Customer Reviews for

No One Heard Her Scream

Average Rating 3.5
( 248 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Now, I'm going to be 100% straight-forward and start with the fact that I'm not a huge fan of this genre (crime fiction and romance could both be described as my turn-offs) and would probably never have picked the book up if not for a recommendation from a friend. But t...
Now, I'm going to be 100% straight-forward and start with the fact that I'm not a huge fan of this genre (crime fiction and romance could both be described as my turn-offs) and would probably never have picked the book up if not for a recommendation from a friend. But this was a novel WELL worth the time I spent reading it. The characters are realistic and easy to like, the plot twists and turns are many. I admit to having been blindsided by what was REALLY going on with the disappearance of all those young girls. The big baddie is sinister enough to send chills down your spine and his lackeys are thuggish enough that you want to shower off after reading about them. Not a straight police procedural, it focuses just as much on the characters as it does on the crimes they investigate, and it does so to good effect. A burgeoning relationship is put to the test when the protagonist can not quite figure out the motives of the bad guy's left hand. And while his motives are not what they appear, they're not what anyone else suspects, either. There are also some scenes that just make you smile (and I will probably spend the rest of my young life pondering a question posed in one such scene: do condoms have expiration dates?). Other scenes make you smile not at their humor but at their sweetness, so this book provides a wonderful combination of gritty crime and action, humor, and sweetness (the latter two frequently being traits all-too-frequently absent from the crime drama genre). Having read this initial offering by Jordan Dane, I'm now absorbed in her second book 'No One Left to Tell' and am eagerly awaiting her next 'No One Lives Forever'. If this debut (and what I've read so far of 'Tell') is any indication, this is an author to watch. I think we'll be hearing a lot about her in the future.

posted by Anonymous on May 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

Arrrgh

Not a big book. PleaseB&N START PUTTING BOOK SIZE IN THE OVERVIEW!!!!!!!

posted by 7325896 on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    Now, I'm going to be 100% straight-forward and start with the fact that I'm not a huge fan of this genre (crime fiction and romance could both be described as my turn-offs) and would probably never have picked the book up if not for a recommendation from a friend. But this was a novel WELL worth the time I spent reading it. The characters are realistic and easy to like, the plot twists and turns are many. I admit to having been blindsided by what was REALLY going on with the disappearance of all those young girls. The big baddie is sinister enough to send chills down your spine and his lackeys are thuggish enough that you want to shower off after reading about them. Not a straight police procedural, it focuses just as much on the characters as it does on the crimes they investigate, and it does so to good effect. A burgeoning relationship is put to the test when the protagonist can not quite figure out the motives of the bad guy's left hand. And while his motives are not what they appear, they're not what anyone else suspects, either. There are also some scenes that just make you smile (and I will probably spend the rest of my young life pondering a question posed in one such scene: do condoms have expiration dates?). Other scenes make you smile not at their humor but at their sweetness, so this book provides a wonderful combination of gritty crime and action, humor, and sweetness (the latter two frequently being traits all-too-frequently absent from the crime drama genre). Having read this initial offering by Jordan Dane, I'm now absorbed in her second book 'No One Left to Tell' and am eagerly awaiting her next 'No One Lives Forever'. If this debut (and what I've read so far of 'Tell') is any indication, this is an author to watch. I think we'll be hearing a lot about her in the future.

    52 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained all the way through.

    49 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Arrrgh

    Not a big book. PleaseB&N START PUTTING BOOK SIZE IN THE OVERVIEW!!!!!!!

    46 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    No one heard me scream either

    Something about the way Jordan Dane writes keeps me on the edge of my seat. I can't put the book down. I actually took it in the bathroom with me! The story is excellent and so is the writing. I can't wait for the next one from her, she is now a favorite, as are the other books below.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Hits the ground running and doesn't let up

    Plenty of reviews will tell you what the book is about, but I want to talk about how this book made me feel. NO ONE HEARD HER SCREAM is in that category of book that you don't want to put down, yet should fate or the vagaries of life require you to, you can't stop thinking about it while you're doing other things. Not only will it interrupt your sleep -- in that delicious way thrillers do -- but it will distract you as you do the dishes, drive to work, walk the dog. 'Or, if you're me, you'll read and walk the dog at the same time!' NO ONE HEARD HER SCREAM is fast-paced, with compelling characters and genuinely creepy villains. It grabs you by the throat from the first page and doesn't let go. Becca commands your attention through the wends and winds of her investigation of the death of a young woman found sealed up in a theatre wall even as the mysterious Diego commands hers. Through it all, this disappearance of her sister haunts and drives her. The multiple plots twist and weave, draw you in and hang on tight. My recommendation? Start it when you know you've got enough time to finish it. And then, lucky you 'and lucky me', Jordan Dane's next book is only a month away.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An interesting twist

    One thing that attracted me to this novel is the fact that heroine is in law enforcement. Finally, there is a romantic suspense novel in which the heroine is a strong woman and not someone waiting to be rescued. Another plus is that Dane takes the time to explain some legal terms for those readers who may not understand them. As it is very detailed, it took me a while to read it, but that is a plus as it made it worth the price I paid for the book.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is a story of human trafficking, yet there is a great romance in the mix. Becca, a police officer, attempts to uncover the truth about the human trafficking and death of several young girls. She meets up with Diego, an FBI informant. I picture Mark Consuelos¿Kelly Ripa¿s husband. The plot is so amazing that I hesitate to say much more about it. Books like No One Heard Her Scream are the reason I became an avid reader. I have not read a book so suspenseful in years. The suspense is so great that you will find yourself holding the book with a white-knuckled-grip.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Predictable

    I felt like I knew every "shocking" event before it happened. The characters were cliches. In one chapter I started counting how often the author used the word "grimace." That's how distracting the overuse of a word can be!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This was the first book I have read by this author, and I loved it. Keeps you in suspense all the way. Good page turner anf full od twists all the way.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No one heard me scream either

    Scary

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Loved it

    Found a new author to add to my library.....

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    exciting, provacative

    good read, fast paced action packed, our heroine is quite a girl. recommend this to all

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb police procedural

    Five months ago, San Antonio Police Detective Rebecca 'Becca' Montgomery¿s younger sister, Dani, vanished without a trace. Distraught, Becca keeps ¿shadowing¿ the case led by dedicated professional Detective Paul Murphy who wants her to stay out of his investigation. To somewhat occupy her mind and to get her away from fighting her peer, Becca¿s boss Lieutenant Arturo Santiago assigns her to look into the humans ashes found at a burned down theater. Becca knows why her boss assigned her this case, but plans to conduct a professional inquiry. At the inferno sight, Becca glances at the crowd of curious on-lookers, but only one person seems out of place. The human remains are that of a female skeleton with only an expensive locket nearby the victim was walled inside a ¿prison¿ during the last renovation with evidence she was interred while she still lived. Becca learns the out of place stranger is Diego Galvan, who works for allegedly corrupt businessman Hunter Cavanaugh. Diego informs Becca to be careful with her investigation as her case touches Cavanaugh and his nasty Matt Brogan --- This is a superb police procedural with enough of a romance between Becca and Diego to enhance the investigation. Becca is a strong protagonist who knows she is over the edge over her sister, but cannot stop herself from wanting to break Murphy¿s nose. Ironically readers know Diego¿s intentions while Becca wonders whose side is he on. Fans will enjoy the exciting first ¿No One¿ tale as the lead pair each has hidden agendas that come before any feelings they might have for one another. --- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Mess up

    This was a great book but when i got the sample it said the book was .99 and so i bough titwhen i got the recipt it said it was 6.99 other thanthat it was the best book ever

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Great book......

    Great twist.....recommended read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    good read

    good mystery

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Good read

    Touches on modern day slave trade.....great buy!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Enjoyed it

    Good characters, lots of suspense, good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great read

    This book had me from the first page. A thriller with romance makes for a delightful page turner. I loved the characters and the pace of this book, no boring parts here. Can't wait to read more novels from this author.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    This book is awesome

    I dud not want to put this book down it keeos you on your toes the whole time.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13