Customer Reviews for

No Good Deeds (Tess Monaghan Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Very complex and exciting!

    This really is one of the best in this series in my opinion. I loved getting to know more about Crow and the introduction of Lloyd adds one more interesting character to the cast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    location location location

    I've always been drawn to books, fiction or non-fiction, that focus on culture. That's led me to Tony Hillerman, the glorious Southwest, and his wonderful portrayal of the Navajo culture. It's led me to James Lee Burke and the intense heat of Louisiana where I can see the large triangle of sweat on Clet's broad back. And now it's led me to Laura Lippman and her love of all things Bal-mor. True, the city doesn't carry the same cachet as the Southwest or Louisiana, but Lippman brings out the very real charm of its streets from the beautiful Inner Harbor to its abandoned factories. Her stories have good plot lines, are well written and real. As one who lives close to Baltimore, but rarely visits, every time I read a Lippman novel, I remind myself that I really do need to get to know it better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    I was so surprised at how disappointing this is

    I've enjoyed the Tess novels, but this is not a Tess novel. It should be described as a Crow and his guilt novel. Lippman misses the mark. Lippman changes the format. Instead of the story being told from Tess' perspective (as with previous novels), this has many characters' narratives. I didn't like this at all. Crow and his rich, liberal, white man's guilt was a torture to read. I found Crow so insufferable, that I found myself wishing for his demise. It will take a lot for me to enjoy him again, and I don't hold out much hope that that will ever happen. Crow spent all of his time whining. What an idiot. And could he be more condescending? I don't think so, except when showcasing his liberal elitism. Lloyd was unsympathetic. Didn't like him, didn't care for him, could have cared less about him and his 'plight'. What a yawner this book was. Instead of getting a good mystery novel, I got a lecture of Lippman's liberal social/economic philosophy. I can handle not agreeing with an author's politics, sometimes it makes for great reading. And the story was great when Tess was actually investigating. The problem is that those special times were few and far between. The mystery was just something for Tess to do as a respite from lecturing. But even then, this story was all about Crow, and his guilt, and his money, and his guilt, etc. And the answer to Crow's money mystery had me laugh out loud. Could it have been more obvious? No. I just laughed and rolled my eyes. Hey Crow, why don't you just donate those riches of ill gotten gain anonymously? No, you'd rather whine about it while it sits in the bank. Blah, blah, blah. Tess is such a great character. So sad that this story was more Crow and his causes and his liberal elitism than actual Tess sleuthing. I hope that Lippman gets back to the formula that I fell in love with, because I did not enjoy this change. I feel cheated. Ugh. Please shove Crow back where he belongs in the background, being a sounding board for Tess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    A fine political mystery

    In Baltimore, Edgar 'Crow' Ransome takes home fifteen year old Lloyd Jupiter who he met outside a soup kitchen when the homeless teen offered to change his flat tire for five bucks Crow assumes the kid slashed his tire, but counteroffers with a warm bed and three square meals at the bungalow he shares with private investigator Tess Monaghan.---------- Lloyd frightens Tess when it becomes apparent that the teen knows plenty about Assistant US Attorney Gregory Youssef, recently found murdered. Tess persuades the teenager to tell all he knows to Beacon-Light reporter Marcy Appleton. When one of Lloyd¿s pals is murdered, Crow takes the kid with him into hiding in Delaware as he believes anyone associated with the perverted side of Youssef is a target. Assistant US Attorney Gabe Dalesio, FBI Agent Barry Jenkins, and DEA operative Mike Collins demand Tess to name her source or else face the full impact of the law and the illegal contempt of other means they have at their disposal in this post nine-eleven world.----------------- As always in a Monaghan thriller (see BY A SPIDER¿S THREAD), Baltimore is the star as readers see two cities side by side one a depressing putrefying loser and the other an optimistic bright light. Monaghan is terrific as is the Feds who uses extreme pressure including threats to jail her loved ones (similar to the ¿threat¿ to take away Steele¿s adopted Romanian son during the Starr investigation into Clinton) to force the heroine to talk. Crow's interest in Lloyd seems off kilter until a too late revelation explains all still fans will agree that in this case NO GOOD DEEDS rewards fans with a fine political mystery.----- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    Living and dieing in Baltimore

    The book NO GOOD DEEDS by Laura Lippman is a must read for anyone living in mid -Atlantic America. This author is from Baltimore, and writes about the area with the knowledge of the former newspaper reporter that she has been for years. She has her locations, local population, and story line reading very much like a local Balitimorian. She is taking off on the recent true mystery of a local Maryland State's Prosecutor, who was found dead along the side of the road off of I-95 towards New Jersey. Many people in this book are not who they may seem to be at first glance. Alertness is next to godliness if you wish to survive alive till tomorrow!! Lippman then expertly fictionalizes this story to a conclusion. Something that rarely happens to the 'average Joe' in the death files of Baltimore. Tess, a local detective, and her boyfriend, Crow, have inadvertently taken on a local teen Lloyd. Lloyd is living on the streets, and has tried to make a days earning by 'slashing, and then being handy to change the unfortunate rich person's tire' scheme with Crow's car. Lippman gets Lloyd's background, motivations, desperations, fears, and lovability written into her story perfectly. Throughout the book, Tess, Crow AND the reader want to lock Lloyd in a room, shelter him from the cruel world, hug him and feed him, protect him from murderers, shoot him for including you with him in his flawed world, and just generally take him under your wing while understanding that you can only influence him so much. Lloyd is very much, 'I'll survive and I'll do it my way....don't know how just now, but I'll keep at it till I make it or die.' I defy any reader to finish the book without falling in love with 'Lloyd'. It is a race to solve the mystery, help Lloyd decide that life is worth striving for, and remaining sane and true to yourself also. But your 'good deeds' may get you both killed !!! What a rush of a read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1