BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

No Promises in the Wind

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Book.

No Promises in the Wind by Irene Hunt is a story about two brothers, Josh and Joey Grondowski, who, due to lack of finances, are forced to go out on their own during the Great Depression. The story is told through the eyes of a 15 year old boy, Josh Grondowski. After de...
No Promises in the Wind by Irene Hunt is a story about two brothers, Josh and Joey Grondowski, who, due to lack of finances, are forced to go out on their own during the Great Depression. The story is told through the eyes of a 15 year old boy, Josh Grondowski. After dealing with constant abuse from his frustrated father, Josh decides to leave home. Joey, Josh's younger brother, tags along for the adventure. In their journey the boys find themselves catching rides on trains and struggling to survive. With the help of a friendly truck driver from Nebraska, Lonnie Bromer, the boys are able to find a job and a place to stay. Throughout the story Josh learns about the importance of family, forgiveness, and the negative aspects of poverty due to the depression. I think I can relate to Josh because the bond the two brothers share is similar to the one my younger brother and I have. We did a lot of things together growing up, and I usually took care of my brother. The way that Josh and Joey remain by each other's side reminds me of my childhood. I really like this book because it shows the struggles of a young boy surviving during this critical period. The circumstances that surrounded Josh make him use his inner strength to overcome difficult situations. I like how the book teaches readers how desperation can affect people and also that forgiveness is one of the most powerful things in the world. I recommend this book to people interested in learning how terrible the Great Depression was during the 1930s. Anybody that enjoys reading about people overcoming hardships will enjoy this book as well.

posted by YULIUS10 on January 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

No Promises in the Wind

In No Promises in the Wind by Irene Hunt Josh and younger brother Joey Grandowski are two regular kids trying to make it through the depression. After leaving their abusive and hunger stricken home, the boys find themselves hitching rides on trains and struggling to su...
In No Promises in the Wind by Irene Hunt Josh and younger brother Joey Grandowski are two regular kids trying to make it through the depression. After leaving their abusive and hunger stricken home, the boys find themselves hitching rides on trains and struggling to survive. With the help of Lonnie, a friendly truck driver, Josh and Joey manage to find several jobs and a place to stay. Throughout the novel Josh learns lessons about the importance of family, negative aspects of poverty, and the hardships of love. I found that I could relate to Josh throughout the story. For instance, while facing difficult situations and poverty, Josh was for the most part able to remain optimistic. Remaining optimistic directly impacts Josh¿s will to survive and lessens the mental damage caused by poverty. I find that maintaining a positive outlook helps me deal with work, stress, and other daily obstacles. Furthermore, I can relate to Josh because of his willingness to grow. Throughout the novel Josh learns about love, forgiveness, anger, and many other difficult aspects of life. Though stubborn at first, Josh eventually learns to deal with everything that comes his way. It is this basic transition from childhood to adulthood that this book emphasizes, and that is what I relate to most about Josh. Overall I did not enjoy reading No Promises in the Wind. I found that although the novel accurately depicted a child demanding to survive and learning important life lessons, I never really considered myself entertained. My favorite part of the book is when Josh and Joey work at a carnival in Baton Rouge. I found that the descriptions of carnival attractions were amusing and the characters themselves were clever and easy to imagine. My least favorite part was towards the end of the novel when Josh was falling in love with Lonnie¿s niece Janey. It seemed irrelevant to the rest of the plot and unnecessarily long. If I could change the novel in any way, I would have given Janey a shorter role. I would not recommend this book to another person. The book was uninteresting the whole way through and the plot switches from a boy struggling to survive to a childhood love story. Someone who is studying the depression or enjoys reading about people overcoming hardships might enjoy reading this book.

posted by Anonymous on January 29, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Great Book.

    No Promises in the Wind by Irene Hunt is a story about two brothers, Josh and Joey Grondowski, who, due to lack of finances, are forced to go out on their own during the Great Depression. The story is told through the eyes of a 15 year old boy, Josh Grondowski. After dealing with constant abuse from his frustrated father, Josh decides to leave home. Joey, Josh's younger brother, tags along for the adventure. In their journey the boys find themselves catching rides on trains and struggling to survive. With the help of a friendly truck driver from Nebraska, Lonnie Bromer, the boys are able to find a job and a place to stay. Throughout the story Josh learns about the importance of family, forgiveness, and the negative aspects of poverty due to the depression. I think I can relate to Josh because the bond the two brothers share is similar to the one my younger brother and I have. We did a lot of things together growing up, and I usually took care of my brother. The way that Josh and Joey remain by each other's side reminds me of my childhood. I really like this book because it shows the struggles of a young boy surviving during this critical period. The circumstances that surrounded Josh make him use his inner strength to overcome difficult situations. I like how the book teaches readers how desperation can affect people and also that forgiveness is one of the most powerful things in the world. I recommend this book to people interested in learning how terrible the Great Depression was during the 1930s. Anybody that enjoys reading about people overcoming hardships will enjoy this book as well.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    No Promises in the Wind

    In No Promises in the Wind by Irene Hunt Josh and younger brother Joey Grandowski are two regular kids trying to make it through the depression. After leaving their abusive and hunger stricken home, the boys find themselves hitching rides on trains and struggling to survive. With the help of Lonnie, a friendly truck driver, Josh and Joey manage to find several jobs and a place to stay. Throughout the novel Josh learns lessons about the importance of family, negative aspects of poverty, and the hardships of love. I found that I could relate to Josh throughout the story. For instance, while facing difficult situations and poverty, Josh was for the most part able to remain optimistic. Remaining optimistic directly impacts Josh¿s will to survive and lessens the mental damage caused by poverty. I find that maintaining a positive outlook helps me deal with work, stress, and other daily obstacles. Furthermore, I can relate to Josh because of his willingness to grow. Throughout the novel Josh learns about love, forgiveness, anger, and many other difficult aspects of life. Though stubborn at first, Josh eventually learns to deal with everything that comes his way. It is this basic transition from childhood to adulthood that this book emphasizes, and that is what I relate to most about Josh. Overall I did not enjoy reading No Promises in the Wind. I found that although the novel accurately depicted a child demanding to survive and learning important life lessons, I never really considered myself entertained. My favorite part of the book is when Josh and Joey work at a carnival in Baton Rouge. I found that the descriptions of carnival attractions were amusing and the characters themselves were clever and easy to imagine. My least favorite part was towards the end of the novel when Josh was falling in love with Lonnie¿s niece Janey. It seemed irrelevant to the rest of the plot and unnecessarily long. If I could change the novel in any way, I would have given Janey a shorter role. I would not recommend this book to another person. The book was uninteresting the whole way through and the plot switches from a boy struggling to survive to a childhood love story. Someone who is studying the depression or enjoys reading about people overcoming hardships might enjoy reading this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Hi

    I read this in skool

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    I loved this book i had to read it in school this year and i think i read it 5 times love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Great book!

    I had to read this at school,i never put it down.its a great story and made me cry! You must read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    bad ending

    Tihs book had a terrible ending. I am a true romantic, so I thought Josh ans Janey should've ended up together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    To: Hi

    Did you even go to school?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Anonymus

    This book was O.K., but it DEFINETLY needs a better ending. Maybe tell a little about the future Irene Hunt. Thanks for reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    No Promises In The Wind

    I LOVE IT!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Pretty good

    I read it in school, wasnt the best but ill recomend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    A Look into the Great Depression

    No promises in the wind is a novel written by Irene Hunt in 1970 that deals with two boy's struggle in the Great Depression. It is a story about the fears and tears of the Great Depression, and the drive of people to find a job in such hard times. It is a book that would be appealing to people from young adults to adults themselves. I enjoyed this book, and that is why I recommend it to others.
    The beginning of the story starts with a family, worn out from the Great Depression. I was expecting this to be a typical Great Depression story, with family problems and such. I was wrong. The main character, Josh Grodowski, and his friend Howie, decide to runaway from Chicago because of the stress of the home life, and their parents. When Josh's brother Joey comes along, they have one new passenger, that is very frail and weak. On their way to Nebraska, they lose Howie in a horrific accident. Now forced to strike out on their own, Josh and Joey searcg for jobs that involve musical talent, because they are both gifted with the talent of musicv. Along the way, they find a job working at a circus, for a very large man named Pete Harris. They did that with the help of a man named Lon Bromer, or "Lonnie". Who is a truck driver from Nebraska. They kept their job at the circus, and they made many friends, like Emily, a clown, and Edward C., a dwarf man. But trouble hits when the circus tent burns down, and the boys are on the road again. After 2 weeks of travel, they are reunited with Lon again out of a twist of fate, and live with him for a few months in Nebraska. In the end, Joey and Josh find another job in Nebraska, playing music in a fancy restaurant. Once they have collected enough money, they buy tickets to the first train to Chicago. They are reunited with their family once again and Josh and his father, Stefan, learn how to deal with their differences. This book has a very complicated feel, and a unique style. It is different from any other Great Depression story I have read before. It had a powerful message, which in my opinion, was for to always be greatful for what you have. They have minor characters that help support the story line, and the main characters place in the story. The setting is different, from Chicago to Nebraska, to anywhere the boys travels lead them to. The plot is powerful, and I get why the author wrote this book. To truly tell young (and old) readers about the Great Depression, and an example of the struggles that some people had to face. This book to me was a very strong, and moving book. It gave me a taste of what the Great Depression was truly like. I enjoyed this book, and I hope that others will to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Great Depression (DONT COPY, I WORKED SO HARD) besides thats a crime-im just telling you about the story!!!!

    Angry and stubborn are two great examples of how people felt during the Great Depression. Josh, the main character in No Promises in the Wind by Irene Hunt, is an example of one of these people who felt this way. This novel takes place in early October during the 1930s.In the story two boys, Josh and Joey, are challanged to face the Great Depression by themselves. Over time both of the boys cracked out of their shells and realized who they really are. Josh is fifteen during the great depression, "The year 1932 was not a good one in which to be fifteen years old and in close quarters with a hopeless father." In the begining of Josh and Joey's journey Josh is angry, but as time goes on and they begin to grow independently he becomes more compassionate.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    A Look into the Great Depression

    Irene Hunt, Newberry Award winning author of "Across Five Aprils" and "Up a Road Slowly" brings you this moving story of the Great Depression. Practically forced from his own home by an abusive father, Josh, his friend Howie, and his brother Joey hop a train hoping to find a job playing music. Howie falls beneath the train's wheels, however, and is killed. Josh suddenly finds himself the sole caretaker of his frail, starving brother. They hitchhike to Baton Rouge with a truck driver who helps them find a job at a carnival. The carnival burns just a few weeks later, however, and the two journey north in search of the truck driver who offered them his help.
    Along the way, Josh develops pneumonia. One day, while fevered and delusional, Josh hits Joey. Joey leaves, making Josh feel very guilty. Josh managed to find Lonnie, the truck driver, who in turn helps Josh find Joey. Josh and Joey managed to get a job playing music for diners at a fancy restaurant in the town where Lonnie lives. They earn enough money to buy a train ticket back to Chicago, and after many tearful farewells are received with open arms by their loving family and remorseful father.
    This story may seem like a typical book about the Great Depression, but in reality it is much more than that. It is a tale of pride and inner strength, and of the will to survive. It teaches us how far desperation can drive us, and that forgiveness is one of the most powerful things in the world. This is a story of two boys who leave home in search of work, but find themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    I read this book for school and i loved it.!!! i would recommend this book for all teenagers! :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    I TOTALLY HEART THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I chose to read this book for summer reading. At the beginning, I was not very interested. But once I got to chapter 2, it was a whole world!! I adored this book and would absolutly recomend it to others!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Bad Cover, Good book

    The cover does not look very promising, but it is an excellent, fast-paced novel. It shows how even in the face of hopelessness, two kids manage to get through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2006

    Wonderful BOOk !!!

    I chose this book for my 7th grade summer assignment, and it was a very dramatic,yet cute story of two brothers' quests to find a job.I defenitely liked this book because it kept me reading for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    'I hated the wind...it never made any promises.'

    This book is excellent! It was a reading assignment for my English class in 7th grade. Usually reading assignments are beyond boring, but this book changed my outlook on reading! I absolutely enjoyed this book especially when I made a more than perfect score on my book report. (Wink, Wink!) I will definitely pass this book on to my children when I get older!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    good, suspensful book

    this was a good book that i would recommend to anyone over 12 unless you are an avanced reader. this is an exciting historical fiction book that will keep you on the edge of your seat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2005

    No Promises In The Wind is one fantastic book!

    In my Jr. High school, me and my class read this book. I was excited. When we finished the book, I said I want to buy this book. It is so fantastic. I really like Joey because he is so cute and he looks like a teddy bear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3