BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

No Pretty Pictures: A Child of War

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    The memoir No Pretty Pictures: A Child of War by Anita Lobel is

    The memoir No Pretty Pictures: A Child of War by Anita Lobel is a very touching story of Anita and her family’s journey through World War II. The book was very descriptive and I felt during some of the moments I was able to understand exactly what Lobel was explaining. Another great characteristic in this book was that Anita translated some of the words she used to German or Polish. Reading this book definitely helps you to understand what World War II was like through a ten year old’s eyes.  Anita’s struggle through the war is a story that should be read. It is a very interesting story which many people will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    I found this book confusing at times, but awesome. Sometimes the

    I found this book confusing at times, but awesome. Sometimes the word pattern and language was difficult to follow.
    However, I enjoyed reading how Anita faced the challenges thrown at her especially the concentration camp when she didn't have fear even thought they were most likely going to kill her and her brother. I admire a five year old for not only surviving the holocaust, but writing about it to. Even when she had tuberculosis she wasn't scared or frightened she just wanted to play outside. Anita lobel is amazing because after the war she continued to write. she didn't just live on, she strived after the holocaust. I strongly encourage people to read this book

    sl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Great book

    I really really enjoyed this book. I have always been interested in WWII stories just because of reading Ann Frank as a child. This story is an eye opening glimpse into how people lived and the horrific things they had to go through. I couldnt imagine living through things like that and I am so thankful to be in this day and time rather then during this stories time. Lobel has a beautiful way of informing while still keeping the audience anticipating what will happen next. I really like how the story was written- it flows really well. The beginning is a little slow but once you get reading its intense and kept me reading for hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Must read!

    I fell in Love with this book! I picked it up by chance at my high school library, not knowing what it was about. I'm normally not the type of person who just reads for a good time, but I was walking by and it caught my attention. Every page of this book kept me interested and I was definitely rooting for that little girl and her brother the whole time. I think it should be required reading for students. I'm very glad that I took the time to read this Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    this book is SUPER FABULOSO!

    i like this book because, it's great and enjoyable. it talks about a girl who could not be beautiful and could not make a smile at all. i wasn't going to like doing what Lobel was doing there in the story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    A Must Read For Anyone Interested in The Holocaust.

    Anita Lobel has a wonderful story to tell, one filled with drama, intrigue and utlimate triumph of spirit. I loved this book and would highly recommend it. She has had a life turned upside down by world war II and is a survivor with a joy for living that oozes from the pages of this book. I admire her both as an indivual and as a writer/artist. What a wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I cant imagine what it was like living through Nazis and concentration camps. I wouldnt know what to do if i was in her past sitchaution (i know i cant spell!) She was really brave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    The Best AutoBiography I Have Ever Read!

    I read this book around 3 times now and I feel it is the most decriptive and powerful book I have ever read. I have read many Autobiographies and most were dull and boring, But I must say that this one was truely astonishing! It made me feel for the characters. It was very sad and suspencful in most parts that's what made it so outstanding! ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Anita Lobel's No Pretty Pictures

    This amazingly heart wrenching autobiography leaves you on the edge of your seat! I recomend this book for all ages. T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    The best book!!

    I think that no pretty pictures really made me realize what children where going through during the holocaust and really made me want to get up and do something!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2001

    No Pretty Pictures

    This is one of my favorite books. I like how the author made it so easy to picture in your head what was going on in the story. This book made me understand the pain that people suffered during the holocast. The book always made want to read on and never put it dow. I enjoyed this book alot. The author should write more stories because she did a great job w/this book. I recommend this book to e

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2002

    What an AWESOME book!!!

    I really liked this book... I usually don't read that often, but this book would make kids that don't read that often want to read.(like me) The book was pretty much about two jewish kids that are trying to stay away from the Nazis and there nanny is helping them hide. One of the two kids is a girl and the other is a boy and they are brother and sister. They eventually get caught by the Nazis and the get taken to a concentration camp. Were they are treated very badly and there is a really bad stench. At the end of the book they get resucued and taken to a sanitorium because they found out the had tuberculosis. They get better and reunited with there nanny, mother, and father.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2001

    Best Ever

    This was a very good book..it really makes ya think..i'm only 13 and i loved it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2001

    I love it

    I read this book in my 8th grade english class and I am very glad I did because I was able to see how much it was to vaule life during the holocaust. This is my favorite book of all time , and I hope that everyone can get a chance to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2000

    Incredible Book...

    No Pretty Pictures is an amazing book. The author really lets people know what it was like to live during ww2, and all the struggles that came along with it. The book is incredible and wonderfull--it is a highly reccomended book from my point of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2000

    Touching!!

    This book put me in a position were I could feel how sad and hurt Anita Lobel became when she was captured by the Nazis. Great book for people with a true heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1