Customer Reviews for

No Mercy (Dark-Hunter Series #14)

Average Rating 4.5
( 781 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(441)

4 Star

(212)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

battlefield. Fans of the ever expanding urban fantasy saga will appreciate Sherrilyn Kenyon's super entry

The assault on Sanctuary left many dead and severely injured while the once safe zone is rightfully no longer considered as such. Shapeshifter Dev Peltier and his family guarded Sanctuary for centuries, but with their parents dead, he and his siblings must regroup, but...
The assault on Sanctuary left many dead and severely injured while the once safe zone is rightfully no longer considered as such. Shapeshifter Dev Peltier and his family guarded Sanctuary for centuries, but with their parents dead, he and his siblings must regroup, but mentally struggle with grief and concern that the enemy has grown stronger than them. They know they survived the battle of New Orleans because the Dark-Hunters allied with his were-hunters to fight the wolves.

Former Amazon warrior turned Dark-Hunter Samia Savage, who was at Troy and the Sanctuary battles, returns to the Big Easy to keep Nick Gautier safe. However, Stryker apparently wants her most likely because of her and her gift for psychometric skills. Dev also wants her because he is attracted to her. Sam desires Dev too although both understands that is taboo.

Although the romantic premise is somewhat similar to Bad Moon Rising, this is a terrific entry made fresh by the aftermath of the Sanctuary assault and the female Dark Hunter (Huntress perhaps more descriptive). The story line is fast-paced and filled with non-stop action from the moment Sam arrives riding her bike and informs Dev she is as passionately furious in the sack as she is on the battlefield. Fans of the ever expanding urban fantasy saga will appreciate Sherrilyn Kenyon's super entry as even allies make strange bedfellows.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

If it wasn't part of the series, I would have skipped it

I am a fan of Sherrily Kenyon, and the Dark Hunter series in particular, but I did not care for this book. The two main characters (Sam and Dev) were great. Even though their relationship was incredibly quick, I loved their banter. I also enjoyed learning more about ...
I am a fan of Sherrily Kenyon, and the Dark Hunter series in particular, but I did not care for this book. The two main characters (Sam and Dev) were great. Even though their relationship was incredibly quick, I loved their banter. I also enjoyed learning more about Dev. He is crazy funny. There was also good stuff with Nick and Ash. What I did not enjoy was the overall plot. It just didn't work for me. A riddle, an obstacle course. What??? If you are a fan of the series, you have to read just to see what is happening in Ash's life, but other than that, I cannot recommend (and I feel really bad about that).

posted by C3_1991 on September 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Death to Artemis!!! Death to Apollo!!! Death to The Moirae!!!!

    This was Great!

    Sam Savage...unlike most of the Dark-Hunters had a grudge against the Daimons even before she died.Her sister wanted to become the Amazonian queen so she made a pact with a group of supernatural creatures to kill Samia,her husband (Ioel),and her daugther to remove them from the line of succession.

    That brutal act of betrayal made her not only a dark-hunter,but A Dog of War(hunters so bad that their constantly watched.)

    In No Mercy the were-hunters and dark-hunters realize that the daimons have begun to feed on demons and have gained the power to walk in daylight.

    I loved this book.
    It was ironic,funny,and really imaginative.
    And also 2 of her characters from Dark Side of the Moon (Amaranda and Cael) came back. I hope Amaranda eats a Gallu Demon soon,because I myself really like her character. ^-^

    The reason why I took a star off is because the "Divine" twins.
    Also,Nick still doesn't get it.And it looks like he's gonna be taking Acheron's place as the buffer between Artemis and the Hunters.
    And of course their was the Moirae.Ash needs to kill them. And watch out for Sam because she's starting to learn about his past.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read!

    I love the Dark-Hunter Series. This is a good read but I have to agree with some of the other reviews that it just didn't have the same emotion as some of the previous books. I love getting to know the characters. Maybe it would have made the book to long to go more in depth with both Dev and Sam. It is still a must read for anyone who is a Kenyon, Dark-Hunter fan.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Are we getting an ebook?

    Amazon has one up for preorder

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    This  book is a great read if you have been following the Dark H

    This  book is a great read if you have been following the Dark Hunter series, a good read as a stand alone. The story is very busy and includes a lot of introductions to new characthers and ideas as well as expanding on the relationships (ash and nick) of characters we already know and love (or hate). I do wish the book had either been longer so that more detailed information could have been introduced to us or shorter so that it only concentrated on Sam and Dev. Would definitely recommend to both long time DH fans and new fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Another great Dark-Hunter story

    It seems the editing is getting a little lax towards the end. But the story is good. Kenyon does a fantastic job bringing Greek myths to life and to modern times. I also like how she can reference previous books and tie them in in a way that makes me remember previous books, even if it's been years. Can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    No Mercy!

    Was a good read. Continued the series by telling the story of how Samia and Devereaux Peltier,met and fell in love. Also the pitfalls and heartache they suffered to their happily ever after.
    with Stryker's evil schemes, and and demons and Daimons coming out in the day now, the Dark Hunters, Acheron and even Nick had to fight to keep them in check.
    This series of stories has been entertaining. It is best to read them in order or some of the references to earlier characters wont make much sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Looking to buy

    I was wondering if you need to have read the whole series in order to understand or is each book about different characters? I couldnt tell by just reading what the books were about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    DARK HUNTERS

    I love these books I just picked this one and Retribution up within the last two days and I couldn't put it down. This series has little bit of everything in it romance, action, adventure, supernatural etc......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Finishes Strong

    It took me longer than usual to finish this book. Most Kenyon books I dive right into. With No Mercy, I didn't get sucked in until around Chapter 7. After that, I was hooked.

    I guess I just found the first couple of Chapters slow. But, I love Kenyon and own every book she's ever produced so I didn't give up on it.... and I'm glad I didn't.

    You get to learn about the softer side of Dev, get a peek at Remi's heart, learn how Apollo feels about Stryker, and see Savitar stick it to the fates. Keep em' coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    A+

    She has done it again! Kenyon has made yet another mind blowing book. I love this book. Mostly because out of all the Peltiers Dev is my favorite and Sam is super bad ass too. You learn more stuff about the not-always-so-fine-and-dandy Peltiers, most of which will be super sad. Remi makes my heart wheep a little (go read and you'll get why). This book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE those bears!!

    I've always liked Dev and his attitude and knew only a strong woman would capture his heart. Well, Sam does not disappoint! Even though they get in each other's way they manage to get it together in the end. It's nice to see a softer side in Dev but you know the bear is still right there. We also get to see Ash, Nick, and even Simi (one of my faves!! Maybe she'll even get to eat the b**** goddess one day!) and get movement in their storylines as well. I know some may say the series is becoming predictable and formulaic but this is book number 18 folks! If you have spent the time and money to get this far into the series then you won't be disappointed. I, for one, can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Reading

    Kenyon is as good in this book as in all her "dark hunter" series books. She is exceptional at weaving the characters lives into each other's stories, it makes you pick out the next ones you hope she'll write about. Fun, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great story in the world of Dark Hunters

    Love these dark hunter stories. Again Kenyon brings so many new players in slowly and is drawing a bigger picture of this world. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    Great book

    Dev has always felt alone even with 3 identical brothers, a sister and a younger brother . He started feeling this way ever since the death of his older brothers but it only intensified once he lost his parents recently. It wasn't until the tall Amazon Dark hunter rode up to the bar that he finally felt connected to someone. Knowing he should stay away especially since it was forbidden for them to be together , but he found he couldn't. What he didn't know was there was others looking for her also and if he wanted her he was going to have to work very hard to keep her safe.
    Sam is drawn to the handsome bear at the club she can't seem to get him out of her thoughts. He is the only one she can touch without the onslaught of others thoughts memories and feelings. He keeps her safe and saves her from the Daimons that come into her home to kidnap her. She has a herd of Daimons out to take her and a Demon that is out to kill her. She knows if she stays with Dev she will be his death but she can't stay away at the same time. They might have to recruit some help in order to servie this, and even if they do will their hearts serive it?

    I loved Dev, I always did, he has a great since of humor and I love his dirty mind. He cracked me up though out this whole book. Even when the situation was very serious he was cutting up. He was sexy and strong Alpha bear what is not to love. I hate to say it but I did not miss Mama Bear in this book at all she was just not too nice a person. I did how ever did like how well Fang and Dev got along and how Fang stepped up to help Dev when he needed him most.
    Sam was interesting; she did flow well with Dev. I think she was perfect for him. I loved the scene when Stryker had her and she was telling him Apollo's greatest weakness that was priceless.
    I had not known about Rimi and when I found out why he is so surly all the time it made so much since and I felt soo sorry for him. Now I can't wait for him to get a book so he can have a HEA also. Poor guy all his family is finding theirs and he is left in the cold
    What shocked me the most was Salvatore at the end. I did not see that coming at all. I can't wait to see who the next book is going to be about. I love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11