Customer Reviews for

No Impact Man: The Adventures of a Guilty Liberal Who Attempts to Save the Planet and the Discoveries He Makes about Himself and Our Way of Life in the Process

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Connects environmentalism with happiness

I was interested in this book to see how did he actually live in NYC while making no impact. On top of that, he really shows how living simply can enrich not only the environment but also yourself and the people around you.

posted by 3257712 on July 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

decent book

no impact. what does that mean. well to the author of no impact man, colin beavan it meant convincing his family to go an entire year without doing anything to affect the planet.this book was inspirational but not something that i would recommened if you cant pay attent...
no impact. what does that mean. well to the author of no impact man, colin beavan it meant convincing his family to go an entire year without doing anything to affect the planet.this book was inspirational but not something that i would recommened if you cant pay attention. the idea behind the book was great and the thought of what colin did was amazing but it was a bit dry. there were a few good parts through out the book but it was very detail and data oriented but your welcome to read if your into that. so if you wanna learn what no impact means read this book.

posted by 4747274 on September 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Connects environmentalism with happiness

    I was interested in this book to see how did he actually live in NYC while making no impact. On top of that, he really shows how living simply can enrich not only the environment but also yourself and the people around you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Too Good For Words!!!

    The book "No Impact Man" by Colin Beavan was exciting and emotional. The book is about a man, Colin, and his family undergoing the project of the No Impact Man in order to save the environment by cutting out resources that are harmful to our planet. He found it hard at first but towards the end of the book they finally get used to it and even though it was difficult he never gave up which is another reason I like this book. I would definitely recommend it because I think if you read this book you will take initiative to help out and come up with your own projects to help save the environment. This book helped me start my own journey and so far I have cut down on how many places I go a day to save oil and gas. Also, I turn the lights off when I go somewhere and my family and I have cut down on the amount of trash we have each day. To conclude, I hope you will read this book and hopefully get the same IMPACT from it as I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Awe-inspiring. Awesome. Mind Blowing.

    How much of an Impact Man is No Impact Man? Imagine going without having trash, buying anything new, and using no electricity for an entire year. That seems easy right? Well, in No Impact Man, Colin Beavan departs on an escapade, along with his family, to reduce their carbon footprint in the world to have no impact. This meant doing absolutely everything humanly possibly to make no impact at all. Of course it is not possible to make utterly no impact as Colin points out; with just breathing we make an impact breathing out carbon dioxide. Naturally, Colin and his family do not just wake up one morning and decide they want to make no carbon impact on the world. Colin is a writer who is conscious about the environment and the decline of it in the world around us everyday. He begins his adventure by deciding to write a book about the impact humans have on the world and how it is getting worse. As Colin's manager points out, people do not like to be told they are wrong and should be doing the opposite of what they are used to. So Colin comes up with the idea to change himself and become No Impact Man; along with his family changing with him. He takes his family through phases to gradually get into the "motions" of having "no impact." However, the first phase of no trash becomes difficult just by simply grabbing a slice of pizza. Later on, another stage of the project is no automatic transportation. Colin and his family stopped riding in cars, trains, planes, and elevators. This meant everywhere they either walked or rode a bicycle; exceptions are made but only when they deem it necessary. Further on in the year, other stages were for them to have local food, and no electricity. Colin starts the project with no ideal of how challenging it will be. Through No Impact Man, Colin raises issues to attention which basically all fall under the category labeled the real meaning of progress. Issues are raised including progress that makes this novel is high-quality read for any college freshman. Colin questions if making new technologies is really progress at all and why we are not trying to get water to people who need it instead. I strongly agree with Colin at this point because we make these technologies but what good are they really doing us. I do not deny some of them help us but a lot just make newer items of what we already have. Is worth a life and many more just come up with some smaller newer version of some item? Colin set out to change the world by changing himself; he may be No Impact Man but what about the impact he has made and continues to make on the world. He changed my thinking in aspects of my life that I never dreamed would change by reading No Impact Man, so I definitely recommend this novel to any college freshman and everyone. You experience the Beavan family's journey along with them and get encouraged in your own life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    decent book

    no impact. what does that mean. well to the author of no impact man, colin beavan it meant convincing his family to go an entire year without doing anything to affect the planet.this book was inspirational but not something that i would recommened if you cant pay attention. the idea behind the book was great and the thought of what colin did was amazing but it was a bit dry. there were a few good parts through out the book but it was very detail and data oriented but your welcome to read if your into that. so if you wanna learn what no impact means read this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    Big Impact

    How can you make a great impact while trying to make none at all? Colin Beavan does in No Impact Man, a journey of self-discovery and in saving a planet. Bevan takes his family on a journey to attempt to make no environmental impact for one full year. His narrative is witty, his facts and background important. But, most interesting is the story of humanness re-awakened in both the author, his family, his friends and in his readers. No Impact Man really made a difference in the length of showers I take, the amount of times I reuse towels, the number of trips I make on weekends running errands, etc. But it also reminded me that our electronic and materialistic barrage is our choice. We can turn things off. We can re-connect with our souls. We can get healthy. Bevan's journey is one of fits and starts. This is a lot like life itself. But each day is a new opportunity to make a difference, to enjoy the benefits of the simple things and to protect the fragility of our earth. We are drilling it, dumping on it, mining it, polluting it and disregarding it at alarming proportions. And I contribute one to-go iced tea at a time. Enough. Thanks, Colin, for your journey and for your kick in my low impact zone. Read this book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Making a Difference One Page at a Time

    Maintaining a relationship with his wife, ensuring he is a good father, trying to live a better life than he was living before, and meanwhile saving the planet one page at a time is Colin Beavan's challenge for one full year. I highly recommend his non-fictional book No Impact Man for both college freshman and people of various ages. It not only entertains its readers with an interesting story of how Colin and his family try to cause absolutely no impact on our environment but also informs the general public on the simple things humans can do to ensure a good future for our planet. Before reading the book consider questions such as what state of emergency is our planet in now, why does it matter that we make choices that are environmentally friendly, and who is responsible for making sure our planet can maintain life in the future? Yes, I know that not everyone believes in global warming, the greenhouse effect, or that we won't have clean water for the generations after us, but before reading this book that is what I thought too. Colin's use of astonishing statistics, terrible circumstances, and personal experiences, of what will happen if human beings do not change to better benefit the planet, sure changed my perspective. I don't want to give anything away but he doesn't just talk about reduce, reuse, and recycle. He expands upon how people harm our Earth but are not satisfied with their lives, are too absorbed in material things to enjoy the moments they have with each other, and make choices based on momentary desires rather than long term needs. After finishing the book I have reflected on my life and have noticed that being too absorbed in material things was one of my problems. I did not expect to learn this lesson about myself from a book about saving the world. Reading this novel has made a difference in my life. I hope it does the same for you. So what are you waiting for? Flip open the cover and start your journey to a better you, a better life, and most of all a better planet! -LL

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    An incredible novel!

    One man goes against the odds of all of mankind's necessities in order to live a no impact lifestyle, in New York City, for one long and life-changing year. Colin Beavan, his wife Michelle, and their one year old daughter Isabella, take a chance to experience life without hurting, in any way, shape, or form, the life of the planet we live on. Not only does this book take you by the hand and allow you to experience this project as if it were you for a year, but it also forces you to think, "What can I do?"

    As a student enrolled in University of North Carolina of Wilmington, I feel I have benefitted a great deal from this novel. Although I do not believe I will ever be determined enough to ever become no impact woman, I have defiantly inherited many of the things Beavan practices into my daily lifestyle.

    This novel truly pushes you to think, "Outside the box," and, thoroughly analyze all of your daily routines from brushing your teeth, to driving a car. This exquisite piece pushes every reader not only to regret past actions, but to also permanently change.

    I would recommend this novel to any person, any age, at any time. This book would be perfect for anyone who is looking to be persuaded or for simply an interesting read. I can honestly say that this novel his opened my eyes to the urgency of global warming, and never will I ever regret reading a single word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Excellent Book!

    No Impact Man by Colin Beaven was a great read! If you are interested in making an impact on the environment or even just looking for a good book to read, then "No Impact Man" is the book for you. This book takes you through the journey with Colin Beaven and his family as they undertake the "No Impact Man" project. While reading this book you begin to feel as though you're taking on this environmental project with the Beavens, and you also get a sense of encouragement to embark on a project of your own. During the course of the book you see Colin and his family evolve from their everyday routine of taking cabs, riding elevators, eating takeout and creating trash to a new healthy lifestyle with an ecologically friendly outcome. Throughout the book, Collin not only shares his family's successes in giving up almost everything with environmental impact, but he also exposes the struggles they face day to day during the year of no impact. Overall, this is an excellent book, and I would highly recommend reading it to anyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    Great Book!

    No Impact Man
    Colin Beavan
    Nonfiction

    No Impact Man is a nonfiction book written by Colin Beavan as he embarks on a year-long journey.
    No Impact Man is about a family, the Beavan's, who decide to try to go a year without making any environmental impact. Along the way, Colin comes to many realizations about life in general. For example, he says, "I made the mistake of thinking that condemning other people's misdeeds somehow made me more virtuous" (Beavan 6). Through this experiment, Colin has realized that criticizing others does not make himself any better and that he must lead by example. Colin summarized his experiment when he said, "It was to be an experiment in putting the habitat first and seeing how that affected us" (Colin 16). Therefore, this was not a project to benefit himself, it was a project to benefit his habitat. Another reoccurring thought in Colin's mid throughout the book was what truly defines happiness. He begins to question his life when he says, "My whole life appeared to have turned into a moneymaking machine intended to buy more convenience" (Beavan 46).
    No impact man was an interesting and memorable book because it made you question your own lifestyle. Colin Beavan has a good way of expressing his opinions without forcing them on you. I agree that we need to make a change to save our plant, but I think too many Americans are set in their ways to make this a reality unless something drastic happens. One issue this book addresses is global warming. Colin's motivation for doing this project was based on the idea of global warming and that we are essentially destroying ourselves by not doing anything to fight it.
    As a part of this project, Colin must use no carbon producing transportation, eat only locally grown foods, create no trash, and much more. Although I don't think that this is a feasible solution for all Americans, I do believe that their are little changes that we can all make that will make a major difference. For example, simple fixes like turning off the water when we brush our teeth or taking shorter showers can help save our planet.
    I would recommend this book to anyone because even if you're not the "environmental" type, you can still learn a lot from this book and Colin does it in such a way that just makes you think about all the things going on in your life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    Engaging and Enlightening Book

    No Impact Man by Colin Beavan is the account of Colin and his family's journey in trying to make zero impact on the environment as they navigate the perils of consumerism and discover what implications it has on our quality of life.

    Mixing his personal experiences with facts and anecdotes along the way, Colin manages to simultaneously capture the attention of his readers while effectively delivering his message. From the moment the project begins to the moment it ends, the relationships Colin and his family rediscover with their community and the environment show that there is more to life than working and buying.

    Part of the reason his argument is so compelling is Colin's endearing honesty and true intentions. In the beginning of the novel, Colin is simply an 'average-joe'. Much like most of his readers, his job had nothing to do with global warming or environmentally-friendly initiatives. He is relatable because he starts out almost clueless. No Impact Man shows us that we can make a difference, no matter what our jobs or backgrounds are.

    Told with a pinch of humor, a dash of charm and a bucket of truth, No Impact Man will leave you wanting to step outside of your comfort zone and make you ask yourself, "What can I do?"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    This book brings up so many fantastic points about the future of

    This book brings up so many fantastic points about the future of our planet. The author is very forthcoming with his mistakes and even writes with an imperfect tone that makes him and his entire project relatable. It will have you questioning how happy you have the potential to be when you're being kind to yourself and the earth. Very inspiring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    I love his writing style. Its very personal. He's able to mix

    I love his writing style. Its very personal. He's able to mix in a lot of information from published journals, books and scientific literature with personal anecdotes about his experiences making real-life choices. I once lamented at a local panel 'bout local food about how hard it was for me, the average Joe, to make informed choices about food. And an audience panel chastised me saying something like there's nothing more important than what we put in our bodies. I don't know if that's true. Colin's book spoke to me in that he seemed to really grapple with the extrapolation of personal energy vs our natural resources.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    I have to admire Colin Beavan for his consistent attempt to make

    I have to admire Colin Beavan for his consistent attempt to make no impact on the environment. I admire his wife, daughter, and dog even more for joining him on his urban adventure (he attempts this feat while living in a 9th-floor apartment in NYC—and his self-imposed rules prohibit the use of an elevator). Beavan is a good writer; his words and his tone truly capture the concurrent folly, heartbreak, earnestness, absurdity, and exasperation engendered by his attempt to live for one year without damaging the planet. And his reflective prose clarifies for us (without being too preachy) just how dependent we are on the alleged conveniences of modern life. I’m not sure if I could even attempt one-tenth of what Beavan does to improve the planet, but his example proves that we—and by we, I mean the human race—must do something to avert the inevitable disasters that our careless stewardship of the planet will evoke. I’m not sure, however, that I share Beavan’s optimism. I suspect that most people will have to be forced to make changes that will require them to do more to save the planet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Okay

    We had to read this book for an English class, and in my opinion it wad too long. There where certain parts of the book he could've left out and you could still undrrstand the book without them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Worst book ever.

    This book is about a dude on the biggest ego trip ever... I couldn't even make it three chapters in. I have no clue how this book got published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    A NEW HERO

    There are a lot of little things that people can do to help save this toxic waste dump we call Earth. But there is one man that takes it to an extreme. Colin Beavan took on the task of going a year with his family, essentially creating no environmental impact on the Earth. Did I mention he lived in the middle of New York City? No transportation, including elevators; no making trash; minimal electricity; and minimal water. Not to mention that everything he eats has to come from within 250 miles of his home. Both Colin and his wife Michelle go through this journey together with open minds and the yearning to learn about the different ways they can reduce their ecological footprint. Even their daughter Isabella is excited to trade in her throw-away plastic diapers for cloth reusable ones in order to reduce their trash completely. With their experiences on their new bikes, and creating problems with their parents from canceling holiday trips Colin and his small family embark on the adventure of their life times. I highly recommend this book to all because i know it will change your prospective on the world. It did with me. And thus emerges a new super hero of our time; NO IMPACT MAN!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    No Impact???

    No impact man is definitely a great read. This non-fiction book on Colin is very enlightening. This is simply about a man living life as a normal person when he unexpectedly overcomes an epiphany and decides to have an Impact on the world by not making an Impact. During this journey to a "New World" Colin goes through a hardship with his family and others around him. Colin expresses the hardship of having NO IMPACT. Reading this book I realize that I was making an Impact, just not a good one. I realized that in my everyday life I was technically killing the planet we live in. I can honestly say that Colin has made and Impact on my life. Because of reading this book I now recycle more, use less water when washing dishes & various things. & I also use a towel made out of cloth to dry my hands instead of the leading "Bounty" brand. Lol. If you are reading this review I recommend that you read NO IMPACT MAN & I guarantee it will make an impact on your life whether it is good or bad it will affect you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Read this book

    No Impact Man by Colin Beavan is a remarkable book that can be read anywhere, anytime. This book is funny, serious, and above all life changing. Colin Beavan, his wife and daughter embark on a motivating journey as they try to make no impact on the world whatsoever. They face many hardships but at the same time find themselves enjoying their "free" life more than the one they had before. The main point in this book is for Americans to realize what they can do to help change the world and keep it clean, safe, and long-lasting. I agree with the book when is talks about how Americans can make a difference even, because sometimes Americans do not want to change because we are stuck in our ways. This book is an eye-opener because it describes the environmental problems in America and explains how serious they are. This book is also intriguing because as it progresses Colin Beavan is faced with many dilemmas and somehow he always gets out of them and finds an answer. This book has opened my eyes and made me realize that I can make a change, and so can you. No Impact Man will have you interested and in suspense about what will come from Colin's experiment. I insist that if you read something in this book you become interested in, that you look it up. I suggest this book for every age group, whether you be 8 or 80, you can read this book and still love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    No Impact DOES in fact have an Impact!

    It is rare that I find a book to influence a substantial change in any aspect of my life. However that is just the case with "No Impact Man." This book is about a man that decides, its time for a change. Not only does he say he wants to have no impact, he actually acts on his idea. This book is by no means a success story, or a "holier than thou" tale of a man that does everything right and leaves the rest of the world in "the ashes of their own destruction." This book is about a man and his family TRYING to have no impact. there are numerous trials and tribulations throughout the book. Trough my reading of No Impact Man I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in a true story about the trials of a family and how they grow closer through the various situations they are faced with. It proves that no one can truly be perfect no matter how hard they try. It shows that even if you don't go all out like Colin and his family, just little changes in your daily life, like turning out a light or unplugging a charger, can have a huge impact on the planet.or in this case, none at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    no impact

    Imagine being Eco-friendly. Hard or not so hard? You decide, but imagine having to take it to the extremes and in the middle of New York City, Manhattan. Well one guy decided to take that challenge and he wrote all about it. No Impact Man by Colin Beavan is about the adventures that this man goes through in one year. He not only finds the true purpose of this whole project but he is able to find his true self. He is able to communicate and spend more time with his family. He talks of all the stages that he went through from having to ride a bike everywhere to using no toilet paper and for a year. Crazy right? Crazy but he did it and dragged his family along with him. He had many troubles as well, many challenges he had to face. "Because our systems are not designed to be sustainable, I had to swim against the cultural tide, and sometimes I got tired (Beavan 61)." Will Colin be able to go throughout the year living a no impact life? Pick up this book and find out for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3