Customer Reviews for

No Plot? No Problem!: A Low-Stress, High-Velocity Guide to Writing a Novel in 30 Days

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I will never lose it again!

I may lose my mind every November, but now I will always know where my copy of NPNP is! I bought a paper copy of the book three years ago and devoured it eagerly in the month of October, but when November rolled around, it had vanished. I floundered for a week, lost the...
I may lose my mind every November, but now I will always know where my copy of NPNP is! I bought a paper copy of the book three years ago and devoured it eagerly in the month of October, but when November rolled around, it had vanished. I floundered for a week, lost the plot, then had a nice little panic attack. I finally found the book in my daughter's room and did a dance of joy (literally? it looked silly, but I didn't care!). Pretty much the same thing happened the next two NaNoWriMo seasons - then I got my Nook and discovered NPNP was available in e-book form. Now my daughter can have the paper copy all to herself and I will always know where mine is! Plus, there's the added advantage of notes, highlights, and bookmarks, so my favorite parts are easy to find. My reccomendation? Get your copy, either at the bookstore or on your e-reader in plenty of time for November, but if you get a paper copy? well, hide it from your kids!

posted by 8290967 on March 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Recommended reading for NaNoWriMo participants

Each November, thousands of people attempt the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) challenge - to write 50,000 words of original fiction in a month. This book, by the creator of the challenge, contains tips for writing a good novel as well as for surviving the phy...
Each November, thousands of people attempt the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) challenge - to write 50,000 words of original fiction in a month. This book, by the creator of the challenge, contains tips for writing a good novel as well as for surviving the physical, social, and mental demands of the challlenge. It is written in a very friendly tone and informal style. If you are looking for a good book on general novel writing, there are others I would recommend like Cleaver's Immediate Fiction. But if you need a guide to NaNoWriMo, this is it.

posted by OhioWriter on September 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Recommended reading for NaNoWriMo participants

    Each November, thousands of people attempt the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) challenge - to write 50,000 words of original fiction in a month. This book, by the creator of the challenge, contains tips for writing a good novel as well as for surviving the physical, social, and mental demands of the challlenge. It is written in a very friendly tone and informal style. If you are looking for a good book on general novel writing, there are others I would recommend like Cleaver's Immediate Fiction. But if you need a guide to NaNoWriMo, this is it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    I will never lose it again!

    I may lose my mind every November, but now I will always know where my copy of NPNP is! I bought a paper copy of the book three years ago and devoured it eagerly in the month of October, but when November rolled around, it had vanished. I floundered for a week, lost the plot, then had a nice little panic attack. I finally found the book in my daughter's room and did a dance of joy (literally? it looked silly, but I didn't care!). Pretty much the same thing happened the next two NaNoWriMo seasons - then I got my Nook and discovered NPNP was available in e-book form. Now my daughter can have the paper copy all to herself and I will always know where mine is! Plus, there's the added advantage of notes, highlights, and bookmarks, so my favorite parts are easy to find. My reccomendation? Get your copy, either at the bookstore or on your e-reader in plenty of time for November, but if you get a paper copy? well, hide it from your kids!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Breakthrough Advice

    A great motivator for anyone, but an absolute essential before participating in National Novel Writing Month.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2012

    Encouraging

    Highly amusing and helpful little ditty on writing a novel in 30 days. Well worth the $!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Set Yourself a Challenge

    As one who is now determined to develop a stronger writing work ethic, I found this book to be entertaining, in formative, and inspiring. It made me laugh but managed to provide excellent advice in the process. I was most inspired by the exponential growth of the NaNoWriMo writing competition to the point that I'm actually participating in it less than two weeks after reading the book. It's an easy read and makes good the point that first efforts aren't always the best but it's about finishing something. Polishing and publishing can come later but FINISHING is the thing. It puts that goal within reach, maybe not easy but worth a try nonetheless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    If you are going to NaNo

    Is not much good for the general writer. BUT what it does do is tell you what to expect from yourself and others if you decide to join NaNoWriMo. And it tells you how to deal with those things you will meet.

    I plan to NaNo this year and this makes me feel prepared for what I shall face.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Get this book...NOW

    Let me just say that after 28 days this book took me from a woman with writer's block to a woman with a novel! I have loved to write since I was very young but have never been able to complete anything beyond a novella. I picked up this book and began to read and it works! Not only do I now have a novel, I also have a sense that I can do absolutely ANYTHING. The writing in this book takes you through how the process of writing a novel in a month will be and if you follow-through, you too can have a novel in a month. GREAT JOB!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    Totally recommend this book!

    I've been a member of NaNoWri for a few years, but never really did much with it. When I found this book I was just looking for helpful hints and suggestions on improving my writing skills. Imagine my surprise to find that the author of this book is also the founder of the National Novel Writers Month (NaNoWri), too. The book was funny, straight forward, and very encouraging. Glad I stumbled on to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Thistlefang

    "Whats the isdue?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Wolfpaw- RL PROBLEM

    Yeah. Help!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Ok

    I will do that:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Help! I need somebody Help! Not just anybody...

    Okay, so I have a problem...
    There's this boy I know. I'll call him...Bob. Thats not his real name, but yeah. So, bob. I like him, but as a friend. Im super tall, 5'5, and hes super short. Ive been on honor roll my entire life, and he got one math question right on the last quiz. We're not alike at all.
    Putting that out there, I think hes crushing on me. Ive never had someone obviously crush on me, especially not someone id address as a friend. Hes a really good guy, really likeable, and i dont want to crush his little heart if he asks me out. Number one, how can i tell if he like likes me, and how do i decline without hurting him?
    Ps, i cant read headlines, so can u address ur answer as 'to starstruck'? Thx a bunch!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Help me

    There is this boy on my nook and we just met but i felt a conection but he already has a girlfriend i think he likes me though what do i do from emaly

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Any aide that gets your butt in the chair and your pen to the paper is welcome. This book is accomplishes that and more.

    I gave a 1 star rating because I object to the publishers' high prices for ebooks.

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Just in Time for NANOWRIMO 2010!

    I enjoyed this book thoroughly, and found it just in time for Nanowrimo 2010.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2