Customer Reviews for

No Ordinary Man

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Just finished this book - got down to the last few chapters and

    Just finished this book - got down to the last few chapters and couldn't put it down!!!! Excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    very good

    kept me guessing all the way thru

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    very good

    enjoyed the story. took a while to figuer out how the murder was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Good Read

    Not sure what the previous reviewer is talking about but i enjoyed the book. Yes Jess is quite naive in her dealings with the male xters but tapped into her strength when it was needed. All in all a decent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book I've read by Brockmann that I can say has

    This is the first book I've read by Brockmann that I can say has been a disappointment from beginning to end. The story telling here was very sloppy.  It felt like chunks of the book was edited out. 




    My major problem with the book was the main character.  Jess lived in some delusional world where one date (though I didn't think it was a date) and one night of sex (where the words "no promises" were spoken) some how constitutes a relationship. I mean "I know he said no promises, but he gave me and orgasm and I gave him and orgasm and it was great, so what he really meant was that he's going to live with me and my daughter forever! I just don't understand why he's leaving me now even though he said he wouldn't stay with me." Yes, the book was as eye-rolling as that.  




    Rob as our hero was intriguing at first, but really an annoyance by the end of the book.  Rob was consumed with guilt about his past,and I spent the first half of the book wanting some clue, some insight, and the other half of the book not caring. It was this cycle of resisting Jess, giving in, thinking he's not worthy of her, and guilt. It happened over and over.  The cycle would not have seemed so tedious if we were seeing some progress, some hope from him in his thinking or some insight into why he felt that way. 




    The supportive casts of characters seemed more like unrealistic caricatures. Since when does the FBI run their evidence through civilians in a hope to get their agreement? Why wouldn't the FBI check out all possible suspects? Why wouldn't Jess want to tell the FBI about the men in her life when they think the serial killer is tied to her? 




    The book seemed more like a first draft of a story rather than a well fleshed out suspense.  The reveal of the killer was no big revelation. Bottom line, this book was a waste of time and certainly not Brockmann's best. Check out her Troubleshooter series, those are great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Good Suspense

    While I agree that this isn't one of her top heroes like Prince Joe, Crash Hawken or others I got a large charge out of the serial killer. Sometimes I get very tired of that plotline because in these Ted Bundy times it is too true. But this serial killer picks on rude people. Also one problem the good guys have in tracking him down is an ambiguous first name, which is a neat twist and very USA. (I went to school with a girl named Keith who received a draft notice for Vietnam. In Germany there is a law against ambiguous names like Lee and Terry) Also I like that the suspicions that stir against the heroe are actually not ridiculous because he is indeed hiding stuff. Not up to Anne Stuart who often makes me think "With "good" guys like this ie Black Ice, Now You See Him.... you hardly need villains." Still I liked this one pretty well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Love Suzanne Brockmann. Best romance/mystery/adventure writer around. Characters are loveable. Can't put her books down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Suspensful!

    I really second guested who did it in this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    decent

    This was an ok read but i have enjoyed some of her other books better. It was hard to fall in love with the male character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3