Customer Reviews for

No One Here Gets Out Alive

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    True Rider of the Storm

    A great look into the life of a very complicated man. Not written in a way that's criticizing or even analytical: just appealing narration of facts & perspectives about Jim by those who knew him. If The Doors 1991 film is your most common reference for who this man really was, I recommend flipping through this book to get a better idea of Jim's depth & character. This book proves Jim was underrated as a poet & overrated as an icon, even though he tended to embrace this very fact. Funny, enlightening, sad, serendipitous, and groovy: AWESOME book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Jimmy Morrison live the life of a rock star!!

    This book was so interesting because, it was about someone who really helped change the world of rock and roll. I think that Jim Morrison really led a great live. The fans loved him and his music was great. I think that he was part of a select view of musicians, from that time that still hear their music being played today. Most musicians from that time wrote 'one-hit- wonders' and were never heard again. I think it's pretty amazing that his music is so popular today, especially because he was around a pretty long time ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    Sweet memories from Danny

    Jim Morrison and The very great Doors! So much of their magic is captured by this really enjoyable book. You will never be able to put it down. I have read it MANY times and never get tired of it. You won't either! Read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought this book was outstanding, a real work of art, and passion. I would recommend this book to ANY door's fan, or anybody who likes book's, or not. Im not a reader, or someone who likes to read, but i found this book awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    The Life of Jim Morrison

    I am obssesed with Jim Morrison and everything about him. This book tells the true story about not only him but the Doors and how they felt about the man. It gives plenty of inside to his entire life with tons of photographs. It provides tons of quotes and events written by people who actually knew him. I recommend this book to people who love Jim Morrison or just learning about the marvelous poet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    The man who changed a generation and rock n roll

    No One Here Gets Out Alive is one of the greatest novels I have ever read. It shows how one brilliant man, Jim Morrison an extremely brilliant and intelligent man, leads to his ultimate demise. This book captures Morrison from his childhood to his band years and then ultimately to his strange and unanswered death. It shows how, even as a child, Morrison had some strange and erratic behaviors that led to years of drugs, such as acid and pot, and alcohol. It shows how he started out as a young film school student armed with many works of poetry who eventually teamed up with his friends to form one of the most popular bands of the 60¿s and today. This book also talks about how his death was somewhat mysterious due to the fact that no one knows what actually was the cause of his death. Many people of course speculate but no one truly knows. I really enjoyed this book because it gave very accurate information about his life at home and on the road but I did not think it gave a good description of how the band functioned with Morrison. I also think that the book makes Morrison out to be some stupid guy who spent all of his time being drunk, when in reality he read many books and had a great deal of knowledge about life and reality. Overall I would highly recommend this book because the author grabs your attention by telling the most interesting and somewhat bizarre moments Morrison, it shows how one man came about to defy what was considered socially wrong and didn¿t care what people thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    'Let's just say I was testing the bounds of reality. I was curious to see what would happen. Thats all it was: just curiosity'

    Let me start off saying that this book is by far my favorite book I've ever read. I thought I knew a lot about Jim, but I know more than I thought I'd ever know after reading this biography. It starts out talking about Jim's childhood. His father, Steve, was in the navy and his mother, Clara, was basically a house mom. Jim had two younger siblings, a sister(Anne, who was three years younger) and a brother(Andy, who was six years younger). Jim went to over nine schools as a child and was always the one that stood out. He loved reading MAD magazines and loved ready about philosophy. He refused to cut his hair and wore shirts weeks at a time. He graduated from George Washington High School but chose not to go to graduation. He didn't tell anyone that he was leaving for college in Florida until the night before. Anyone that knew Jim, thought he was mysterious and that there was just 'something about him'. In this book it proved that he honestly didn't care about what people thought and decided to go to the beat of his own drum. He didn't drink much until his second year of college and started to party with the professors and hi-life of the art crowd. He thought he wanted to be a writer, but before he made that decision he met three guys that would eventually become the members of, The Doors. I really enjoyed this biography. I mainly enjoyed it so much because I adore Jim Morrison. Learning more about the way he acted and how he was makes him more interesting. I honestly didn't find a single thing that I didn't enjoy about this book. The pictures are amazing and how book is put together is spectacular. I would definitely recommend to any Doors' fan. I'm sure anyone who doesn't know the music to well would enjoy the book, but honestly not as much as someone who knows there songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    No One Here Gets Out Alive

    The book No One Here Gets Out Alive, by Danny Sugerman and Jerry Hopkins, chronicles Jim Morrison's life from early childhood to his death. The major focus being during the time period of his rise to, and life as, a musical icon and poet. The book does a good job of gathering differing opinions on Morrison and events involving the Doors, and illustrates Jim as not only a rock star but also a poet. Both authors had personal interaction with Jim Morrison either doing interviews or just meeting with him, and spent a number of years researching and cross checking most of their information, creating a fairly accurate portrayal of Morrison's life. The only discrepancy I have with the book is the picture used of Jim on the cover, by far the most publicized and over used picture of Morrison. The photo and its mainstream affiliation are even denounced in the book itself, yet it is still used to try and sell books by being put on the cover three times. As far as the actual book goes I found it well thought out and well written, however, the ambiguity of the ending left me unsatisfied with the amount of information given about Morrison's death. The authors took no stand nor provided much information on the actual occurrences surrounding the death, and although most of the facts concerning that night are skeptical, more information could have been given. All together I would give the book a nine out of ten rating, primarily because it's about such an fascinating and amazing man, and would recommend this book for everyone interested in the Doors or Jim Morrison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Wicked Awsome

    I loved this book alot, The Doors Rock!!! I LOVE YOU RICKY!!! 1/19/06

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    best book ever

    from begining to end you see the truth about all the little strories ytou've ever heard about jim morrison. his weird and excentric attitude toward life makes him a cult figure to this day. one of the bets books i've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    I am a huge Doors fan, this book was great

    This book runs you from the start to end of Jim Morisson and the Doors. It is mostly focused on Jim, but it was still a great book on the whole band, and what they went through with him. I've read it twice, and will soon read it again!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    The Lizard King

    This was one of the greatest books i have ever read about Jim Morrison. You get an in depth look about his life and death and everything in between.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    The most awesome book ever

    I had never heard The Doors when my dad asked me to read it. It was the most compelling book I've read. It is rich in detail and is a window into the mind of one of the most influential voices in music. The descriptions and lyrics flow. You can almost see him on stage. I would recommend this book to anyone. It is easy to follow and a perfect read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    Best book that has ever been written!

    This is a great book!!! I was compelled within each and every page! Being the doors fan that I am I have also noted a couple of wrong sayings. Jim Morrison was not born in Virginia, he was born in Melbourne Florida in 1943 and died at age 27 which the summary says 28. Although some information in this book is not correct it is still the best biography I have ever read and it is also based on one of the best poets God has ever creared!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    GREATEST BOOK EVER

    IF you have seen the movie, The Doors, forget all about it and read this book; if you haven't, read this book first then watch the movie just to see how much better the book is than the movie. This book tells you all about why his lyrics are like they are and how he and Ray formed the group. 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2001

    The many faces of the Lizard King

    A detailed and discriptive look into the life of famed Door's singer Jim Morrison. A must read for anyone who is wanting to know about his life. As I began listening to Jim's music I had alot of questions about what made him the way he was, his musical style and how he was brought up. I found the answers in the book No One Here Gets Out Alive. A true poetic genius, who's life and legacy will never be forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2001

    a true mirror oj jim

    this book goes in to explanation about jim's life you can hear no where else. i also bought the 'no one here gets out alive' movie from an old out of buisness blockbuster, and it is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2000

    No One Here dislikes this book

    Top Notch, sugarman and hopskins do a great job of depicting Jim Morrison's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2000

    True to Morrison

    This Book is a wonderful synergy of Jim's personal and public life. In resplendent detail this book spans the gamut from his childhood to the very day he died. A must read for the any fan of the legendary Morrison!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2000

    BEST BIOGRAPHY ON JIM MORRISON

    this is a great book for learning about almost every thing about jim morrison from childhood til death it tells you details other books don't and this and the lizard king are my favorite books on jim morrison

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2