Customer Reviews for

No Plot? No Problem!: A Low-Stress, High-Velocity Guide to Writing a Novel in 30 Days

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Take the challenge and learn to write

If you want to learn how to write a lot, get this book and follow the instructions. Do it in November during NaNoWriMo and use their website to help encourage you. Before you know it you will have written a "novel". It may never be published and no one may ever read it,...
If you want to learn how to write a lot, get this book and follow the instructions. Do it in November during NaNoWriMo and use their website to help encourage you. Before you know it you will have written a "novel". It may never be published and no one may ever read it, but you will have written 50,000 words and doing that will make writing anything an easier task.

posted by radioactive-hamster on December 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Recommended reading for NaNoWriMo participants

Each November, thousands of people attempt the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) challenge - to write 50,000 words of original fiction in a month. This book, by the creator of the challenge, contains tips for writing a good novel as well as for surviving the phy...
Each November, thousands of people attempt the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) challenge - to write 50,000 words of original fiction in a month. This book, by the creator of the challenge, contains tips for writing a good novel as well as for surviving the physical, social, and mental demands of the challlenge. It is written in a very friendly tone and informal style. If you are looking for a good book on general novel writing, there are others I would recommend like Cleaver's Immediate Fiction. But if you need a guide to NaNoWriMo, this is it.

posted by OhioWriter on September 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Recommended reading for NaNoWriMo participants

    Each November, thousands of people attempt the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) challenge - to write 50,000 words of original fiction in a month. This book, by the creator of the challenge, contains tips for writing a good novel as well as for surviving the physical, social, and mental demands of the challlenge. It is written in a very friendly tone and informal style. If you are looking for a good book on general novel writing, there are others I would recommend like Cleaver's Immediate Fiction. But if you need a guide to NaNoWriMo, this is it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Take the challenge and learn to write

    If you want to learn how to write a lot, get this book and follow the instructions. Do it in November during NaNoWriMo and use their website to help encourage you. Before you know it you will have written a "novel". It may never be published and no one may ever read it, but you will have written 50,000 words and doing that will make writing anything an easier task.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2004

    Do You NaNo?

    This is an excellent addition to any writer's reference shelf. Nanoers will definitely want to pack it for their 30-day cruise to NaNoLand aboard the S.O.S. NaNoWriMo. Don't forget to kennel your inner editor! Chris tells you how in his book. The book is packed with useful information for the Nanoer, and advice that can be applied to the writing life in general. Likewise, Chris shares the insights of past NaNoWriMo participants, describes some of the pitfalls that come with trying to write a 50,000 novel in just thirty days, and how to avoid those pitfalls. Even the non writer will find this book just plain fun to read, largely due in part to Chris' sense of humor and his affable style. No Plot? No Problem! has a permanent home on this writer/reviewer's bookshelf. Do you NaNo? Go ahead and give it a try! You didn't have anything else planned for the month of November did you?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    I will never lose it again!

    I may lose my mind every November, but now I will always know where my copy of NPNP is! I bought a paper copy of the book three years ago and devoured it eagerly in the month of October, but when November rolled around, it had vanished. I floundered for a week, lost the plot, then had a nice little panic attack. I finally found the book in my daughter's room and did a dance of joy (literally? it looked silly, but I didn't care!). Pretty much the same thing happened the next two NaNoWriMo seasons - then I got my Nook and discovered NPNP was available in e-book form. Now my daughter can have the paper copy all to herself and I will always know where mine is! Plus, there's the added advantage of notes, highlights, and bookmarks, so my favorite parts are easy to find. My reccomendation? Get your copy, either at the bookstore or on your e-reader in plenty of time for November, but if you get a paper copy? well, hide it from your kids!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Breakthrough Advice

    A great motivator for anyone, but an absolute essential before participating in National Novel Writing Month.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2012

    Encouraging

    Highly amusing and helpful little ditty on writing a novel in 30 days. Well worth the $!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    Are you ready to join in on the challenge.

    This book is great!!! I read it in the Bookstore and several times people gave me weird looks as I laughed out loud. I definitly plan to enter the contest this year. It starts Nov 1st.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2005

    Sound Advice on Writing...and Fun Too!

    How you would feel if you were told you could write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days? Would you picture yourself quitting your day job and retreating to some log cabin to write it? Could you see your name on the New York Times Bestseller list? Well, in Chris Baty¿s new book ¿No Plot? No Problem!,¿ the author explains just how the seemingly impossible goal is attainable............ Baty is the founder of the National Novel Writing Month challenge (NaNoWriMo), where everyone from the polished author to the newbie is given the task of writing a novel in 30 days. The book serves as a step-by-step guide on how to achieve the goal. Why is the writer only given 30 days? It¿s because people seem to work better when deadlines are established. Baty explains: ¿¿most of us become ¿one day¿ novelists. As in, `One day, I¿d really like to write a novel.¿ The problem is that that day never seems to come, and so we¿re stuck. Or we were stuck, anyway. Because as far as artistic deadlines go, this book comes with a doozy.¿............................. What about the person who hasn¿t a clue about novel writing? Not a problem. Baty shows you how to get started by developing characters, writing what you know or want to know, and participating in free range writing without worrying about editing. By the time you¿re done, you¿ll have a first draft of that great American novel you¿ve been promising yourself you¿d write. Well, uh, at least you¿ll have written an American novel, which is the goal here anyway. The editing phase and getting published are a whole different ball game. So if you¿re just writing a novel just to say you¿ve written one or to get a major publishing deal like a few of the NaNoWriMo participants have done, there¿s something in this book for you..................... ¿No Plot? No Problem!¿ is filled with sound advice on how to write the first draft of a novel, even if you don¿t adhere to the 30-day rule. Baty¿s humorous writing style makes reading the book a fun way to learn all about the writing process without necessarily taking the task too seriously. So if you¿re interested in writing a novel just for the hell of it or to sign that two-book deal with a major publisher, this book is great desk reference to help you get started.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Set Yourself a Challenge

    As one who is now determined to develop a stronger writing work ethic, I found this book to be entertaining, in formative, and inspiring. It made me laugh but managed to provide excellent advice in the process. I was most inspired by the exponential growth of the NaNoWriMo writing competition to the point that I'm actually participating in it less than two weeks after reading the book. It's an easy read and makes good the point that first efforts aren't always the best but it's about finishing something. Polishing and publishing can come later but FINISHING is the thing. It puts that goal within reach, maybe not easy but worth a try nonetheless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    If you are going to NaNo

    Is not much good for the general writer. BUT what it does do is tell you what to expect from yourself and others if you decide to join NaNoWriMo. And it tells you how to deal with those things you will meet.

    I plan to NaNo this year and this makes me feel prepared for what I shall face.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Get this book...NOW

    Let me just say that after 28 days this book took me from a woman with writer's block to a woman with a novel! I have loved to write since I was very young but have never been able to complete anything beyond a novella. I picked up this book and began to read and it works! Not only do I now have a novel, I also have a sense that I can do absolutely ANYTHING. The writing in this book takes you through how the process of writing a novel in a month will be and if you follow-through, you too can have a novel in a month. GREAT JOB!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2004

    A writing guide that's fun and fresh

    Done in the style of a 'field guide,' this book has none of the pretense or 'professorial-lecture-as-book'. The book is divided in two parts. The first part is part inspiration, part suggestions for 'gearing-up' for the task. The second half is about actually getting words on the page - daily goals, writing techniques, etc., - structured around the National Novel Writing Month challenge (aka NaNoWriMo) of writing 50,000 words in 30 days. A fun and fresh approach to writing fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    Totally recommend this book!

    I've been a member of NaNoWri for a few years, but never really did much with it. When I found this book I was just looking for helpful hints and suggestions on improving my writing skills. Imagine my surprise to find that the author of this book is also the founder of the National Novel Writers Month (NaNoWri), too. The book was funny, straight forward, and very encouraging. Glad I stumbled on to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Thistlefang

    "Whats the isdue?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Wolfpaw- RL PROBLEM

    Yeah. Help!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Ok

    I will do that:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Help! I need somebody Help! Not just anybody...

    Okay, so I have a problem...
    There's this boy I know. I'll call him...Bob. Thats not his real name, but yeah. So, bob. I like him, but as a friend. Im super tall, 5'5, and hes super short. Ive been on honor roll my entire life, and he got one math question right on the last quiz. We're not alike at all.
    Putting that out there, I think hes crushing on me. Ive never had someone obviously crush on me, especially not someone id address as a friend. Hes a really good guy, really likeable, and i dont want to crush his little heart if he asks me out. Number one, how can i tell if he like likes me, and how do i decline without hurting him?
    Ps, i cant read headlines, so can u address ur answer as 'to starstruck'? Thx a bunch!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Help me

    There is this boy on my nook and we just met but i felt a conection but he already has a girlfriend i think he likes me though what do i do from emaly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Any aide that gets your butt in the chair and your pen to the paper is welcome. This book is accomplishes that and more.

    I gave a 1 star rating because I object to the publishers' high prices for ebooks.

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Just in Time for NANOWRIMO 2010!

    I enjoyed this book thoroughly, and found it just in time for Nanowrimo 2010.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2