Customer Reviews for

No One Is Here Except All of Us

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A gentle raft ride, then white water and stars

A village simply decouples itself from Europe in 1939. This novel explores big subjects - history, identity, nature, war, childhood - through the life of the village, as if Brigadoon floated away from World War II. About 320 pages long, the book drifts gently at first...
A village simply decouples itself from Europe in 1939. This novel explores big subjects - history, identity, nature, war, childhood - through the life of the village, as if Brigadoon floated away from World War II. About 320 pages long, the book drifts gently at first, and then courses along from about page 190 to the end in some of the best contemporary story-telling and writing I have read. Might be a book that will become a classic.

posted by 3amreader on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant enough reading

Interesting concept but becomes meaningless at the end.

posted by edymallory on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    A gentle raft ride, then white water and stars

    A village simply decouples itself from Europe in 1939. This novel explores big subjects - history, identity, nature, war, childhood - through the life of the village, as if Brigadoon floated away from World War II. About 320 pages long, the book drifts gently at first, and then courses along from about page 190 to the end in some of the best contemporary story-telling and writing I have read. Might be a book that will become a classic.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "There is always a story. No matter what we do, it can't he

    "There is always a story. No matter what we do, it can't help but unfold"

    No One Is Here Except All of Us by Ramona Ausubel is the most moving book I have read in a long time.  

    I grabbed it from the library after Leah @ Books Speaks Volumes raved about it, and I was not disappointed.

    The small Romanian village of Zalischik is isolated from the rest of the country geographically.  When a stranger is found, still alive, in their river, with a horrific tale of WWII tragedy, the town takes 11-year-old Lena's advice to begin the world again.  What does this mean?  The villagers ban together, "forget" and get rid of old world things, and start their lives over. 

    This leads to some wonderful and some very tragic experiences.  

    But what happens when the bubble bursts?  When the villagers can no longer pretend that they are truly isolated in a new world?  

    Ramona Ausubel is a beautiful writer, sometimes cryptic and odd, with writing filled with gorgeous metaphors.  

    The writing is emotional.  I felt so connected to the characters.  

    No One Is Here Except All of Us is mournful, beautiful, like a song that fills you with melancholy and brings tears to your eyes.   

    Thank you for reading, 

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lyrical and Poetic Book

    No One is Here Except All of Us by Ramona Ausubel is a fic­tional book tak­ing place dur­ing World War II. The book fol­lows a small group of Jew­ish vil­lagers who lives in a town on a river bank.

    In a remote Jew­ish vil­lage, located on a river bank, the war is clos­ing in on them. After thou­sands of years of mov­ing, escap­ing and being expelled sud­denly, in 1939, it seems that there is nowhere to go.

    The answer to the village's dilemma comes from an eleven year old girl and a mys­te­ri­ous stranger - they will rein­vent the world.

    No One is Here Except All of Us by Ramona Ausube is a very lyri­cal and poetic book. The story flows, is unique and fas­ci­nat­ing. Most of the time I read the book I felt as if I, or the pro­tag­o­nist, were dream­ing, how­ever, upon read­ing the author's note it turned out that many of the events are based on what Ms.Ausubel's great grand­mother expe­ri­enced dur­ing World War II.

    The premise of the book is inter­est­ing, some­thing I haven't read yet. At first it was hard for me to process the story, I'm just too log­i­cal, but the more I read, the eas­ier it go and I started to let go and enjoy the story more and more.

    Ms. Ausubel man­aged to cre­ate a world within a world through her char­ac­ters which sucked me into as well. I would almost be tempted to cat­e­go­rize this book under "magic", but I wouldn't go as far and nei­ther does the book itself.

    With­out giv­ing any­thing away, I was sur­prised by the end­ing, which is not sappy or the manda­tory feel-good type we come to expect. Even if you wouldn't like the story, you'd love the prose.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Pleasant enough reading

    Interesting concept but becomes meaningless at the end.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Somewhat dark with fairy tale nuances

    Since it was meant as a word-of-mouth story it is not the easiest read out there but worth the effort.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    A terrible book. Poorly written and childishly done. Characte

    A terrible book.

    Poorly written and childishly done. Character development was non-existent. The only reason I kept reading was it was a book club choice. I was hoping that all the characters would quickly die so the book would be over.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No one is here except all us

    The weirdest book that I have read about a group of people during WWII and the losses they shared, the deaths , and trying to remember their faith. I really didnt enjoy and was the hardest 200 pages to read. Not because of rthe subjecy matter, but the way the matter was written. A sixth grader could have done as well. I read a lot. Generally, a book every day or two. I couldnt keep on track. The book was free and you could tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Don't waste your money

    This book has to be one of the worst books I have ever tried to read. Don't waste your money!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1