BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

No Disrespect

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Souljah Is the BOMB

No Disrespect is a book that will help open all our eyes (men&women) in helping us analyze how we live our lives,think about how we want to raise our children and brings the realization of how real male/female realtionships issues exist in all our lives. This book, wit...
No Disrespect is a book that will help open all our eyes (men&women) in helping us analyze how we live our lives,think about how we want to raise our children and brings the realization of how real male/female realtionships issues exist in all our lives. This book, without a doubt will made me think twice about how I'm living my life. Very inspirational, real- real as can be, and motivational. A definite reccommend to all, Souljah lets you into her life, which helps you realize that no one is invisible to pain. GET IT NOW!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

READ BETTER

THIS BOOK WAS OKAY, IT WASN'T AN ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT WAITING TO TURN THE PAGE BOOK. READ BETTER

posted by Anonymous on August 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    READ BETTER

    THIS BOOK WAS OKAY, IT WASN'T AN ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT WAITING TO TURN THE PAGE BOOK. READ BETTER

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    No Disrespect

    This was a mind opener for me. I had previously read The Coldest Winter which I enjoyed and while viewing books in the book store, I ran across this one. It was enjoyable, entertaining and educable. My hats goes off to the sista for educating the public on the real truth. When is the next one coming out?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    I Wish I Had Read it 10 years ago!

    This book was really an emotional and spiritual eye-opener for me. I applaud the author for putting her life in print. This book has made me come to grips with some serious issues in my own life. Thanks for the rules for life at the end of your story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    One of the best books.

    The book was great.It was educational and it made you think about this white America.It was honest and well written.I think it is a great book for teenage girls to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    This book is hot

    From all different people The souljah encounters with each person each having a different story and an impact on her life. I Have to read Coldest winter ever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    Loving Soulja

    I love Sister Souljah's writing style, its a breath of fresh air. Her books are such easy reads, you feel like you are actually in the city with her doing everything she does.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    LIFE CHANGING

    This book is a great read for a mature teenage girl. I am 16 years old and have found that i relate to many of the situations described and i feel that it to be empowering and real. I rarely read books but after being introduced to this book i have began to read non-stop. This book truly changed my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    very good....but nothing compares ato coldest winter

    I want to thank sista for being brave enough to share her life with total strangers. The book was great and by telling her story I think she gave a lot to helpful lessons to black teenage girls who may be on the wrong path and need some guidance. Plus I liked how she combined the story with balck history. VERY WELL DONE! Most teen and young adults now a days dont know (or care) about important historical facts therefore they dont know how history is affecting them today. VERY SAD. Anyway I loved the book and hope sista comes out with a new book soon. I know I will be buying it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    Loved It!

    This book was really good, once I started I couldn't but it down. Every chapter I took something from and even though she was telling so many different stories it seems as if they all sorted related to me in one way or another. I really just loved the book and everybody that I talked with I told them that this was a book that they needed to read. Thank you Sister Souljah I can't wait to read your other books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    A Master Piece....

    Gifted and Brilliant...I once lived the life she lived and broke free from the nonsense. I can relate so well to her book title 'NO DISRESPECT' it's real raw, blunt and straight to the point, no BSing around....It not only displays a woman who has power and strength but someone who falls shorts...GOD has given her a true gift knowledge and wisdom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    BEST AUTHOR EVER

    I THINK THIS BOOK IS GREAT. AND IM NOT THE BOOK PERSON BUT I READ THIS ONE AND THE COLDEST WINTER EVER IN ONLY THREE WEEKS EACH. SHE IS A GREAT AUTHOR BY FAR THE BEST YET

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    Don't miss the message! !

    Great Book, I feel that every family member need to read this book! So, brother¿s and sister¿s; you need to hear the rawness of her voice, and have a reality check on ourselves to see the truth in us¿ Some people think that in order to be called a woman!! Is that we need to have a man. . NOT SO!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    So much respect

    This Sister has the right jargon. When she tells a story that's what she does, from the very beginning she captures you and you're reading it because it's so detailed, precise and she let's it all out. Her books have you so enthralled you're like DA**!!!! She learns and continues to grow right in your eyes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2003

    Wonderful read

    Souljourn was all over it politically, socially, and her insight into relationships was stunning. Sister, you did a wonderful write on this and now it goes on my shelf until my daughters are old enough too read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    Honor & Respect for Sister Souljah

    I really enjoyed No Disrespect and would love for my sister friends to share in her most articulate anthologies. Sister Souljah was really on point with this book. No Disrespect touched grounds on love relationships, spirituality, politics and race with class in which the main thoughts and ideas come from the author herself (Sister Souljah) based on her life experiences. Hearing the author¿s point of view delivered through experiences the reader gains a sense of honor & respect for the writer. Ten points is definitely not enough for this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    This Book Can Do Wonders!!!!!

    This book was beautiful. A true inspiration to me. Though I could not relate to the story told in each chapter, this book unknowingly helped remember to look to me for answers in my radical mindset. No its not easy being who I am today but no matter what anyone says I will continue to be me, a young beautiful African American female. I look up to Sister Souljah and I truly adore her writing and take on life. Her courage and bravery that she portrays by sharing her most passionate and tribulative relationships has gained all of my respect. This book was great and I reccomend it to all people of color who have forgotten, are questioning, are afraid, or just unsure of who they are. its an easy read, so . . . READ THIS BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    A Must Read for Young, African American Sisters

    Great book, easy-to-read, a page turner, written for self-doubting young sistas. This book is similar to sitting down with an old friend and listening to their trials and tribulations. Important lessons can be learned from this book. I read this book in less than three days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2003

    The truth about us...

    The book was truely insiteful into the process of becoming lonely in life and what you wish to do to refrain from it. I truely enjoyed reading this book, couldnt put it down. And id recommend it to anyone younge or old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    'No Disrespect'

    This book is a must read for everyone.I was shocked to really find out about 'Nathan'.Women, men like him really roam this earth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Wow!! Just finished reading Sister Souljah's No Disrespect.  Thi

    Wow!! Just finished reading Sister Souljah's No Disrespect. 
    This book definitely opened my eyes to the issues we black women have to deal with. Its amazing how in 2014, many themes brought up throughout the book are still relevant.
    I felt it was comforting that Souljah has been through the same troubles as me, or has thought the same thoughts. 
    It was good to know that as a young, African American woman.. my trials and tribulations, in my love life, or in a social 
    setting, academically speaking, and in relations to black people, is not unique to myself. Sister Souljah understands. I would recommend this book to girls 13+ 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5