Customer Reviews for

No Less Than Victory: A Novel of World War II

Average Rating 4
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Completes the Jeff Shaara WWII trilogy

    Some plot lines or story threads are left incomplete. Balanced view of each side of the war, and discussed from the senior strategists as well as the GI's in the foxholes. Would have been interesting and even more balanced to have had the same foxhole-level story on the German side.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Good Job

    As usual like his father Jeff does a great job of bringing history to life.I liked the characters, especially Benson. & Higgins. I can't wait till next year when he starts the new series on the Pacific.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Another Shaara Hit..!

    Both Michael and Jeff Shaara's books fill that unique niche in the book world. Both write historical fiction that is based upon actual events but is not the same old "histories" that offer only the details of the events. Their books let the reader "feel" the events that transpired and help the reader understand what it meant for these men and women to "live" through the history that was taking place. I highly recommend their books as a supplement to the true histories for a better understanding of these events of history. I have read all their books and will continue to read all their future offerings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    I bought this book for my dad for Christmas

    We are huge Jeff Shaara fans, and my husband loved this book. My dad is a WWII vet (although of the South Pacific, in the Navy), and we went to a book-signing event at our local Barnes & Noble and had Mr. Shaara inscribe a personal message. Dad read it before New Year's!

    Jeff Shaara picked up where his dad left off in his focusing on small details of real wars and fleshing out real people using imagined encounters with fictional ones. I feel he's easily as talented as his father was. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Classic from Jeff Shaara

    I have found this to be the perfect conclusion to the WWII trilogy. Shaara continues to use his unique style to move the plot forward. I found the depiction of the characters engaging. He has the ability to put you into the narrative, feel the cold, smell the gunpowder, and grieve the carnage of war. The narrative moves along at a brisk pace. This is a classic in hisorical fiction. Highly recommended to all who are interested in WWII.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Excellent!

    One of the best, most well-researched fictional accounts of WW2 I've ever read. Jeff Shaara nails it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    History should be taught this way!

    Another superb offering from Jeff Shaara!
    His father's "Killer Angels" first got me hooked and I always wondered at the seemingly "seamless" transition when Jeff took up the task of completing the Civil War trilogy. Father and son were so obviously on the same wavelength.
    I have never found history to be a "dry" subject but it appears often to be thought so, particularly by the younger generation, but Michael and Jeff Shaara's books should be required reading in history classes at school. Often taught as a boring list of events and dates, history is ultimately about the people and that is where the Shaaras excel.........they take you inside the particpants and allow you to watch the events, as they happen, through their eyes. Close your eyes and you can smell the blood, sweat and powdersmoke and feel the tears.
    No Less Than Victory gives an extraordinary insight into what it was like to BE THERE, in the Ardennes and the Battle of the Bulge in that cold and miserable winer of 1944/45. Other, non-fiction, histories will give more detail, but NLTV allows one to experience those happenings on the personal level from the "poor bloody infantry" who froze in the snow and mud to the "brass" at Ike's SHAEF HQ.
    Make sure you read it in the warm - you'll still feel cold, wet and miserable at times! And if this your first Shaara, then read the others....travel back in time to D Day, Gettysburg, Bunker Hill and a hundred other momentous events and make personal acquaintances of the fascinating cast of characters who shaped history. Yes, this IS the way history should be taught!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Great Book.

    Last in the series. Great book. Great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    No Less Than Victory

    This was a fine finish to the trilogy. It takes you to Algeria and the battle with Rommel, to Italy and into Eurpoe for the invasion. I had not read much before about the struggle the troops had going inland from the beaches and finally across the Rhine, so that was good reading. I liked all the books very much and recommend this set to anyone. The character development was great and you could picture yourself right there with them. I recommend you also read the 4th book to this series, 'The Final Storm', about the Okinawa campaign and the ending of the war with Japan. Great reading all--could hardly put these books down. I also recommend you read the 'Corps' series by WEB Griffith, which starts with 'Semper Fi'-really great writing and hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read book!

    A thrilling novel that had me reading whenever i could.But a story is only so long for as i draw near the end i think to myself what a wounderful book. The book takes you to WW2 and as I know the point of view changes through out the book which gives you a whole view of the war. As I conclude this I will say that this is a wonderful book that you should consider reading. Any history fan would be very intersted with this book for as I am inthralled with it and I intend to read others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Consistent series

    Entertaining & educational

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    He shoots and scores

    Could't put it down.All three books make you feel like your right there with the real heros that answered their countrys call to defend us all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Good Parts Outweigh the Bad

    I find this author to be maddening. He can write brilliant accounts of the violence and fear faced by men in action (like Chapter One), then blither his way through questionable dialog between famous officers and politicians (like Chapter Two). His account of the Battle of the Bulge is excellent. But when it peters out not quite halfway through the book the reader is left with a fairly mediocre summation of the end of the war in Europe by famous men talking to each other. I enjoyed the book, and I'd read it again, but it could have been so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Great series

    Really enjoyed first 3 books of the series, covers material well and explians how some of the main characters came together and interacted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific action-packed WWII fictional account of the end of the European part of the war

    With the great success of the Normandy invasion, Allied Commanders all the way up to Five Star General Eisenhower feels strongly that the European theatre of Operation would soon be over. The German army battered is in full retreat.

    Field Marshal Gerd von Rundstedt knows the war is over unless they can somehow turn around the blitzkrieg allies who are racing across France into Germany from the west and the Russians from the east. He decides to draw the last line in the icy mountainous Ardennes where he plans to isolate the Americans and from there seize Antwerp. If this Hail Mary desperation fails, the Field Marshal knows it is a short matter of time before Berlin goes Russian as the Eastern front is collapsing also.

    This is a terrific action-packed WWII fictional account of the end of the European part of the war starting with the last German counteroffensive at the Battle of the Bulge; for the earlier parts of the war see The Steel Wave and The Rising Tide. Ironically real life persona like Ike never comes across as breathing especially in his case since the audience never learns how he felt knowing he sent so many to die at D Day and more to follow in the Ardennes even with a just cause. Military fiction readers will enjoy the fall of the Third Reich, but this tale is limited mostly to the western front as if the Russians were not coming.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    NO LESS THAN VICTORY fills in the gaps to the story of WWII

    Jeff Shaara's 3rd volume of his WWII trilogy fills in the gaps between other books and movies about WWII. Live the key characters and what happened behind the scenes. Great read for WWII buffs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Various Perspectives on WWII in Europe

    This is the third in a series of books on WWII in Europe written from the perspectives of various generals and footsoldiers from US, Britain, and Germany. Fascinating to see the various perspectives as the Battle of the Bulge unfolds. I recommend this book to WWII and military history enthusiasts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Another excellent book

    This volume was as good as the other 2 in the trilogy. If you like historical fiction (although I don't know if this is technically considered historical fiction) you'll love this trilogy. Very readable, it holds your interest and provides a lot of information about WWII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Picks up where he left off!!!

    Very engrossing. The best part of this is even though I know the historical outcome I still find myself flipping the pages to see what is going to happen next. Very good book, can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Great for your WWII collection!

    This book is the 3rd in a series and it closed out the series perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9