Customer Reviews for

No Higher Honor: A Memoir of My Years in Washington

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    A remarkable book!

    Dr. Rice writes candidly about her tenure with the Bush administration, explaining policy and admitting mistakes. The nicest thing about this book is that she stays away from the score settling with which so many political insider books are filled.

    31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    A great book to sit close to the fireplace with.

    The author gives a very perceptive, personal insight in her role as a national security advisor and secretary of state. Her 24/7 dedication to the the President and to the nation is really remarkable. We should be grateful to her for doing her share in protecting us in the tumultuous times after 9/11.This book should be a must-read for all of those who are critical of government employees in high positions.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    High Level of Responsibilities

    Condoleeza Rice eloquently tells her side of the story surrounding various policy-making decisions in the book “No Higher Honor”. I am a former active duty navy veteran who plans on rejoining the military via a part-time component between the time period of December 2012-February 2013 (shaped by my intent to permanently live in the D.C. area). This influences me to feel a responsibility of learning what I can about politics the longer I reside here. Reading about some of the difficult decisions she faced going into the Iraq and Afghanistan conflicts gave me further insight on what indirectly happens in all of the military branches (in terms of the aftermath regarding the military surges, manpower goals etc.).
    The following are some of the vivid points made in her memoir:
    Pages 1-12: Dr. Rice describes her first meeting with George W.Bush, and shares why she admires Dean Acheson. A heartwarming moment is illuminated during the discussion of encouragement from her father (John Wesley Rice Jr.). With joyful sentiment, she shares how John Wesley Rice Jr. inspired her achievements. Tragically, he passed away during the Christmas Eve of 1999 (before the beginning of her tenure as George W. Bush’s national security advisor).
    Page 61: Condoleeza Rice’s first meeting with Vladimir Putin is mentioned. On page 85 she candidly tells her discovery that Osama Bin Laden had fought for the Soviet Anti-Resistance. Page 116-117 discloses the essential capture of Abu Zubaydah. It is listed that Abu Zubaydah was the mastermind behind the al Qaeda guide on holding the line against interrogation techniques. Page 118 features information on the capture of Khalid Sheikh Mohammed. Mr. Mohammed was said to have bragged about being Daniel Pearl’s executioner. For those who might not have heard of the original story, Condoleeza Rice mentions that Daniel Pearl was a Stanford graduate and journalist who was kidnapped in Pakistan and killed in 2002. Dr. Rice also notes the emotional challenge of being chosen as the one who had to break the news to Mariane Pearl (Daniel Pearl’s widow).
    Page 208 (Ouch!): Vice President Dick Cheney had invited some of his close buddies to a party that commemorated the freedom of Iraq. Scooter Libby and Paul Wolfowitz are a couple of the names that were invited. Apparently, Vice President Dick Cheney excluded both Colin Powell and Condoleeza Rice from his list of people to invite for the gathering.
    Many more informative details feature in this book. “No Higher Honor” by Condoleeza Rice is best for the open-minded who want to increase their political understanding on what can drive a high level policymaker.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Interesting Reading

    Dr. Rice has packed a lot into her young life and this memoir reflects that. She does a great job of describing her encounters both as President Bush's National Security Advisor and later, Secretary of State. She has clearly groomed herself for the roles she had. Her dealings with leaders all over the world and the many issues they negotiated over her 8+ years in office are well presented. It is her presentation of current history and may read as a little self-serving in instances. I think this is subjective, however. There is a lot to read. I have read President Bush's, Don Rumsfeld's, and Vice President Cheney's books and they were interesting reads. Condi's book gets into more detail about people, policy, and issues than any of the other three.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    Great Book

    Terrific Read

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    She goes step by step as Security Council and Secretary of State, which President Bush and Vice President Cheney didn't, of how she made her decisions. Really enjoyed it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Excellent book! Much more than I was expecting.

    Excellent book! Much more than I was expecting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Great book

    I loved this book I found it very interested and informational.I could not put it down.This book is great for people who want to know what goes into the drama of the world.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Great book very smart Lady

    Wish she would ran for President

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    U idiot

    How can u read every book in the world! Anoyomous is annoying u loser this nook thing is 4 lozers

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    I was disappointed with this reading experience.

    As an American and moderate Republican I wanted get a better understanding of the
    decisions made by the Bush 'White House". I was not only disappointed but concerned that Pres. Bush seemed to not be concerned with the factions in his staff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Condoleeza Rice provides depth and character thru grace that ref

    Condoleeza Rice provides depth and character thru grace that reflects the true American spirit of her contribution to U.S. government and her uplifting personal panoramic life. Many an American will contribute their life to literature though Ms. Rice will forever uphold what is right and spiritual in an ever growing ehthical world she helped build with her country, proudly delineated in her biography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent book, Ms. Rice is a very smart lady and an excellent writer. I enjoyed her perspective tremendously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Inside job.

    Great insight into a very hard job. Rice was a god send in a very tough period in the usa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Boring

    I expected more. Very boring.

    0 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3