Customer Reviews for

No Easy Day: The Firsthand Account of the Mission that Killed Osama Bin Laden

Average Rating 4.5
( 924 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(571)

4 Star

(200)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

157 out of 177 people found this review helpful.

I've read a lot of the reviews for this book and most of them ar

I've read a lot of the reviews for this book and most of them are not actually reviews but just opinions on the author's motives. Just about every poor review that is on this site does not actually mention having read the book, but just bashes the author.

I've read ...
I've read a lot of the reviews for this book and most of them are not actually reviews but just opinions on the author's motives. Just about every poor review that is on this site does not actually mention having read the book, but just bashes the author.

I've read the book. He claims that no classified information was used. He claims only unclassified and already made public information was used. So all those reviews that criticize him for divulging information are clearly wrong and written by people who are reacting without all the facts. If he put classified information in that book, I'm sure he'll experience the full wrath of the Obama and Holder Department of Justice.

I see no dishonor in this account. There are a lot of people who have retired from the military after having fought in battles overseas and have written their memoirs. There is nothing wrong with that. I'm tired of the military top brass and the president's administration using these events to propagandize; we do not get the truth from the government, no matter whose administration it is. Remember Jessica Lynch? We did not get the truth about her capture or rescue from the government. The best account is from guys like this one.

This is a great book, well written and with lots of personal details that make this guy seem real and human. We tend to view Navy SEALS as superhuman superheroes and don't really give them credit for the real difficulty and physical sacrifice they make. Great job!

posted by 3423390 on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Waste of money

You can learn about as much about the raid watching Discovery Channel documentaries. He didn't divulge any national security secrets. He just wants to make a bunch of money. Besides CNN reported it was 366 pages and this is 208. Where are the rest?

posted by 9121698 on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 571 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    I've read a lot of the reviews for this book and most of them ar

    I've read a lot of the reviews for this book and most of them are not actually reviews but just opinions on the author's motives. Just about every poor review that is on this site does not actually mention having read the book, but just bashes the author.

    I've read the book. He claims that no classified information was used. He claims only unclassified and already made public information was used. So all those reviews that criticize him for divulging information are clearly wrong and written by people who are reacting without all the facts. If he put classified information in that book, I'm sure he'll experience the full wrath of the Obama and Holder Department of Justice.

    I see no dishonor in this account. There are a lot of people who have retired from the military after having fought in battles overseas and have written their memoirs. There is nothing wrong with that. I'm tired of the military top brass and the president's administration using these events to propagandize; we do not get the truth from the government, no matter whose administration it is. Remember Jessica Lynch? We did not get the truth about her capture or rescue from the government. The best account is from guys like this one.

    This is a great book, well written and with lots of personal details that make this guy seem real and human. We tend to view Navy SEALS as superhuman superheroes and don't really give them credit for the real difficulty and physical sacrifice they make. Great job!

    157 out of 177 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    The Unknown Navy Seal

    I purchased this book today and read it in about 3 hours. Mark Owens speaks in a first person narrative and the reader can share with the excitement and terror of what happened in Abbottabad on May 1, 2011. I want to point out that with the NookBook, there are photos included at the end of the Epilogue.

    140 out of 146 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Entertaining and exciting read...

    Regardless if the author's possible legal problems as a result of writing this book, I found this to be a fast and exciting read. I read another book on the account of the Bin Laden mission, which was good...but, I found this version to be so much more engaging and personal. If you are a military buff and/or somebody interested in the events of this mission, you'll find this book worth the time. I enjoyed every aspect of it from recollections of training and application into 'Green Team' and through the personal accounts of his real world missions. Well written and well told!

    105 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Informative

    Just read this book. Great book! It satisfied my desire to know how this mission was accomplished. Very detailed.

    75 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    This book is now one of my favorites of all time. There are so m

    This book is now one of my favorites of all time. There are so many people saying negative things about this book and the author; Saying he had no right to write a book about one of his SEAL missions. However, I don't see why it is such a big deal that he wrote about this specific mission when the majority of the information about the Osama Bin Laden raid has already been released by The President and his people.
    No Easy Day is a must read in my opinion.

    57 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Big talkers

    I doubt ifnegative reviewers read the book and definitely don't speak for combat vets. I've done 3 tours in Afghan and politics (as the author indicates) is not a factor on the ground. Yet, politicians profit from our suffering. What national security breach do you think was made in the book...specifics please? Do you know what is CLASSIFIED? The motivation of ignorant haters is simple...blind defensiveness because the author isn't star struck BY Obama and told the truth. Although the author didn't praise Obama he was fair. Thecampaign is using this heroic act by theseals tothis day on campaign events! Have u heard Biden (UBL is dead and GM alive). The president wrote of audacity of hope. The audacity of the obama lemings to question the authors patriotism because he didn't get a chill up his leg or faint over this president or any other politician for ten years while he was putting hislife on the line for our country is sad. Talk after you have made even afraction of such sacrifices. Crawl out of the family basement or (as i saw at the occuppy olympia protest) stop sucking cheese whiz out of a can and do something to contribute to others for a change. Trying to block free speech isn't working for you and isn't a good look.

    53 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Phenominal and engaging story oof courage and devotion....amazin

    Phenominal and engaging story oof courage and devotion....amazing detail, and a great story that all Americans should be proud of ...I am thrilled that this man has the courage to share his story with us....BRAVO !

    46 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Remarkable

    Remarkable
    This is just a page turning book. I have so much respect for these guys. It is good to know the "actual" events, which for the most part are exactly what has been reported on television and other media. I don't know what all the hype is about the book revealing anything classified. I do worry for the safety of the author, his family, and SEAL friends and their families. My only complaint is that it would have been perfect if not for the unnecessary "political jabs"at the President after having so eloquently stating that politics had nothing to do with the book. I loved it.

    42 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    I'm going out tonight to purchase and am very much looking forwa

    I'm going out tonight to purchase and am very much looking forward to the read. Shame on all of you REMF's that want to sit back and criticize this front line veteran for sharing his insight and feelings. Unlike our worthless POTUS he has earned that right and unlike the info flow from our politicals in the White House nothing was said that would endanger anyone other than himself which is nothing new to this warrior.

    25 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great book!

    The UBL raid is only part of the book and is very interesting. The rest of this book gives insight into the daily life and astounding dedication of these men. Many former military men and women have written books, I'm not sure why people are so upset about this one. It does not bash Obama at all; even if it did, this is America and we are entitled to our own opinions. Great book, amazing men.

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great for any military junkie or anyone who wonders what Seal Team 6 is like!

    I couldnt put this book down! I loved how he kept the boring stuff out of the book. Lots of action! Lots of humor as well! Nothing he said about tactics and what they did would be considered TOP SECRET! As a fellow GUN NUT i loved his pics. My only complaint is it was too short, but even if it was 700 pages i'd still feel it was too short! Do yourself a favor and buy the book its worth the 13 bucks!!

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    I remember well the night Obama announced to the world on live T

    I remember well the night Obama announced to the world on live TV that bin Laden had been killed. The way he delivered his speech that night full of “I”s, you would have thought he personally put on a uniform and fired the shot! Thank you “Mark Owen” for finally setting the record straight! I thank you for your service and those of your SEAL brothers as well, and all the men and women in uniform that put their lives on the line every day to keep America safe. I found the book to be very well written and interesting to read.

    21 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Thank you

    I applaud this man. Obama lied to the country about the
    truth of this day. A true man in uniform protects his country in more ways than one. Risking his safety so that americans can be saved from government made ignorance is a brave thing. My tax dollars support you good sir.

    20 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great book!

    Thank you SEALS!

    16 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    I have not read the book yet. However I think it is probably wr

    I have not read the book yet. However I think it is probably written because of Obama's details of the raid that has all but destroyed any secrets the SEALS had in their operations. I understand many are discussed with the claims that Obama made in his efforts to gain points with the US public.

    14 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    A SEA STORY by Joseph Pignataro and NO EASY DAY are two of the b

    A SEA STORY by Joseph Pignataro and NO EASY DAY are two of the best Naval books out there. I liked A SEA STORY abit more even though it's less action, just as incredible though!

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Very good

    This was a very good book

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Remarkable

    This is just a page turning book. I have so much respect for these guys. It is good to know the "actual" events, which for the most part are exactly what has been reported on television and other media. I don't know what all the hype is about the book revealing anything classified. I do worry for the safety of the author, his family, and SEAL friends and their families. My only complaint is that it would have been perfect if not for the unnecessary "political jabs"at the President after having so eloquently stating that politics had nothing to do with the book. I loved it.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Flying off the Shelves!!! Must READ!!!

    Read this book if you were breathing air on Sept, 11 2001!!!

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    He has earned the money

    People that join the military understand what they are signing up for and what kind of pay they will recieve. But, they deserve a lot more. So what if he makes some money off of his story, I think more should do it. The american people need to know what all of us in the military go through and sacrifice for our country. I am a 100% disabled vet who was injured in Iraq and most people have no idea what I went through. This book gives people some insight into what kind of hard work we put into it. People like me, Mark and everyone else in uniform, would gladly do it over and over again, so that all of the haters have the freedom of speech. All my brothers and sisters in uniform and all the veterans, should be proud of Mark for what he has done and for telling it like it is. Anybody who reads this book should have a better appreciation for what we do. It is ok to give people an overview of what you do as long as you don't tell them any classified information, which Mark didn't do. This is a great book and I am proud of your service, Mark and I am proud of all the men and women who serve and have served.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 571 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29