Customer Reviews for

No Place Like Home

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Captivating, thrilling and a walk down memory lane

I thoroughly enjoyed this book as I listened to it on a 12 hour drive -- it kept me engaged and awake throughout. Additionally, since I grew up near the area in NJ in which the book is set, I had a great time picturing the roads, establishments, and the people as the b...
I thoroughly enjoyed this book as I listened to it on a 12 hour drive -- it kept me engaged and awake throughout. Additionally, since I grew up near the area in NJ in which the book is set, I had a great time picturing the roads, establishments, and the people as the backdrop of the book. I've shared it with several of my NJ relatives who I'm sure will also get a kick out of it.

posted by 1072531 on July 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Same old, same old

I was disappointed in this book, as I was with some of MHC's other recent books. The language is so prosaic. It lacks beauty and interest. She is a good story teller, to be sure, but the repetitiveness, far-fetched coincidences, predictability, and lack of development ...
I was disappointed in this book, as I was with some of MHC's other recent books. The language is so prosaic. It lacks beauty and interest. She is a good story teller, to be sure, but the repetitiveness, far-fetched coincidences, predictability, and lack of development led me to skip all the middle chapters and go to the ending, where the person who was too good to be true proved to be exactly that. Also, this book does not move me emotionally or intellectually I felt detached throughout, and certainly not thrilled or frightened or puzzled. My advice: skip MHC for now as there's much better entertainment available in the world of books than her.

posted by Anonymous on July 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    Captivating, thrilling and a walk down memory lane

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book as I listened to it on a 12 hour drive -- it kept me engaged and awake throughout. Additionally, since I grew up near the area in NJ in which the book is set, I had a great time picturing the roads, establishments, and the people as the backdrop of the book. I've shared it with several of my NJ relatives who I'm sure will also get a kick out of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Fantastic twist

    My first book of hers wow she has me hooked for sure. Can't wait for my second read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Another home run.

    As always, M. H. Clark has kept me reading well past the time I wanted to stop for the night. I enjoy trying to guess the outcome and reading to the end to find out if I was right. I don't know how she does it, but I hope she keeps on doing it!

    Anyone who loves mysteries will enjoy this one. I'll keep reading as long as she keeps writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    The Best

    Great twist!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    GREAT BOOK!!

    This was the first MHC book i have read and it certainly will not be the last!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    One Of The Best Books I Have Ever Read!!!

    This book is incredible! Mary Higgins Clark never disappoints and this book was exceptional. The plot was well thought out, the characters realistic, and the end is stunning! It all comes together to create a novel that will blow your mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very SUSPENSEFUL!!!!

    I coudn't put it down!! EXCITING, MYSTERY!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    As Always -- Couldn't Put It Down

    As always, a new book by Mary Higgins Clark is an immediate buy for me. This one is by far one of her best, in my opinion. I love to read anything by her, although I must say this one held my attention much better than some others she has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Wow!!!! mary higgins clark has done it again with this edge of your seat thriller. Wow!!! the end of this book will surely shock you. You continue to read thinking that one person is the guilty party, then that person ends up dead. All the while your heart is going out to celia nolan a.K.A. Liza barton. If you love a good who done it, this book is tailor made just for you. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    Another GREAT novel

    I have read almost all of Mary Higgins Clark's novels, and have never been disappointed in her storytelling. This novel kept me in suspense until the very last chapter. It definitely does not have a predictable ending. I highly recommend this book and ALL of this author's books to everyone. I applaud her for writing such wonderful books MINUS the foul language and sex scenes. She proves those things are not necessary for a novel to be great. She is definitely the Queen of Suspense, and deserves that title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Suspense-filled

    This book had my attention from the 'get-go'...it did not start out slowly...it stayed suspense-filled from the beginning to the end! Loved it! I always have loved non-fiction, but this one was really good! It's a real page-turner. Read it...you can't go wrong with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    First Time Reading Clark

    I loved this book even though the end was a little predictable, it was still a great read. I would reccomend it to anyone. I will definately check out some more Mary Higgins Clark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    Riveting....Enthralling

    A great, intriguing, phenomenal read. It is suspensful and kept me up all night. Way to go Mary Higgins Clark, keep it up! If you have not reaad her books, then you must and you will love them, if you have read even just one, you will be motivated and addicted to read all the others. This story is very captivating and keeps you guessing all the way through!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    MENDHAM RULES!!!

    I liked this book, not only because i actually live in Mendham, and met her at the local book store for a signing... but because it is very suspenseful and i couuldn't put it down. Mendham is a really small town, and now fans of MHC now know about Mendham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    WOW

    This book scares the pants out of you. I could not believe who the murder was. Mary made everything picture detailed. I love her books. I already started a collection of Mary's books. WOW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2005

    Look forward to next one:

    I have every single book Mary Higgins Clark has written,I love them and get so excited when I know a new one is coming out. She is an awesome writer. I have read some of her daughters cant get into those as much,but anyone who likes to read just buy her books and read,you will love them.I buy as soon as they come out.I am anxious for her next one. She is a 5 all stars her books are that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    BEST BOOK I HAVE READ IN A LONG TIME

    This is one of her best books in a long time. This the type of book you want want to put down till you finish it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    Fantastic

    This book was great. I had no idea what was going to happen. It was well drawn out and could keep your interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    Home is were the heart isn't!!

    I absolutely loved this book! MHC does it again with a great who-dunnit tale. For those of us not ready to embrace the real existence of such vile, evil natures residing in the dark recesses of the soul of mankind, No Place like Home will more than likely seem ludicrous and quite implausible. However, this book is packed with emotionally-supercharged characters experiencing everyday terrors that impact us all. A must read for the year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2005

    An exciting mystery...

    Mary Higgins Clark is an excellent mystery writer. Her use of flashback writing always brings the reader a strong connection to the main character. This novel is no exception. Here the main character Celia lives in fear that her true identity will be found out. She struggles to remember what happened the night that she accidentally killed her mother and injured her stepfather. This struggle allows the reader to sympathize with Celia, and immediately draws the reader into the mystery of what really happened. Although the character keeps most people at arms length, her obvious devotion to her family comes through in this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3