a sleep problem. In our house my almost 4 year old has never been a good sleeper and my 2 year old has slept through the night since 4 months. The improvement I have seen in my older daughters sleeping is unbelievable. I'm not saying she sleeps perfectly, but in the past month since we read the book we had much more improvement than with anything else we have tried. For the first time since she was born everyone in the house is sleeping through the night five or six nights a week. My only regret with this book is that I didn't pick it up 3 years earlier!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    IT REALLY WORKS!

    This book was our saving grace and recommended for everyone! Our daughter began waking during the night when she was 6 months old. It was a real concern since sleep is so important for children. We all went sleep deprived (mainly mommy and daddy) for a year. We thought we tried everything. Then we read this book and incorporated several ideas. And they worked! Within one week our daughter was sleeping through the night. And so were we! Thank you Elizabeth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    I am so excited about this book!!

    I am so excited about this book!! For anyone out there with kiddies between 12-ish months and 6 years or so who is frustrated with sleep issues ... I can not recommend this book highly enough!!! IT IS WONDERFUL!!! I have a toddler and a preschooler with entirely different sleep issues, and this is working for both! I'm just not a 'cry-it-out' mom. I've tried once or twice out of utter desperation, but it just isn't a solution for our family. It just doesn't feel right for us. I read this book in a day (ok I was obsessed and driven by desperate fatigue LOL) and we've been following some suggestions for less than a week. Already our boys' sleep problems are improving (almost gone in fact!) & their day times are better now too! We are having fewer mood swings and 'spats' (we don't usually have full blown tantrums to begin with, but even the mini - strops that we sometimes get are gone!) They are both more settled and content, all due to new routines and better quality of sleep. I am more rested and better able to cope in the day too! I'm no moron LOL - I hate being told how to do my job! I consider myself a great parent who does an amazing job ... we've simply been struggling with sleep issues for a while now, and the whole family has been tired as a result. IMO, sometimes when we get so wrapped up in our own difficulties, it becomes a 'forest for the tress' situation. This book helped us get back to basics without preaching rights from wrongs. I find the whole attitude and approach straightforward, gentle and encouraging, without being condescending. I guess what I'm trying to say is that it isn't 'Parenting 101 for Idiots' like some parenting self-help books can be. The advice and suggestions are simple and basic, and more importantly kind and gentle to our children! No quick-fix-child-training, more of a new perspective for the whole family. It's great to get back to the basics without being made to feel an idiot for needing a little help. AND IT's WORKING!!! Our neighbours have noticed a difference already (in all of us!) and are lining up to borrow it ... I don't want to part with it though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    Commonsense solutions

    In 'The No-Cry Sleep Solution for Toddlers and Preschoolers,' Elizabeth Pantley sweeps through the clamor of parenting philosophies with commonsense solutions. Not sure how to solve your little one's sleep problem -- or if it's really a problem at all? Pantley provides objective, non-judgmental questions to help guide you toward answers that work for you, your child and your entire family. Her genuinely family-centered approach balances the demands of parents and children alike with respect, flexibility and humor. Pantley's inclusive strategies offer alternatives for all sorts of families and all sorts of parenting styles. You won't find a more realistic, practical approach to solving sleep dilemmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2