Customer Reviews for

No One Belongs Here More Than You

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    I've found that people either adore Miranda July or loathe her. I am, personally, in the former. These stories were a nice break from all of the seemingly heavy things I've been reading lately- not that they were not meaningful, because, oh, they were. They were not full of superfluous language and clichés. They were like how it would be if someone told you about something that had happened to them or possibly, how you may think/narrate/feel inside your head. I found the book exceptional!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    for those who don't 'get' it

    I was browsing reviews for this book and I became irritated with people who did not understand July's writing. She is not writing, 'The sky is blue...' She goes above and beyond imagination. For those who like quirky, this book is it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Brilliant.

    This is a work of genius, a trans-genre satirization of modern life captured by way of a secular medium in the holest of ways. In keeping with avant-garde genius, this work should be trivialized, rejected and missed by the mass-minded. July, in both contemporary and historic terms, has done justice to literature in the 21st Century I truly cannot think of literary statements more articulate on the periodic condition in the last 100 years save for Henry Miller, Albert Camus, J.D. Salinger, Ira Levin, Brett Easton Ellis,and Chuck Palahniuk. Though in short-story format, her work must be considered equal to those formerly mentioned. Furthermore, I don't think a single pair of literate eyes could disagree.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    Miranda July is the most wonderful writer of our generation. Her stories are so full of emotion and truth that they make your heart ache. This book is one of the most achingly poignant books I have ever read. Do yourself a favor and buy this book now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    As in her other work, July seeks to find connectedness between individuals, between the idividual and nature, and to her audience. She pretends to be a naive dreamer, but she is an observant witness to both human cruelty and naivete. Her stories have little to do with realism or with characters or with 'storytelling.' They are essays told in the form of narrative jokes, and comic timing is one of their primary strengths. I haven't been so captivated by the short story form since I discovered Kafka and O'Connor. July uses it to her ends, and has created, I think, a new kind of fiction in the process. I call it 'cosmic' because it views reality, desire, and being as an interconnected whole.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Miranda July Is An Artist

    She impresses me with everything she does and this book is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Me and You and Everyone in Miranda's World

    Because all but one of the stories in this collection are told in the first person, it is easy for me to visualize Miranda July, the writer, director and star of the film Me and You and Everyone We Know, as that character. Even though there are references to physical descriptions of some of these that don't resemble Miranda July at all, it is still easy to see the viewpoint as hers. I read these stories with an all-encompassing fascination not so much because of what they were really about or because of thematic threads but because of her unique perspective on the world and her skewed yet totally accurate way of expressing her observations. The difficulty I had with the film, which I did admire for its audacity and unique vision, was that other characters also seemed to be mouthpieces for Miranda and it would have been much more palatable for me, steeped in my realistic world view, to accept one character making these observations. Honestly, I simply haven't met many people with a bizarre perspective as unique and imaginative as Miranda July's. With these stories, however, all the observations, all the metaphors, all the unlikely connections are made by a Miranda surrogate and so they can all be seen as installments in a continuing monologue she delivers to the planet. What I carry with me are recollections of breathtaking passages such as the following:
    That is my problem with life, I rush through it, like I'm being chased. Even things whose whole point is slowness, like drinking relaxing tea. When I drink relaxing tea, I suck it down as if I'm in a contest for who can drink relaxing tea the quickest. Or if I'm in a hot tub with some other people and we're all looking up at the stars, I'll be the first to say, It's so beautiful here. The sooner you say, It's so beautiful here, the quicker you can say, Wow, I'm getting overheated.
    Or this:
    Past a certain age, they give up on the name games, which is regrettable for someone like me who loves anything that involves going around a circle and saying something about yourself. I wish there was a class where we could just keep going around the circle, around and around, until we finally said everything about ourselves.

    I will be interested in seeing more films from her. However, I really look forward to more fiction/autobiographical observation/rambling/whatever she wants to call what she writes. These stories have inspired me in my own creativity more than most of what I've read in many years. I cannot bestow any higher praise than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Something that needs nothing

    a collection of short stories from artist/performer/writer Miranda July. while i wouldn't call this book un-put-down-able, i can't say i've found too many collection of short stories that are, her unique perspective is highly entertaining.
    each story defies categorization and, often times, after envisioning the story's voice in my head and my body, the short story revealed the protagonist to be an elderly man or someone else unexpected.
    my favorite story was Something That Needs Nothing. it expressed the quirkiness and self-reflection that a fan of July's "You Me and Everyone We Know" will anticipate and appreciate.
    As with all of Miranda July's work, a must for the permanent collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Creative and original

    Miranda July's creative wanderings are captivating. I marvel at the intellect that can come up with such diverse and original stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Just not into it...

    These stories do have an unfamiliar feel and a very post-modern vibe to them - the loneliness of the human condition - which unfortunately I'm not into reading. I think this book is a matter of taste and is not for everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    No One Should Pay More Than $5

    After reading all the hype surrounding Mirianda July's book and reading some of her fiction in the New Yorker, I also thought her book would be amazing. I was wrong. Most of her fiction left me wondering what she meant? July tries to hard to be witty and intelligent and it comes off as being whimsical. To make matters worse, I rented her movie and was again befuddled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    It's Nothing But Whimsy

    These are not really stories,but a collection of whimsy that could only be enjoyed by women who think their cats are their children,single pollyannas who border on being spinsters,and psuedo intellectuals who read too much in to everything. As far as the reviewer who was kind enough and arrogant enough to note that she's a librarian goes just because you're surrounded by books doesn't mean you have good taste. Miranda July should not follow this joke of a book up with another. People should just go and buy Katzenjammer by Jackson Tippet McCrae. Oh yeah,an even better title for Ms. July's book would have been Nobody Deserves to Read This. Give Me My Money Back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Are you kidding?

    Well, I think this book would be entertaining to people who watch too much television, or have decided to give up any attempt at becoming intelligent. I still have hope for the world, so I will continue to read other books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    I dont see how anyone could say these stories didn't have emotion. I think a lot of the point was that the characters were 'nondescript'and that she didn't spend unnecessary time and words 'fleshing them out'. I love people who use the 'anyone could do it' defense, like folks who go to the museum and look at a Pollock painting, and go 'I could just throw some paint at a canvas too'. Well you didn't, and he did. Or in this case, she did. And I personally think the results are that great balance of funny and sad and awkward that July has become known to envoke. I supose if your not into her other works, you have no reason to like this. But then, I really wouldn't see the point of reading someone's book if you are going about it with preconcieved notions and biases about how they are 'overhyped' (It's funny the magic of marketing it mentioned, because I heard nothing in the media about this book's release. I happoned upon it by chance amongst the New Releases while I was waiting for a friend at the bookstore). I really enjoyed this book, and I think that most people who go into it without any expectations of what fiction should-or-shouldnot be will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    More Hype Than Anything Else

    In this day and age,marketing is the only true talent left in any form of enetertainment. Hyping Miranda July's collection of stories is a fine example. Dumb as it sounds,all the reviews for this collection would have you believing that Ms. July possess this incredible,almost stupendous technique for fiction. The truth is anyone with a decent grasp of writing could have written these stories. Most of the characters are nondescript,and could have been fleshed out alot more. Short stories should be sudden revelations of character and emotion. What you have here,like you do with most fiction now,is a test for the geniuses at marketing to push such mediocrity on an unassuming public who most likely will buy it thinking that its brilliant. At best,Miranda July's work is an excercise in fiction,not a finished work that could be put along side greats such as The Prince Of Tides and James Baldwin's Just Above My Head. Miranda has no real literary style,which will allow her to fit in with all the crap out there. Fiction has long since become the shabbiest whore in the brothel with all the pathetic attempts to glitz it up. Consider Miranda July's work to be one of those attempts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3