Customer Reviews for

No Mercy (Jonathan Grave Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 586 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(218)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(97)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Riveting

Jonathan Grave is hired to rescue a kidnap victim. As he does his job, he steps into a world of unforeseen trouble. The plot is fast-paced, with enough twists and turns to keep you guessing. The characters are unique and make you care about what happens in their lives. ...
Jonathan Grave is hired to rescue a kidnap victim. As he does his job, he steps into a world of unforeseen trouble. The plot is fast-paced, with enough twists and turns to keep you guessing. The characters are unique and make you care about what happens in their lives. There are lots of bloody scenes and at times Gilstrap might be stretching believability just a little. However, such is the nature of fiction. By mid-story I was so hooked that I stayed up half the night to finish.

posted by BookAddictFL on July 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not good

Boring!!!!!

posted by 9910261 on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 590 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Riveting

    Jonathan Grave is hired to rescue a kidnap victim. As he does his job, he steps into a world of unforeseen trouble. The plot is fast-paced, with enough twists and turns to keep you guessing. The characters are unique and make you care about what happens in their lives. There are lots of bloody scenes and at times Gilstrap might be stretching believability just a little. However, such is the nature of fiction. By mid-story I was so hooked that I stayed up half the night to finish.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Unstoppable Read

    On the surface, Jonathan "Digger" Grave is a private investigator for Security Solutions. In reality, he is "Scorpion," a former Special Forces soldier and problem solver for hire employed by the government and those willing to pay for extreme solutions. His last assignment ended with the rescue of young college music major Stephen Hughes and death of the takers, one of whom has ties to an environmental extremist group. The real mess though, comes when Jonathan is met at the airport by his ex-wife Ellen begging for help tracking down Tibor Rothman, an investigative reporter and the man who replaced Jonathan and even instigated a lawsuit against him on Ellen's behalf. Unknown to Jonathan, the small-town sheriff who also happens to be a former FBI agent is determined to bring in the man responsible for the shooting deaths in her town even though she suspects that he was a rescuer on the side of the angels.
    Before he can even begin investigating into Tibor's disappearance Jonathan is shocked and infuriated when Tibor is found brutally murdered and Ellen tortured and raped. Despite the pleadings of his college roommate, best friend, and priest Dominic D'Angelo and office computer guru Venice Alexander Jonathan embarks on a mission of retaliation with the aid of Boxers, a massive pilot and soldier who questions the righteousness of his actions. Additional brutal murders connected to Stephen Hughes and his family lead Security Solutions to a confrontation that is nothing short of a full-out war.
    The bestselling author of Nathan's Run, John Gilstrap has written another unrelenting thriller that manages to combine action, humor, and very compelling characters. While at times Gilstrap seems to toe the line with stereotypical thriller characters (a socioapathic partner who does the dirty work, a by-the-book sheriff who shares a background with Jonathan yet who is his polar opposite, a priest friend who acts as Jonathan's conscience) he manages to surprise readers by forcing the characters to make choices that challenge their moral beliefs. No Mercy is a very exciting thriller for fans of Robert Crais, Harlan Coben, and John Sandford, and Jonathan and Sheriff Gail Bonneville are individuals whose new directions in life foreshadow very promising and riveting futures.
    -Cindy Chow

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Edge of your seat thrilling!

    I don't usually write reviews, but this book was great! The characters come to life and the author has a way of making them relatable. Very relevant subject matter.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    NO MERCY is definitely a thrilling thriller

    Expertly paced and beautifully plotted, NO MERCY takes you on a thrill ride from the first page. Full of great characters, including Jonathan Grave, the hero, this is the first book of (hopefully) a long and successful series.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable action-packed thriller

    Wealthy private investigator Jonathan Grave takes on cases he finds interesting and using the state of the art equipment that no one else knows exists. He can afford to strive to meet his long term strategic vision of killing terrorists who he admires for their desire to die for their Cause. He hides his identity as he does not want kudos when he rescues innocent victims of predators.--

    His current case is a bit more personal than usual. He searches for missing investigative reporter Tibor Rothman, married to Grave's ex-wife, Ellen. At the same time Samson, Indiana Sheriff Gail Bonneville wants to bring in Grave for his role in a shootout during a hostage rescue mission of an Indiana college student that turned ugly. ---------

    Over the top of Hoosier Hill, NO MERCY is an enjoyable action-packed thriller starring stereotypical characters, villains and heroes, who turn the exciting tale into a fun Indy run. The story line is ultra fast-paced yet also loaded with non stop violence as vengeance is the name of the game. John Gilstrap provides an exhilarating accelerated thriller that lives up to its title as there is NO MERCY when it comes to revenging an alleged wrong.--------

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Great Read!

    In the beginning I was disappointed with the unbelievable speed that the sheriff figured things out, too fast to be realistic. That being said, the story took off with edge of the seat action once she did figure things out. If you're looking for action & suspense, this is your book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No Mercy John Gilstrap

    Fantastic series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    This is a Keeper

    Grabbed this book on a lark. Love the characters and the action. It is a thriller with a bit of vengence. You end up rooting highly for the lead character to win out in the end. I liked it so much, I bought the second book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Jonathan Grave rocks

    Found John Gilstrap while searching for new authors. This is a great action packed series of books. Can't wait for more

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Definitely Recommend

    If you liked the previous book in the series, this one will not disappoint.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Action packed

    Greay story. Love Jonathon Grave! The characters are believable and I felt a connection with them. I enjoyed the plot and wanted things to work out for everyone. There was a lot of twists and turns and I kept finding myself thining their was a final resolution then I would be blown away by yet another twist! I am definitely getting the next book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    GREAT GREAT BOOK by c.c. nook

    Just finished this book. I couldn't put it down. I just bought his other two books in which john graves stars. All i know for sure is that if there is a boxers out there i want to marry him. Love,loyality & friendship all rolled up in a big guy-- how can you go wrong ? I will read every one of gilstrips books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    I did not want to put it down.

    This was the first book I got for my Ereader and I loved it. I did not want to put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    No Mercy

    Too hoaky.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Not good

    Boring!!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    Recommended

    Really enjoyed "No Mercy" the author did a great job unfolding the story and kept the pages turning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    quite an exciting page turner !

    A typical fast pace action thriller from start to finish from Gilstrap. Definitely worth the money to get this book. However there were portions of the action sequence and storyline that appeared too good to be true, such as a covert operator having all the right contacts in the Capital and beyond. Gilstrap's other books up to this one had been much better in the realm of believability.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!

    Keep up the good work John Gilstrap! Give us MORE of your genious!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Highly enjoyable

    Quick enjoyable read that has me hooked on reading the other books in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really Enjoyed This!

    This was a "Free Friday" download. I enjoyed it so much that I purchased the next book in the series. I can't wait for another!

    If you like action/adventure stories with interesting characters, I highly recommend this. I really loved all the characters, and character development is more important for me than plot - although the plot was fairly well drawn as well. Lots of suspense. Not predictable. Kept me turning the pages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 590 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30