BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

No More Dead Dogs

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    No More Dead Dogs

    A one sitting book for anyone who wants to read it, No More Dead Dogs is a book that will have you laughing your head off as you read it. When Wallace Wallace gets in detention for writing a truthful, but cruel book report on Old Shep, My Pal, he is immidiately kicked off the football team until he rewrites his report. Because he truly hated the book and refuses to lie about how he felt about it, he is stuck in detention watching the drama club prepare for a play of the book he is supposed to write a book on! While still refusing to write the book report, he gives the drama club tips on how to improve their play, and also succeeds on driving his teacher and one of the actors, Rachel, crazy. Suddenly, crazy tricks start happening and Wallace is blamed for them. After finally being banished from the opening night of an extremely different play, he sneaks in when he realizes that there would be a trick done to ruin the play. The drama club members realize what an impact Wallace made on their play and his parting words when he left the play rehersal for the last time 'Old Shep shouldn't die.' They put a plan into action, changing the play so that Old Shep lives but the trickster planted a smoke bomb on 'Old Shep' and Wallace barely manages to save the play and figure out that his true friends were on the drama team, and not the football team. The trickster is caught, and the book finishes with a brilliant and successful yet different play.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    A Very Well Writen Book

    When I picked it out at the library at school, I didn't realize how much I would like it! And I agree with Wallace, in all the books I've read that had a dog as the main character dies. I read the book in two days (mostly because it was time for bed). I actually liked Wallace's honesty about everything. And the ending was what I thought it would be (in a way). I my self didn't realize/guess (blank) was the one who was sabotaging the play. I would DEFIANTLY recommend this book to anyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    Can't miss!!!!!!!!!

    This book was awesome! It had a fun, spunky twist to it that keeps you on the edge of your seat. The plot was exciting and suspenseful. This book is a definite read!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Very Funny

    I can't say that this book was the best book I've read but it is a very good book. If you are looking for a book that you don't have to think about and you can laugh at, this story is for you. The plot is very simple. The characters are all have a very distinct personality and the story is just plain funny. No, it won't be that one special book that you hold close to your heart, but it will be one you remember.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    BEST BOOK EVER

    Okay, so when I was in fourth or fifth grade, we had a book fair. I had no idea what books were good and what books weren't, but I specifically remember choosing No More Dead Dogs because I liked the title so much! Later, I read the book, and found out that I enjoyed it very much and was in love with it. Ever since then, I've read it about five times, and I plan on reading it again! I recommend this book to everyone... it changed my life!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Best Book Ever

    Wallace Wallace is that type of person who no one understands. The fans think he¿s a hero, but he and most of his teammates think that it was a lucky catch (that made them win the championship foot ball game). Anyway, I love this book and I think whoever reads this book next will give it 2 thumbs up I know I would. Well, I hope you take note of what I just said and buy this book or please just rent it. Thank you. = )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2004

    HILARIOUS!

    This book is hilarious! I've read Everest by Gordon Korman and he almost made me fall over! The exact same thing happened in this book. I just think the ending should end when Wallace makes an even more spetacular touch down than the last season and Rachel is cheering madly. But over all, it is a fantastic book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    A must read

    all i can say it is just awesome
    =awe

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    umust read this book i command u!

    tatally awsome

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    My Daughter Loved it.

    Very interesting, my daughter loved this book. She read it and it kept her interested.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    This book was Great!!

    This book is great!!! Including all the Harry Potter books.I he writes a series. )

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is the best book I've ever read! I would toatally recomend this book to people from kids who can read to age 100! I lovedthis book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    Linnet's Review

    No More Dead Dogs was a story based on a football hero where everyone in Bedford Middle School admired him. Everyone turns aside when the protagonist Wallace Wallace had to write an english assignment based on a classic novel ¿ Old Shep My Pal.¿¿ Wallace Wallace was punished by saying or writing that he didn¿t like the novel. Wallace Wallace was involved on making the play based on the novel. Wallace had an amazing idea were he change the novel into an spectacular play were everyone at his school like it. My favorite character is Wallace Wallace because he is honest. He likes to say what he believes. An example from the book is were Wallace Wallace is explaining to his english teacher ¿ Don¿t be ridiculous.¿ The teacher snapped. ¿How?¿ I shrugged. ¿Because the dog always dies. Go to the library and pick out a book with an award sticker and a dog on the cover. Thrust me, that dog is going down.¿ This quote is an example on how honest he is. He explains to himself why do dogs always die. I relate to Wallace Wallace in some kind of way because we both believe that when we don¿t like something we should change it. Also, we both are honest about things. Why should we we lie about things? Wallace Wallace though that the book was bad an he was honest enough to say it. I recommend this book to everyone especially teenagers because this book is funny and interesting to read. If you are the type of person that like to laugh and like honesty you should read this book. I also recommend this book to every teacher because you shouldn¿t punish or judge a student for saying that he or she didn¿t like the assignment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    Great Book

    This was a wonderful book! It was very funny for me, a 13 year old boy. This book was a page-turner and I read it in basically 1 day. It was an awesome book and quick to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2004

    A Pretty Good Book!

    When I was in 6th grade,(now in 9th), I loved this book. I read it in language arts for 'readers stuido.' This is one of these books that I could not put down. I recommend this book for everyone who enjoys a good laugh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    Touchdown, Stage Left

    This is the funniest book I've ever read! I told my mother last night as we left the library that I was going to check it out until she buys it for me! Now that is commitment to a book, and why not? It's cleverly written, and the dog doesn't die! Well, sort of.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2004

    Greatest Book i have read my WHOLE life! Besides Harry Potter!

    This was great book! I read this book bcuz i had 2 read 2 books 4 my book report ova the summer.. I luved the book and i could not believe how well the writer explained the book in details and everything..I mean but the fact that somebody had never lied in their life that was a little hard 2 believe! Overall it was a good book it shows the life of a middle schooler and how he goes through evryday life! I luved it! The book was AWESOME!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    Teenage Classic

    If you are a 13-year-old and want to read something other than, the boring; could care less about books @ school. Pick this book up @ Barnes & Noble. Trust me it's worth it. The first two pages get you. Actually makes you stop to laugh, that's how great it is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    For nearly two years, No More Dead Dogs by Gordon Korman sat on

    For nearly two years, No More Dead Dogs by Gordon Korman sat on my bookshelf. Friends who read it told me it was funny. They told me I would like it and encouraged me to read it. Every time I went to get a book, I avoided this book because of these two words in its title: Dead Dogs. Who wants to read about dead dogs? I don't. Neither does the main character, Wallace Wallace. 




    Wallace Wallace, the hero football player at Bedford Middle School, refuses to write a good review of the book Old Shep, My Pal. He does not like the book because the dog dies. It is like every other dog story he has ever read. He tells his teacher, "Go to the library and pick out a book with an award sticker and a dog on the cover. Trust me, that dog is going down." (p. 5) The teacher, Mr. Fogelman, does not accept his opinion and puts Wallace in detention. The detention is the same place where the middle school drama club is performing none other than ... Old Shep, My Pal .  




    More than anything else, this book is about middle school. There are no dead dogs in this book. In fact, there are no dogs in this book at all. This book has it all: friendship, popularity and a little bit of romance. There are two groups in school: The football team, a.k.a. the sporty, popular middle schoolers, and the drama club, a.k.a. the geeky, unpopular ones. Then, just like all middle schools, there has to be romance and crushes. (More about that later.) Because of this, No More Dead Dogs would appeal to middle schoolers and animal lovers. 




    As an animal lover and a middle schooler, I really enjoyed reading this book. It held my attention well. The events were especially funny. The story itself was what I really enjoyed. I could relate and I wanted to know what was going to happen next. The book is told from the points of view of four of the characters. My two favorites were Wallace Wallace and Trudi Davis. I liked Wallace because he does not lie. (Spoiler alert: Except for the one time he does.) Wallace explains that, "For me, honesty wasn't just the best policy; it was the only one." (p. 2)  His honesty is what gets him in trouble (just like me, sometimes). I liked Trudi because she is open and honest to herself. She is willing to take chances and does not worry about what her friends will say to her. Even her best friend, Rachel Turner, says, "You couldn't insult Trudi Davis. She had a hide like rhinoceros." (p. 15)  




    As well as being a fun book to read, this book teaches a lesson. It taught me not to blame something on somebody without evidence. Wallace blames a friend for sabotaging the play, but he is wrong. Evidence shows that it is somebody else. 




    Gordon Korman is a great author to be writing about middle school. He wrote his first book when he was in the 7th grade. He says his books are based 50/50 off real life and I believe it. He writes realistically. I really enjoyed reading his book and I do recommend it. Do not be scared by the title. There are no dead dogs in this book. If this book is going to be realistic to middle school, there has to be romance. Some romantic twists come as surprises to the reader. To find out who gets together, well, you just have to read till the end. Another surprise twist is learning who is guilty of sabotaging the play. I am not going to tell you. You have to read the book to find out. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    I AGREE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    HELP ANIMALS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3