Customer Reviews for

No Mercy (Dark-Hunter Series #14)

Average Rating 4.5
( 780 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(440)

4 Star

(212)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

battlefield. Fans of the ever expanding urban fantasy saga will appreciate Sherrilyn Kenyon's super entry

The assault on Sanctuary left many dead and severely injured while the once safe zone is rightfully no longer considered as such. Shapeshifter Dev Peltier and his family guarded Sanctuary for centuries, but with their parents dead, he and his siblings must regroup, but...
The assault on Sanctuary left many dead and severely injured while the once safe zone is rightfully no longer considered as such. Shapeshifter Dev Peltier and his family guarded Sanctuary for centuries, but with their parents dead, he and his siblings must regroup, but mentally struggle with grief and concern that the enemy has grown stronger than them. They know they survived the battle of New Orleans because the Dark-Hunters allied with his were-hunters to fight the wolves.

Former Amazon warrior turned Dark-Hunter Samia Savage, who was at Troy and the Sanctuary battles, returns to the Big Easy to keep Nick Gautier safe. However, Stryker apparently wants her most likely because of her and her gift for psychometric skills. Dev also wants her because he is attracted to her. Sam desires Dev too although both understands that is taboo.

Although the romantic premise is somewhat similar to Bad Moon Rising, this is a terrific entry made fresh by the aftermath of the Sanctuary assault and the female Dark Hunter (Huntress perhaps more descriptive). The story line is fast-paced and filled with non-stop action from the moment Sam arrives riding her bike and informs Dev she is as passionately furious in the sack as she is on the battlefield. Fans of the ever expanding urban fantasy saga will appreciate Sherrilyn Kenyon's super entry as even allies make strange bedfellows.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

If it wasn't part of the series, I would have skipped it

I am a fan of Sherrily Kenyon, and the Dark Hunter series in particular, but I did not care for this book. The two main characters (Sam and Dev) were great. Even though their relationship was incredibly quick, I loved their banter. I also enjoyed learning more about ...
I am a fan of Sherrily Kenyon, and the Dark Hunter series in particular, but I did not care for this book. The two main characters (Sam and Dev) were great. Even though their relationship was incredibly quick, I loved their banter. I also enjoyed learning more about Dev. He is crazy funny. There was also good stuff with Nick and Ash. What I did not enjoy was the overall plot. It just didn't work for me. A riddle, an obstacle course. What??? If you are a fan of the series, you have to read just to see what is happening in Ash's life, but other than that, I cannot recommend (and I feel really bad about that).

posted by C3_1991 on September 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 788 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    battlefield. Fans of the ever expanding urban fantasy saga will appreciate Sherrilyn Kenyon's super entry

    The assault on Sanctuary left many dead and severely injured while the once safe zone is rightfully no longer considered as such. Shapeshifter Dev Peltier and his family guarded Sanctuary for centuries, but with their parents dead, he and his siblings must regroup, but mentally struggle with grief and concern that the enemy has grown stronger than them. They know they survived the battle of New Orleans because the Dark-Hunters allied with his were-hunters to fight the wolves.

    Former Amazon warrior turned Dark-Hunter Samia Savage, who was at Troy and the Sanctuary battles, returns to the Big Easy to keep Nick Gautier safe. However, Stryker apparently wants her most likely because of her and her gift for psychometric skills. Dev also wants her because he is attracted to her. Sam desires Dev too although both understands that is taboo.

    Although the romantic premise is somewhat similar to Bad Moon Rising, this is a terrific entry made fresh by the aftermath of the Sanctuary assault and the female Dark Hunter (Huntress perhaps more descriptive). The story line is fast-paced and filled with non-stop action from the moment Sam arrives riding her bike and informs Dev she is as passionately furious in the sack as she is on the battlefield. Fans of the ever expanding urban fantasy saga will appreciate Sherrilyn Kenyon's super entry as even allies make strange bedfellows.

    Harriet Klausner

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If it wasn't part of the series, I would have skipped it

    I am a fan of Sherrily Kenyon, and the Dark Hunter series in particular, but I did not care for this book. The two main characters (Sam and Dev) were great. Even though their relationship was incredibly quick, I loved their banter. I also enjoyed learning more about Dev. He is crazy funny. There was also good stuff with Nick and Ash. What I did not enjoy was the overall plot. It just didn't work for me. A riddle, an obstacle course. What??? If you are a fan of the series, you have to read just to see what is happening in Ash's life, but other than that, I cannot recommend (and I feel really bad about that).

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    excellent

    Sherrilyn is back in full force. I read this in one day could not put it down. Other than Acheron this is one of my favorites. I will prob. read it again

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Death to Artemis!!! Death to Apollo!!! Death to The Moirae!!!!

    This was Great!

    Sam Savage...unlike most of the Dark-Hunters had a grudge against the Daimons even before she died.Her sister wanted to become the Amazonian queen so she made a pact with a group of supernatural creatures to kill Samia,her husband (Ioel),and her daugther to remove them from the line of succession.

    That brutal act of betrayal made her not only a dark-hunter,but A Dog of War(hunters so bad that their constantly watched.)

    In No Mercy the were-hunters and dark-hunters realize that the daimons have begun to feed on demons and have gained the power to walk in daylight.

    I loved this book.
    It was ironic,funny,and really imaginative.
    And also 2 of her characters from Dark Side of the Moon (Amaranda and Cael) came back. I hope Amaranda eats a Gallu Demon soon,because I myself really like her character. ^-^

    The reason why I took a star off is because the "Divine" twins.
    Also,Nick still doesn't get it.And it looks like he's gonna be taking Acheron's place as the buffer between Artemis and the Hunters.
    And of course their was the Moirae.Ash needs to kill them. And watch out for Sam because she's starting to learn about his past.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters and the plot was awesome

    Very good book. I loved the characters and the plot was awesome

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read!

    I love the Dark-Hunter Series. This is a good read but I have to agree with some of the other reviews that it just didn't have the same emotion as some of the previous books. I love getting to know the characters. Maybe it would have made the book to long to go more in depth with both Dev and Sam. It is still a must read for anyone who is a Kenyon, Dark-Hunter fan.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    ebook?

    Where's the ebook?????

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Love this series...

    The Dark-Hunter series is fantastic! Some books are better than others but always very enjoyable! I reread all of these books over and over. Sherrilyn Kenyon has spoiled me and no other books come close to hers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Same Old, Same Old

    I'm a big fan of the Dark Hunter series. Unfortunately, the last few (with the exception of Acheron which was amazing)have been pretty repetitive and this one is following the same pattern with nothing new to spice it up. Tortured dark hunter falls for a non-dark hunter, they must fight to save themselves and the world, and in the end the impossible doomed relationship manages to work out. Don't get me wrong, I love a happy ending....but it seems like the same ending replaying with different characters.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    a must read book

    i love no mercy, my thing is when is the next book coming. soon i hope.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    not as good as usual...

    I love Kenyon. I just couldn't get into this like I usally do. It seemed predictable. And I really liked Sam and Dev. It was the conflict part of the story I couldn't sink into. It seemed like we met a lot of new "world players" and I couldn't keep them all straight. I didn't get enough of each of them to grow an interest or real dislike of the bad guys. Seemed rushed. I'm still looking forward to the next book, and I'll keep reading Dark Hunter Series. But I'd wait for paperback if I had to do it over.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    Good story but way too short.

    I loved the characters and the plot. The length of this book made it not worth the wait and money paid to have it on the first day. This book had enough going on that had she spent a little more time on it would have given her fans their moneys worth. Feeling cheated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Are we getting an ebook?

    Amazon has one up for preorder

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's about time we got a female Dark Hunter story.

    I love the whole series. She is a very talented writter. All her stories take you to another world. It's a great escape from a normal boring life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    This  book is a great read if you have been following the Dark H

    This  book is a great read if you have been following the Dark Hunter series, a good read as a stand alone. The story is very busy and includes a lot of introductions to new characthers and ideas as well as expanding on the relationships (ash and nick) of characters we already know and love (or hate). I do wish the book had either been longer so that more detailed information could have been introduced to us or shorter so that it only concentrated on Sam and Dev. Would definitely recommend to both long time DH fans and new fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Question

    Did Sav turn Sam into a bearswain and Amiee into a wolfswain?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Must Read

    Finally a glimpse at one of the hot brothers at Sanctuary! Action packed and full of new twists!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Loved it

    The DH books never get old and this one is no different. Filled with passion, outstanding witty moments, tears and love, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    blood

    Hmm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Equisitely ENCHANTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The book itself was very detailed. Sherrilyn Keynon had been my favorite writter sine last summer. There were some points in this book that i had to put it down when it seemed confusing...
    I am afterall a 14 year old girl reading at a College level. Sherrilyn's wide vocabulary helped me to better understand what was confusing. I give definite FIVE STARS!!!!!!*****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 788 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40