Customer Reviews for

No, David!

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

My 3 Year Old Son's FAVORITE BOOK

Every night he wants to read this book! He LOVES it and laughs every time. Very easy read! It's a good one to share a laugh with your 2, 3, or 4 year old sons....they think David's pretty funny and they see themselves in David so it's just a fun book to read and have a ...
Every night he wants to read this book! He LOVES it and laughs every time. Very easy read! It's a good one to share a laugh with your 2, 3, or 4 year old sons....they think David's pretty funny and they see themselves in David so it's just a fun book to read and have a little laugh with your kids type of a book. =)

posted by SHELLI28 on March 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

        Saddening vitriol. Oppressive sadism. Overt authoritaria

        Saddening vitriol. Oppressive sadism. Overt authoritarianism. These are only three of the seemingly endless descriptors which come to mind when I think of David Shannon's literary abomination No, David, a so-called "children's book" which chronicles a ...
        Saddening vitriol. Oppressive sadism. Overt authoritarianism. These are only three of the seemingly endless descriptors which come to mind when I think of David Shannon's literary abomination No, David, a so-called "children's book" which chronicles a day in the life of David, a reckless and young rapscallion whose disobedience is matched only by his ugliness. An egregiously one sided dissertation on morality, No, David fails to educate children properly; rather than providing discourses on the importance of individuality and the occasional right to act as we please, Mr. Shannon chooses to depict a strict, borderline-Stalinist system of right and wrong that will surely hinder the development of our society's youth.
The indoctrination starts off somewhat subtle, but it isn't long before the story begins its inescapable descent into a fascist propagandist's pleasure read. The protagonist's mother stands poised on the first pages with her hands placed firmly on her hips, undeniably epitomizing the stern authority and powerful bureaucracy under which young David suffers. 
"No, David!" she vehemently screeches as the poor little boy tries to sneak a cookie out of his household's cookie jar. She wails similarly degrading comments toward her child as he plays with a potato, eats with his mouth open, frolics in the nude, and even as he trails a slight quantity of dirt inside their home. Yet, the most disturbing aspect of this book does not lie within the verbal brutality of the meek child's mother, nor does it lie within the poor illustrations which look as though they were done by a man suffering from PCP withdrawal. Instead, it lies in Mr. Shannon's intentions: to instruct other people's children how to live their lives in orderly and proper fashions. 
Why is it that David can't jovially jog around his neighborhood, naked as a newborn? What's keeping him from throwing caution to the wind, voraciously devouring that last cookie? Or, better yet, why should David not be able to do something so simple and innocent as play in the mud? Mr. Shannon's argument is that David can't do these things because his mother, the iron-willed, malevolent dictator from Hell, says so. "No, David," she exclaims repeatedly, each time with more spite and hatred in her voice than ever before.
As mothers and fathers around the world lazily regurgitate Mr. Shannon's views to their susceptible and unknowing children in an attempt to domesticate them, the rates of obedience may very well go up; however, this is not a good thing. Friedrich Nietzsche once said that it is the utmost responsibility of humans to "become who you are" -- that is, to discover your true self and allow him or her to flourish. This is exactly what a children's book of this sort deters. In a universe where our very existence is transient, children should be taught that it's ok to do what makes them happy; existentialist philosophy is no less prominent today than it was during centuries past, and so long as people are able to recognize the consequences of their actions they should be able to do as they please.
In sum, No, David is undoubtably the most poorly written and morally perverted piece of literature that a naive progeny of absentee parents could legally stumble upon. That being said, any parent who would knowingly purchase this book for a child should immediately seek psychiatric help. It should be avoided at all costs, and burned upon confrontation.

posted by Anonymous on January 12, 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Absolutely amazing book!

    I bought this book for my grandsons, ages 2 and 5. They love it and want it read over and over. It teaches such a wonderful lesson. The lesson that no matter what you do, Mom will always love you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    My 3 Year Old Son's FAVORITE BOOK

    Every night he wants to read this book! He LOVES it and laughs every time. Very easy read! It's a good one to share a laugh with your 2, 3, or 4 year old sons....they think David's pretty funny and they see themselves in David so it's just a fun book to read and have a little laugh with your kids type of a book. =)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My 2 year old LOVES this book.

    My daughter started reading the "No, David" series of books at school. When she started quoting the book at home, I decided to buy one for our home library. She asks to read this book at least once a day. We use David's bad behavior as a way to teach our daughter lessons we want her to remember: chew your food, no coloring on the walls, etc...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Excellent book--I keep hearing the word "No" echo in m

    Excellent book--I keep hearing the word "No" echo in my head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Both my son & I LOVE this story

    This is must for any child's collection.. show's no matter how much a child is told no they are still loved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    A must have! Both for little boys and girls. Although there are not many words to the story, little ones are totally entertained by the bright, funny illustrations. Expect a bunch of giggles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Got this book for my 5 year old son for Christmas and it has bee

    Got this book for my 5 year old son for Christmas and it has been his favorite book ever since. He has already memorized it and it has sparked his interested in wanting to read. Thank you for recommending it B&N!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    cute read ...

    How many ways can you say, ¿No!¿ to a toddler? This book shows you a few, and then some.
    This endearing little book is great for parents and children to read together. The images are amusing and the story touches on something that parents and kids will always share, the word, no.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great book for preschoolers...esp. boys!

    This book makes a great gift for a 3-5 year old boy. Grandparents can get a lot of mileage out of this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    cute

    This book is my two year old exactly! He loves it! Mainly because he can relate to everything that David gets in to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No David!

    No David! DVD
    No David! Book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    A must read for young children !!!!

    No.David ! is a Caldecott award winning book that kids would love because it takes you on a funny zany adventure of a young boy who gets into chaos around his house getting into trouble with his mom by doing crazy things , and touching stuff that he know he shouldnt be doing . He makes the reader feel that they are in his crazy world getting into mischeif with him !!! So i highly recomend this book to kids to read because they will just love it and want to read more david books !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    Excellent children's book; highly recommended

    My six year old nephew found this book at the public library. He loved it so much that he read it over and over in the back of the car on the way home. The text of the story is short enough that a beginning reader can read it independently, but it also makes a great story time book that an adult can read to a child. The story is about a small boy who seems to get into trouble constantly, but despite all of the scolding he gets from parents, teachers, etc., the message reinforced here is that he is still loved and that he is in many ways a very typical little boy. The design of the book and its illustrations are superb and work together with the text to deliver a wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    My son loves this book!

    My son's teacher was reading this to him at daycare and he LOVES this book! I had to buy it for him and now we read it all the time. It is a very cute and touching book and is just right for little boys who have the knacj for getting into trouble. Great book to read out loud and for kids to interact with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    No,David! By David Shannon

    This book was the funniest I have ever read, so please read it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    No, David! is a favorite

    My kids enjoyed this story when they were younger, so that was the reason I included it in a gift for new parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great easy reader!

    It seems that David is nothing but trouble in this colorful tale. But Mom loves him no matter what mistakes he makes, which makes this a great book for those times when a child feels like they're nothing but a bundle of mistakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    My 1 year old LOVES it!

    My 1 year old loves this book. We have to read it over and over. He likes to point out all the bad things and 'uh ohhs' David does. Unfortunately this book did teach him how to say 'No'. I highly recommend this book, especially for boys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    Entire 'DAVID' series is a hit with students with ADHD

    Some reviewers have interpreted this book as a mother continually yelling at her son. I believe this book has a much deeper, brighter meaning. David is 'one of those kids' that so many teachers label as trouble-makers, when indeed they are just curious, energetic, and creative! One of my professors in grad school suggested this book to use with students with ADHD, and it was a hit! ALL the books in the David series are a great way to show kids (like David) that even when mommies and teachers have to discipline, there is still love for them. At the same time, it shows adults that ADHD kids tend to get a bad rap, and sometimes we need to give a little wiggle room and foster that creativity instead of constantly nagging!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    Great Book

    My son is 2 and LOVES this book! He has it memorized and loves to read it to everyone! Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3