Customer Reviews for

No Place for a Lady (Heart of the West Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I could not put this book or the sequel down.

I liked this book because the stage was set from the beginning. It held my attention throughout the entire book. I could identify with a girl going somewhere totally out of her element and learning to pick up the culture. I thought the way the main character learn...
I liked this book because the stage was set from the beginning. It held my attention throughout the entire book. I could identify with a girl going somewhere totally out of her element and learning to pick up the culture. I thought the way the main character learned to find out who how to survive and keep the principles she based her life on was refreshing.

I liked that this book kept me interested and that I could recommend it as well in content to my teenage nieces for a good wholesome read with the characters actually having character!

posted by 3747741 on June 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Eh...decent as far as Christian fiction standards go...

Not impressed. I liked the way the author held off reconciliation untill the end (nice suspence in that), but communication between the lovers is horrid throughout the entire book. I'm only sixteen, but l've read literally hundreds of Christian fictions and Amish fictio...
Not impressed. I liked the way the author held off reconciliation untill the end (nice suspence in that), but communication between the lovers is horrid throughout the entire book. I'm only sixteen, but l've read literally hundreds of Christian fictions and Amish fictions, so l know what l'm talking about. The way Crystal and her romacer (not going to spoil and give the name) hardly ever treat eachother friendly and sweet, except when kissing or tragic cirrcumstances bring them together in woe. "Good grief!", I kept saying to myself. I don't want to think ahead to my courting years and think of arguing constantly with the man l love! One other serious flaw is that the "Christian" part of this "Christian fiction" title was clearly an after-thought. Besides occasionally referencing God's greatness or praying, salvation comes in only in the last few chapters and is still kind of vague and round-a-boutish. Anyways, l hope this has helped y'all in choosing a book. If you really want this one, check it out from the library. It isn't worth it.

posted by Anonymous on March 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I could not put this book or the sequel down.

    I liked this book because the stage was set from the beginning. It held my attention throughout the entire book. I could identify with a girl going somewhere totally out of her element and learning to pick up the culture. I thought the way the main character learned to find out who how to survive and keep the principles she based her life on was refreshing.

    I liked that this book kept me interested and that I could recommend it as well in content to my teenage nieces for a good wholesome read with the characters actually having character!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    Loved It!

    Maggie Brendan's No Place for a Lady is an inspirational and spiritual novel set in the historical west, full of real characters you come to root for and love. Brendan creates three-dimensional people of strength without masking their faults, making it easy for the readers of this novel to identify with the characters' thoughts, ambitions, and trials. At several points Brendan's humor had me laughing aloud, and more than once the realistic depictions of the arduousness of life in turn-of-the-century Colorado had me crying too. Under Brendan's skillful pen, the West comes alive and makes us regret our inability to experience it first-hand-lucky for us, No Place for a Lady captures with historical accuracy the lives of ordinary people asking themselves the questions and experiencing the joys and pains of life that still resonate today. I would recommend this book to fans of westerns, Christian novels, and to all readers who seek a thoroughly engaging and beautifully written story. I cannot wait to read the second book in this series, The Jewel of His Heart.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Thank you Maggie Brenan!

    This is a must read if u enjoy 1890 ish westerns, adventure, a great love story. The book has harsh conditions, is beautifully written, sad at times, and a good spiritual feel to it. The characters are well developed, the plot is unique, and for a change no sex. I highly recommend this novel and plan to read the rest of the series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    It captured my attention in the first chapter and kept throughou

    It captured my attention in the first chapter and kept throughout the rest of the book. Loving, honest, heartwarming, wholesome and refreshing. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Loved it

    216 pages. Very good story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Great book!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    No Place for a Lady

    Great book. I will be buying Book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Rated it 3 and shd have been 5

    Sorry about that

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Haven't finished this book yet but so far It is a very good Chri

    Haven't finished this book yet but so far It is a very good Christian book..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Good nBook

    Good read for anyone who likes a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    So enjoyable read

    i couldn't put this one down. Enjoyed every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Excellent 5 stars

    Great characters, moving spiritually and emotiinally

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Amasing

    I would rate this twenty stars if i could. The beauty and feeling the writer protrays in this is soooo exasperating. This book is totally clean and the way the writer excplanes the carecters it makes you feel like you actaly know them personaly. I definently suggest this book to all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    WOWWW

    I absolutely love this book! I have read it numerous times and never get tired of it : ) I cant wait to read the rest of the series!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    M

    Get out the tissues because you will cry! This was a beautiful story filled with love, laughter and incredible sadness. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Light2

    This is now my favorite book. It makes me feel like I've really gone back in time, but it also has a romantic twist. This book is highly reccomended by me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Loved this book

    I loved this book! I ended up going ahead and buying the next two in the series and looking forward to readimg them right away. I loved the scripture used in this book. It reminded me of how much Jehovah God loves
    each and everyone of us. We are so special to Him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    highly recommended

    I really enjoyed this book. It is one of those books that had enough twists and turns that it kept you very interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Very well written historical piece

    I thought that the author was very well versed in the time period. It was a pleasant surprise that this was actually a good length and I didn't read it in a half an hour. I will definitely be reading the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Great read. Good Christian values in this historical fiction. Hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5