Customer Reviews for

No Limits: The Will to Succeed

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    2012 olympics!

    Who do you think is going to win Lochte or Phelps?? Good book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Olympics Start TODAY!!!!!

    I have waited all summer for this!! GO LOCHTE AND PHELPS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    shows ya how to succeed

    read the title

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    he makes swimming look easy

    As a swimmer I know how tough swimming can be. Not only does it physically drains you but also emotionally drains you. Even though high school teams and college teams make swimming seem like a group effort it's a very individual sport which contributes to making swimming such a hard sport. Other than a coach and support, no one else can help you achieve the goals you want to accomplish once you step out of the pool at the end of a meet. In Michael Phelps' autobiography he briefly talks about his childhood and what is was like for him to begin he's swimming adventures. It's amazing to read how much he use to hate getting his face went and now he's become the only swimming to achieve eight gold medals in the 2008 Olympics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    truely inspiring!!!!!!

    this book is truely inspiring! take it from me, it is not easy being a swimmer (i should know) Michael Phelps has done an amazing job with his swimming career!! i read this book at least 3 times in a month. i just cant get anough of his inspiration!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    The best book i've read about swimming!!

    i had to read this for a book report and i love it i swim so i wanted to know how michael phelps did it so i read it ad gave a great book talk and got an a i was so proud of michael for doing this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THIS BOOK HAS NO LIMITS! :)

    i had to read a book for a project and chose swimming. michael phelps is an amazing swimmer so i decided to read this. i loved it. it was exactley what i was looking for. it takes you through what he has experienced and what he wants to become. i really got to understand him a lot more by reading this book. truly amazing.

    GO PHELPS!

    p.s. the pics in this are awesome! lol!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    "No Limits" Review

    The book "No limits" by Michael Phelps is an autobiography telling many aspects about his life, mainly about swimming, and outlines his success in the pool. Each chapter contains a specific event Michael Phelps swam in the 2008 Olympics and a fascinating background story. The major themes in this book is to never give up and that anything is possible if you put your mind to it. The things I like most about this book is that it is inspirational and since I am a swimmer, I can relate to many of his stories. My only dislike about the book is that he goes over aspects about swimming I already know about such as how events are swam or how certain swim meets work. However, this information can be very helpful if the reader has little or no knowledge about swimming. Anyone can read this book because it will give them an extra boost of motivation and can inspire them to overcome adversity and live their dreams. Overall, I highly recomend this book because it is fun to read and very inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Success

    No Limits: The Will to Succeed by Michael Phelps and Alan Abrahamson was an amazing book, filled with inspirational stories from his life growing up, to where he is today, An Olympian. Throughout the book Micheal Phelps set goals and gives up a lot of normal kid stuff to be a good swimmer. He learns from many mistakes, and with each passing day he becomes more and more of a good swimmer, yet being doubted and told he would never be anything. He has come out a winner. A major theme in this book is believe in yourself, set goals, and don't let anyone tell you, you can't do anything amazing. I think his mane message is that if you have a dream take it up, and that you can do anything you want if you put your mind to it. One thing I loved about this book is how Michael constantly talks about how he believed in himself and pushed himself through very tough times, with the help of his coach and Mom (a principle). A major dislike for me was all the doubts people gave him. They kept telling him he couldn't be anything and he wasn't that great of a swimmer. I would recommend this book to anyone who can read. This book has helped me set some of my own goals and I have taken what he has learned from life and started using it in my everyday life. Another book I would recommend is The Ice Man by Chuck Liddel. My overall rating of this book would be four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    Must Read!

    No Limits: The Will to Succeed is an amazing, inspirational read for kids ages 10 and up. Throughout the entire book, Phelps emphasizes that if you want to reach your goals, you have to really want them. The book is an autobiography about Michael Phelps and how he would set goals for himself and he would work as hard as he could to achieve them.
    Michael Phelps is probably one of the most successful swimmers in history. This book gives you information that you will not find anywhere else like how when he was a child he wouldn't even put his face in the water. Also, this book shows that Michael is different from the other swimmers. Most swimmers strive to achieve certain times or break world records. Michael wanted to do those things too but his also strove to make swimming just as popular in the US as football. To do this, Phelps has gone to many pools in the US to teach clinics to young kids so that they become more interested in it as they grow older.
    I recommend this book to anyone who is willing to accept a challenge. The title explains the whole book: if you want to succeed, you have to be willing to work hard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Michael Phelps

    I read this book and gave it as a family gift to my grand children, ages 15, 14, and 12 who are competitive swimmers. They enjoyed learning about someone who had personal obstacles in life and overcame them with coaching and perseverance. This story of an Olympic hero is presented in a believable manner and holds the reader's attention. I recommend this book as an inspiring read for a variety of readers; including teachers, coaches, parents and anyone with aspirations in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    i love him

    i loved this book he is my fav. swimmer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3