Customer Reviews for

No Ordinary Time: Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt: The Home Front in World War II

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

An insightful, very interesting, and highly informative and readible history of the crucial role the Home Front played in winning WWII and in shaping the entire social and economic development of the US to the present day.

Doris Kearns Goodwin is a master at entertaining while educating, and in this book she takes the reader on an incredible journey which starts when Nazi Germany seemed unstoppable (1940). We get a detailed view of the Roosevelt White House with its full cast of character...
Doris Kearns Goodwin is a master at entertaining while educating, and in this book she takes the reader on an incredible journey which starts when Nazi Germany seemed unstoppable (1940). We get a detailed view of the Roosevelt White House with its full cast of characters, and never lose sight of the two geniuses, FDR and Eleanor, who were at its core. The author shows in great detail how the war was won by the frantic and urgent conversion of American industry into the " Arsenal of the Free World" and also how those intense fruitful war years also set the stage for the Civil Rights movements of later years. Never dry, the author's keen sense of detail make this era come alive for the reader. This book is highly recommended to any history enthusiast as well as those particularly interested in the World War Two era.

posted by BSA441 on April 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Plot to Seize the White House

If you're interested in FDR, read about the plot to overthrow his presidency! It's a historical event almost completely forgotten, but you can read about it in Jules Archer's The Plot to Seize the White House.

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An insightful, very interesting, and highly informative and readible history of the crucial role the Home Front played in winning WWII and in shaping the entire social and economic development of the US to the present day.

    Doris Kearns Goodwin is a master at entertaining while educating, and in this book she takes the reader on an incredible journey which starts when Nazi Germany seemed unstoppable (1940). We get a detailed view of the Roosevelt White House with its full cast of characters, and never lose sight of the two geniuses, FDR and Eleanor, who were at its core. The author shows in great detail how the war was won by the frantic and urgent conversion of American industry into the " Arsenal of the Free World" and also how those intense fruitful war years also set the stage for the Civil Rights movements of later years. Never dry, the author's keen sense of detail make this era come alive for the reader. This book is highly recommended to any history enthusiast as well as those particularly interested in the World War Two era.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    This is a great read!

    This is a great book whether you are a history buff like me or not. Doris Kearns Goodwin takes the reader behind the scenes in one of the most difficult times in world history. Once you begin reading, it is hard to put the book down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    I can not put the book down when I start reading! I lived through this period and I have been learning some things I did not know. I did know that he had polio. That was a dreaded disease. Salk saved a lot of lives with his vaccine.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Totally absorbing

    Should be required reading. Fascinating historically. A peek into the private thoughts and interior lives of the Roosevelts. Debunks a lot of the common myths surrounding them, particularly the president.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2001

    Wonderfully Portrayed History

    I loved this book. It took me awhile to read, as it is so full of information that I had to take notes and go back to check facts as I read. I loved Eleanor even more after this book, and respected Franklin, but didn't like him much. He was a great president, but Eleanor is the one who gave him most of his social policy ideas. An interesting partnership that accomplished much. This gave me a great appreciation for that time in history and I highly recommend it, especially if you didn't live during that time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    GREAT READ

    She truly captured the white house, close ties to the whitehouse, as well as personal things relating to this great time in our history

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2002

    A MUST READ !!!!

    I could not put this book down. It gave such a wonderful insight into a time we have all have read about. This book goes into the White House and the lives of the Roosevelt family. Not just the history of those times. It brings the real personal side of both Franklin and Eleanor to life. Eleanor Roosevelt is given credit for her tireless engery and work to help not only her husband but this country. It is very easier to see why this book won the Pulitzer. Gave to book to my brother-in-law he too could not put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2001

    A Must Read For History and Roosevelt Buffs Alike

    Excellent book. Unfortunately educational textbooks only give a surface version about the lives and interaction between Franklin and Eleanor. This book peels layer by layer about their relationship (negative and postive) and the reality of what the United States went through pre-war, during and post-war.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    A Must Read!

    Doris Kearns Goodwin delivers again! This is an insightful book into the Roosevelt Presidency up to and during World War II. This is a great history lesson and it helps you understand why some of the decisions were made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent book - Well written. Fascinating look at the lives of FDR and Eleanor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Gbc




    Dgvim


    B

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Moving, well researched, solid

    A great fresh read about a pivotal time in our recent history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Outstanding Historical Record

    Other than minor (although relevant) digressions into the past which sometimes disrupts the flow of this narrative, this book is an outstanding history of the behind the scenes activities in the Roosevelt administration just before and during World War II. The writing style is very absorbing and made this book hard to put down. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2000

    Outstanding account of the FDR Whitehouse

    This book takes you behind the scenes of the White House life as few books can. The interplay of FDR and his staff during WWII is gripping and ensightful. History buffs should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3