BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

No Greater Love

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    I read this in a day. I am not a fan of false humility nonsense.

    I read this in a day. I am not a fan of false humility nonsense. I want to read a book about someone real, someone who struggles, someone I can relate to. That person is Levi Benkert. This book is so real, so raw, so emotional and beautiful that you can't put it down. When Levi takes his family to Africa to start a new life with a fresh start and attempts to forget the financial troubles and commitments he left behind he soon realizes that he just traded one problem for another. Jessie (Levi's wife) is AMAZING. Real, genuine, terrified of the unknown, but supports her husband in a way that is inspiring and attainable. I found myself longing for Africa and the simplicity of nights around candle light with no electricity... but soon realized that I am not brave enough. What I love most about Levi is he makes it SO clear that he wasn't either. That if it wasn't really for God setting up the perfect storm he would never have gone to Ethiopia. Wonderful book, wonderfully written and worth the read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Perfect summer read

    I had the good fortune to enjoy this book in early release. First on my summer reading list, this is an incredible, inspiring story. I devoured it in one weekend. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An emotional and challenging story for all.

    Not a “fun” read, but a quick, interesting book of an amazing story. “When I think back to this time in our family’s life--the drastic transitions, the mistakes, the frustrating unknowns--I see only one constant: God. He was always there--covering mistakes, holding our hands, forgiving blunders, reaching deep into our hearts and healing. And for that, I am thankful.” -Levi Benkert (Introduction)

    Levi Benkert was very success but when the California’s real estate market colasped, so did his world. In the middle of his mess, he gets a phone calls about the urgent needs of some rescued “mingi” children in Ethiopia. These are children who are killed by their own parents because of a tribal superstition. Here began a 2 week eye-opening experience that grabbed his heart and change the course of his family’s life. Levi and his wife Jessie sold everything and moved with their 3 young children to Ethipia. They worked on the orphanage for these children, getting some adopted, stopping the “mingi” killings,... while feeling like they were too often hitting some obstacle with the tribe or the government. However, through it all this was their mindset...“We just need faith. We need to focus on our purpose. Our lives may be in disarray now, but this is not a vacation; we need to remember, we’re here to rescue children.” -Jessie Benkert (pg. 104)

    I thought this was an excellent quote to summarize their experience that is shared in No Greater Love: “I began to think back to who we were when we first come to Ethiopia. Everything that had cluttered our vision and held back our faith was gone. Where we were once motivated by the drive to succeed, we were now filled with passion to help others. Selfishness had been replaced by genuine, open hearts and the near painful realization that it was never our efforts that God needed. We are broken now, and that was just how He wanted us. ... I was beginning to grasp just how much all of us need mercy, something we were never able to truly comprehend from the comfortable leather couch in our color-coordinated living room in California.” -Levi Benkert (pg. 228)

    Check out more of their journey at bringlove.in.

    After reading a book like this, we tend to feel guilty. However, I want to encourage all of us to finish this book with a “Wow! That was hard, but awesome.” Then we need to seek God, “ Now...am I living in Your plan for my life?” Not all of us are meant to do what the Benkert’s did, but we are meant to live in passion for Christ and His grace and then extended that to those around us.

    Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Hooked by the second page, I could not put this book down until

    Hooked by the second page, I could not put this book down until I finished. This beautifully written memoir shares an inspiring story, with honest and revealing details, about a man's transforming journey as he finds strength, direction, and purpose in life. This book touched me deeply and left me wanting to give more of myself to world. One person can make a difference and one person with an amazingly supportive family can make profound changes in the world. I strongly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No greater love

    The author, levi benkert, spoke at my church today. He was amazing, nice, and funny. I have not read the book yet, but i heard someone at my church say it was awesome! Im so glad to not only have heard the author speak to us, but also to be able to read his book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Gripping, Inspiring, and Challenging for All Men and Women Who D

    Gripping, Inspiring, and Challenging for All Men and Women Who Desire Real Purpose in Life!

    Superbly written and the most honest, open, raw, frightening, exciting, and one of the most powerful books I've ever read. I started reading and couldn't stop until I finished the book. This book is so real and hits you so hard on so many levels! For men, it speaks to every spiritual leader on the planet, challenging you to be more and to pay attention to the things that really matter and to follow God's call for your life -- even when you think you can't or that you will make a mistake. For women, I would think it would be inspirational to see how Jessie stood by Levi's side through some unbelievable times. What a strong and courageous woman with a genuine desire to follow God at all cost! This was, and is, a beautiful picture of how weak we are without the one God chose for us -- it was invigorating to see how they drew strength and courage from one another and relied on Him to pull them up when they were completely spent!!

    While the book totally took me on an emotional rollercoaster, terrified at times as I couldn't help from superimposing my own family and on top of the world at others, I was so moved by how God worked in their lives and could see with them as they looked back at how He had taken them through the journeys they had been through.

    I had the distinct pleasure of meeting Levi and his family while my family was in Ethiopia in March 2012. The family I met was no different than the family in this book -- they are the same in person as they are depicted in the book. Real, humble, but human. Totally focused and dedicated to serving Him. I am blessed to have read the book and am inspired to be a better husband, father and spiritual leader for my family and servant to the King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    A compelling story that is beautifully written

    I knnow it sounds cliche' to say, but I could not put this book down after I started it. Levi Benkert paints a vivid and brutally honest picture about his life being turned upside down when he heard about children being put to death after being deemed "unclean" by the tribe they were born into. As a parent this book stirred so many emotions, but moreover as a human being it made me evaluate what am I doing to help those in need. It's not just a story about a man who takes his family to run an orphanage in Africa....it's a story of redemption and hope that we can all use a dose of!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1