Customer Reviews for

No Easy Day: The Firsthand Account of the Mission that Killed Osama Bin Laden

Average Rating 4.5
( 921 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(568)

4 Star

(200)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

157 out of 177 people found this review helpful.

I've read a lot of the reviews for this book and most of them ar

I've read a lot of the reviews for this book and most of them are not actually reviews but just opinions on the author's motives. Just about every poor review that is on this site does not actually mention having read the book, but just bashes the author.

I've read ...
I've read a lot of the reviews for this book and most of them are not actually reviews but just opinions on the author's motives. Just about every poor review that is on this site does not actually mention having read the book, but just bashes the author.

I've read the book. He claims that no classified information was used. He claims only unclassified and already made public information was used. So all those reviews that criticize him for divulging information are clearly wrong and written by people who are reacting without all the facts. If he put classified information in that book, I'm sure he'll experience the full wrath of the Obama and Holder Department of Justice.

I see no dishonor in this account. There are a lot of people who have retired from the military after having fought in battles overseas and have written their memoirs. There is nothing wrong with that. I'm tired of the military top brass and the president's administration using these events to propagandize; we do not get the truth from the government, no matter whose administration it is. Remember Jessica Lynch? We did not get the truth about her capture or rescue from the government. The best account is from guys like this one.

This is a great book, well written and with lots of personal details that make this guy seem real and human. We tend to view Navy SEALS as superhuman superheroes and don't really give them credit for the real difficulty and physical sacrifice they make. Great job!

posted by 3423390 on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Waste of money

You can learn about as much about the raid watching Discovery Channel documentaries. He didn't divulge any national security secrets. He just wants to make a bunch of money. Besides CNN reported it was 366 pages and this is 208. Where are the rest?

posted by 9121698 on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Ba

    Bn gives you 16 pages of nothing for a sample read

    8 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    It's pretty sad that this man decided to write this book. We are

    It's pretty sad that this man decided to write this book. We are supposed to be quiet professionals.

    And then you have every civilian on the planet thinking this is awesome and thanking him for writing the book. Fact is this book never should have been written. I have some sad truth for you. You weren't entitled to this book. America has elite covert units that do elite covert things and you expect to have all the information made ready for you? Bin Laden is dead. That should have been enough for you.

    6 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    As a former Vietnam River Assult Force Gunner that knew and work

    As a former Vietnam River Assult Force Gunner that knew and worked with SEALS in the My Tho River, I refuse to buy this book and add one cent to the gain of any Special Forces operative that knowingly and willfully goes outside the chain of command to profit while endangering and revealing secrets about the mission and his comrades. This guy is a rogue and has no business in a team effort operation like the SEALS. By putting himself out there, he has diminished himself, his unit and even managed to lower my pride in getting this monster Bin Laden.

    6 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    disappointed with the sample. I didn't have anything but the aut

    disappointed with the sample. I didn't have anything but the author's notes that boiled down to 2 pages. can't tell if the writing will hold my interest

    6 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Disappointing. Would not recommend.

    The hype far outweighed the content. If you're looking for top secret revelations, forget it. If you want to know what it takes to be a Seal and the training involved, read another book. Furthermore, I would not reward this guy for breaching his oath and the trust of his fellow Seals.

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Disgrace

    I will not read nor purchase a book written by a SEAL who breaks the code. The SEAL community is disgusted by this. No one wants the proceeds. That is how serious these men are.

    4 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    One Man's Take

    I have worked with the Navy SEALs 12 years out of 20 in the Navy and any SEAL could have wrote this book, due to the nature of their duty. I found it quick reading and one man's account that may or may not have been on that mission. Any SEALs that seeks glory for their duty isn't a SEAL at all. Quiet Professionals are what they are not this. I thank him for his service, but thankfully I didn't support his wallet.

    4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Yuck.

    Yuck.

    4 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Less than memerising

    Any military memoir is going to written for the aggrandizement and self justification of the author, and this is no exception.

    Members and former members of Special Forces have a self imposed moratorium on writing about their exploits. I gather that is to avoid giving even a hint of the sort of tactics used, as this could endanger lives in the future. "Andy McNab" was ostracized by his former colleagues in the SAS after writing Bravo Two Zero, and I suspect that the same will happen to "Mark Owen" who I'm surprised to see reveals his real name of Matt Bissonnette.

    Despite having been co-written with Kevin Maurer, who is at least a professional writer, it failed to hold my attention in the way such a book should.

    There are accounts of a few earlier operations, including the operation to rescue Captain Philips - the Master of the Maersk Alabama held by Somali pirates. I did note that no mention was made of the $30,000 that was found to be missing after that operation.

    The main theme of the book is the operation to kill Bin Laden, and as I say, the writing was less than gripping.

    A disappointing book, and whilst the authors claim not to be supporters of President Obama, the timing of the release of this book about the high spot of his first term a couple of months before the presidential election does look a bit suspicious.

    3 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Nothing Connected to This Book Makes Sense

    Nothing about this makes sense. It seems that somebody wants to desperately politicize the successful hunt and execution of bin Laden. As a survivor of 9/11 in NYC, we waited far too long for this mission to finally be accomplished, and we want to know why on earth it too so long? We are happy that the US Special Forces finally did this, and at presidential command. But it takes a real coward to hide behind a fake name and makeup on TV, if this guy really wanted to tell a story, he could have done it the right way. Seems that all he wants is the cash, and a strange platform to air his own political views. He's using an event that we cannot verify his participation in to pour hatred on the US. That's ridiculous. Frankly, we don't believe that this book is the truth at all. We want to know who is REALLY behind it and what they hope to gain from it. After the recent books like James Frey and "Imagine" that turned out to be hoaxes, we no longer just accept one person's account anyway. And Penguin, shame on you for going along with this charade, we won't be buying any more books published by you, ever.

    3 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Might entertain a younger reader, such as the jr. High student.

    Might entertain a younger reader, such as the jr. High student. Pretty light weight read. This guy ain't no Richard Marcinko

    3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Disgraceful: (

    Zero integrity, dishonerable to the extreme....poorly written to boot

    2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Does anyone find it as hilarious as I do that over 100 of the po

    Does anyone find it as hilarious as I do that over 100 of the positive comments on this book are from "Anonymous". I think the reviews are as bogus as the coward that wrote the book.

    2 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Traitor

    All the G. I. Joe wannabes are shi** and giggles over this book without having a clue of how this man so blatantly violated his oath and betrayed his colleagues! This man belongs in leavenworth but will likely end up on Dancing with Stars! Only in our moronic country.....

    2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    This book is AWFUL.  It appears to be written and crafted togeth

    This book is AWFUL.  It appears to be written and crafted together by a couple of high school freshmen.  It's as if a mere two sentences are allocated to each event/topic throughout the book.  The reader wants to imagine in their mind's eye exactly what the situation/environment is like, then it's "whoops we're off to the next event.  My son is currently in the Navy and I've developed an interest in books regarding SEALS.  This was the first book of its' genre that I struggled to finish.  Don't waste your money on this one... total garbage.   The SEALS and the brave men and women  of the armed forces put themselves in harm's way and are worthy of our respect and admiration.  It's readily apparent however from this tome, that some of them can't write worth a s***. 

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    No true sample

    None of this book is available in the sample. Title pages and tables of content do not constitute a sample. I will not buy it.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Should Not Exist

    This book should have never been written. Will not buy, and will discourage any who consider.

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Sell Out

    I like stories if heroism and sacrifice. But there should be no such title as "elite warrior slash author." You sign on and swear secrecy. He earned the honor and was called to duty. Then he sold it. It is a disgrace of the highest order to those who risk all for those of us who find the weather the most likely complaint in america. The author's shame will last far longer than his money, and I will not by this book which borders on treason.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Thanks

    Thanks for swearing an oath of secrecy then...you know...selling out those secrets to the highest bidder...

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    This is a blatant attempt to make money for this man. He had a j

    This is a blatant attempt to make money for this man. He had a job to do, did it and then decided to air the details to the world. What a disgrace. Shameful..

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3