Customer Reviews for

No Limits: The Will to Succeed

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    Could not put this book down!!

    when I first opened this book and looked at the titles of the chapters I thought "wow this is not going to be good" this was due to the fact that each of the 8 chapters is entitled by each event that Michael competed in at the 2008 olympics. I thought that the book would be a series of stats and information I wouldn't understand as I am not a swimmer just a Michael Phelps fan. However when I began reading the book I realized that it was far from what I thought it would be. It was full of Michael's personal anecdotes and thoroughly detailed depictions of events in his life. It was truly intriguing and I could not put it down. This book answered every question that I have ever had about Michael Phelps. It is truly an inspiring book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    Really awsome

    I am a swimmer . I swim for Scottsdale Aqautice Club (SAC). There is so much comitment. This book really shows you if you put time and effort in to it you can succeed . When my 200 free real lay got first out of all the real lay times in Arizona we were crying we were so happy . This book really proves that in swimming winning is wonderfui!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Truly inspiring.

    Having read this book several times since its release, it continues to inspire me as a growing swimmer. Michael has been an inspiration for me since I started swimming competitvely at the age of 8. He shows that anything is possible and to reach for your dreams in and out of the pool. This is a great read for the dedicated swimmer or the casual reader looking for an inspirational read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    VERY INSPIRING

    I am a swimmer and dream of going to the Olympics some day,and am already very aware of the work,detication, and fustration swimming requires of you and others in your family. But this book takes it to a whole new level, it shows that if your serious about any sport it is a lot more about your mental strengh then anything else. And i think that thats what swimming is all about, how much you want a time or anything and how hard you are willing work to get there.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    In honor of Michael Phelp's 19th medal, I decided to buy and rea

    In honor of Michael Phelp's 19th medal, I decided to buy and read this book.I finished it in less than a day and highly recommend it to everyone, especially middle and high-schoolers.
    It does not matter if you are a fan of swimming, or even if you are a fan of sports and the Olympics in general. Yes, Phelps goes into some pretty technical detail. But this book is far more than that. It's about setting goals and what you have to do to get there. It's about sacrifice, dealing with adverse circumstances, learning from mistakes. I thought Michael Phelps was pretty awesome for winning all those medals, but this book showed he's more than a great athlete, he's a good human being.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    He is my idol i want to be like him someday and go to the olympics

    He is my idol i want to be like him someday and go to the olympics

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    Captivating

    I flew through this book - you feel like you are just hanging out with the guy, hearing about his life, his training, the excitement of Beijing and the respect he has for those who have helped him. It's a fascinating and insightful look inside the world of a living legend. Highly recommended even if you aren't a swimming fanatic.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Awesome

    This is an amazing book i love it very inspirational i rccomend it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting book, new turns on every page.

    Michel Phelps was on his last straw, his winning streak at the peak of his carrer. He was doing amazing, breaking world records. Once he reached his eight medals in the olympic games, he was doing worse and worse. Something broke him from that losing streak, and he once again became the best olympian in the world. Michel was practicing on getting in tip top shape for his next performance. The 100m race. In his free time he would practice and set realistic goals for himself to pass during the big race. He had all of his friends supporting him in this one and he also had another world record time waiting to be broken. I think this book was great because it used very specific information on how he got ready and what he did, that's why I like it. It is like getting into Michel's head and seeing what he does. The reason I like this book, is because of imagery. Also, it has very in depth details of the races he goes through, and how he breaks the records others set. Overall, I think this book was pretty good

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Read this

    Very good book fantastic a must read worth ur money it makes u like phelps even more and shows a different side of him that u wouldnt think he'd have!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Thank you,Michael!

    This is the best sports book of the year.It is an absorbing account of his intense training for Beijing,as well as a fascinating step-by-step<BR/>and deeply personal behind the scenes look at all eight races.But it's<BR/>Michael's descriptions of private moments with his family,coach,friends,<BR/>and teammates that really stand out and are quite touching.A wonderful book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Best Book Ever!!!!!!!

    I love swimming i am a swimmer i love ryan lochte michel phelps missy franklin and all of the others. I think you should get this book if you like swimming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No Limits

    I love the book. It is so insprstional, and really keeps me going to beco.e successful in my personal career of swimming. I just had a meet this weekend, and i did not do as well as i had wanted. I opened the firsy chapter of tid book, and i was hit right then with reality. This book tecahes me to keep going in my career. It is also very statistical. It shows commitment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Good book

    Im gonna break michael phelps record of 18 mdls

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    This book is a snooze fest. No Limits written by Michael Phelps 

    This book is a snooze fest. No Limits written by Michael Phelps is about Michael trying to become the best swimmer he can ever be. Michael trains so he
     can become a greater swimmer than everybody else and to get eight gold medals in the Olympics but makes a lot of mistakes on his way up to the top.
     I hated this book because it is mostly about training and that is not very exciting. when he is in a big race and he wins he does not describe it very well.
     It feels like it’s over in a second and its boring to hear him say who is in front of him, it makes me want to fall asleep reading it. It is just not fun to read
     it feels like a chore. I recommend this to teenage swimmers, boys and girls, and if you are a hardcore Michael Phelps fan.                
                                                                                                        

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    I'm a swimmer, too. :)

    I swim for Wichita Swim Club. (WSC) I just aged up, and last weekend at South Division 2 Swim Meet, I qualified D1s and I almost cried I was so happy. 100 yd Breaststroke is my event! (Along with the 200 breaststroke) Everyone knows how hard the age up is from 10 to 11 for the girls!
    All Olympic swimmers for the current USA team are my role models. Missy Franklin and Rebecca Soni espiccialy.
    Should I get this book?
    -Swimmer Forever (SwimGirl)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    1/10/13

    It was amazing. This about to blow your mind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Best book ever

    This has really helped and inspire me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Plz tap

    Michael if you ever read this well i dont know but i think your super cute and your an amazing swimmer and everything. By the way nice abs too. I love subway and the commercial you did for it was awesome and your mom seems like a really nice lady. And even though this was your last race i wish that you will still keep swimming nomatter what. Even if it was your last olympics. Your really great at it and jut because your done doesnt mean to stop. So jut remember that. Plus also dont loose your abs please. You rock them. Yiur number one fan
    Meee! Yiur awesome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Awesome

    Micheal Phelps is best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5