Customer Reviews for

No Easy Day: The Firsthand Account of the Mission that Killed Osama Bin Laden

Average Rating 4.5
( 918 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(565)

4 Star

(200)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

156 out of 176 people found this review helpful.

I've read a lot of the reviews for this book and most of them ar

I've read a lot of the reviews for this book and most of them are not actually reviews but just opinions on the author's motives. Just about every poor review that is on this site does not actually mention having read the book, but just bashes the author.

I've read ...
I've read a lot of the reviews for this book and most of them are not actually reviews but just opinions on the author's motives. Just about every poor review that is on this site does not actually mention having read the book, but just bashes the author.

I've read the book. He claims that no classified information was used. He claims only unclassified and already made public information was used. So all those reviews that criticize him for divulging information are clearly wrong and written by people who are reacting without all the facts. If he put classified information in that book, I'm sure he'll experience the full wrath of the Obama and Holder Department of Justice.

I see no dishonor in this account. There are a lot of people who have retired from the military after having fought in battles overseas and have written their memoirs. There is nothing wrong with that. I'm tired of the military top brass and the president's administration using these events to propagandize; we do not get the truth from the government, no matter whose administration it is. Remember Jessica Lynch? We did not get the truth about her capture or rescue from the government. The best account is from guys like this one.

This is a great book, well written and with lots of personal details that make this guy seem real and human. We tend to view Navy SEALS as superhuman superheroes and don't really give them credit for the real difficulty and physical sacrifice they make. Great job!

posted by 3423390 on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Waste of money

You can learn about as much about the raid watching Discovery Channel documentaries. He didn't divulge any national security secrets. He just wants to make a bunch of money. Besides CNN reported it was 366 pages and this is 208. Where are the rest?

posted by 9121698 on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Waste of money

    You can learn about as much about the raid watching Discovery Channel documentaries. He didn't divulge any national security secrets. He just wants to make a bunch of money. Besides CNN reported it was 366 pages and this is 208. Where are the rest?

    19 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Ignorant People

    Can someone please tell me what is classified among SEALs and how they know this? Nobody on here knows what is classified and what isn't so who are they to say that this book violated anything? And "bashing" the president? I don't think so. He explained things and gave his thoughts on them. Not everyone in the armed forces likes who they serve under, but they do their job and that's what matters. As for people saying that it was wrong for him to tell everyone about their orders to kill women and children...they need to be realistic. Innocent people die in war all the time and there is nothing you can do about it. Bad things sometimes happen when you decide to be 'nice'. Take the account of operation Red Wing by Marcus Luttrell for example. Mark might of been able to save his entire team if he would of just killed the people that stumbled upon them. WWII. Innocent people died. Yes, we were trying to stop it, and we did, but people still died. We can't save everyone and some things are necessary whether the public agrees with them or not. We have not been to war. We do not know what it is like so we need to stop pretending. Let people tell the true story. Imagine how hard it must be for people to carry out orders such as those. That is why everyone bought this book. To understand what happened. If you can't handle the truth don't seek it out.

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    I have the greatest respect for the job done by the SEAL teams a

    I have the greatest respect for the job done by the SEAL teams all over the world. I was interested in the story and had believed the author when he said his intentions were "not political." The last few pages of negative comments about President Obama spoiled the book for me.

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Boring

    I was curious how the whole Bin Laden mission happened so I read this book. B-O-R-I-N-G! The only way to describe it is big boys with G.I. Joe / A-team complexes. I liked it better when I didn't know the in-depth details of missions. The first 100 pages or so was a waste of time to read an to blame Washington for leaking info is ludicrous because "Mark" sure seemed like he couldn't wait to start squealing.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    A good story

    However, the writing skills are lacking. Not a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Quite Dissapointed

    I was quite dissapointed with this book. The only good part was the actual mission itself. I felt the rest of the book was an inside look on how to become a Navy Seal. Not what I expected.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Well written interesting account. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Excellent book Read it and see

    This book is a clear descriptive story of the killing of Osama Bin Laden.
    The descriptions of the courage of the Seals and the complexity of the mission makes a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Saw people listing this book for upwards of $50, why would I pay

    Saw people listing this book for upwards of $50, why would I pay that when I can get it brand new from B&n for $16.......idiots!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    ds

    Was OK, expected more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    meh, interesting, but meh

    meh, interesting, but meh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Typical meathead

    Not impressed. Please spare me the political comments. Did Obama give the go ahead or not? You were doing your job. I don'T need your opinion. Your book is nothing but typical good ole boys crap similar to my college buddy days. Lockeroom boy talk....how unfacinating!

    In regard ti your Osama raid, I've had more difficulty collecting panties at a sorority panty raid! Get it?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    So So

    What you would expect from this type of book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    Washington Go to H---

    I can't see why Obama is so upset about this book unless he feels he should have gotten ALL of the credit and the seals none, yea may be that's it. Good book. from an old Marine to a Seal Team Semper Fi.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    No Easy Day, a must read!

    Good read, very interesting and B&N got it to me fast. Very satisfied!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Save your money... if you saw the 60 minutes interview you don't

    Save your money... if you saw the 60 minutes interview you don't need to read the book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2