Customer Reviews for

No Proper Lady

Average Rating 3.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

All you can ask for in a good read. Action, romance, not too much gore, and Good Writing. Thank goodness it is totally lacking in pages of dithering internal dialog. Cooper gives her readers credit for having good sense and a reasonable memory. Looking forward to readin...
All you can ask for in a good read. Action, romance, not too much gore, and Good Writing. Thank goodness it is totally lacking in pages of dithering internal dialog. Cooper gives her readers credit for having good sense and a reasonable memory. Looking forward to reading more from this author.

posted by GGW on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okay as a Romance Novel, Poor as a Sci-Fi Novel

While the idea for the plot was interesting, the writing was not good enough to flesh it out. Characters were rather flat.

posted by xo_treehugger_xo on December 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Excellent Read

    All you can ask for in a good read. Action, romance, not too much gore, and Good Writing. Thank goodness it is totally lacking in pages of dithering internal dialog. Cooper gives her readers credit for having good sense and a reasonable memory. Looking forward to reading more from this author.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    This book kept me interested from beginning to end - the unusual

    This book kept me interested from beginning to end - the unusual plot reminded me of Outlander with a bit of Star Wars and My Fair Lady mixed in. Highly recommend for fans of historical romance who don't mind some modern sensibility (and cursing) thrown in.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Interesting Read

    Hearing this book called The Terminator crossed with My Fair Lady got my attention. This book certainly lives up to that claim, making it quite interesting and unique.

    Joan is a great character, tragic, due to the hellish world she comes from and what she¹s gone through; still she lives to help others. So here we have this badass chick going back to Victorian England on a mission to save the future.

    Now, imagine what happens when she sees that world. I loved the scene when she is being dressed and fitted in heavy Victorian clothes. She thinks of how her reaction time in fighting will suffer. Had to smile at that one.

    Simon, a hunky Victorian man, proves to be heroic as well, and is quite a good match for Joan. But when he first sees her with her weapons and smeared with blood, he finds her strange, of course, and can't evaluate her level of beauty, as her appearance is so wildly foreign to him.

    It's interesting to watch as she discovers the Victorian world. She exposes the hypocrisy of the past. The spiritualist activities that occur add allure to this story, too.

    Intriguing questions are peppered throughout the story; things to think about. There are some great lines in this book.

    So much is at stake, more than normal. It's entertaining to read about her futuristic sensibilities set against his Victorian gentlemanly qualities. This creates a great chemistry between the characters and strange situations. She has depth, and he's impressed with this. Simon is a different kind of hero. He doesn't want the enemy dead and hopes for the villain's redemption. Sometimes though, I wondered how he was able to understand Joan's futuristic vocabulary so easily.

    No Proper Lady is a great read with caring, worthy characters. The mix of cultures (past and present) makes for a wonderful story.

    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    For those who love urban fantasy and historicals!

    I found the combination of genres refreshingly well done. Most genre bending romances fail on one or the other. This one kept true too victorian society and gave me a paranormal twist that i could believe in. I often find myself disinterested in the paranormal "cause" of a lot of series but in this novel I actually cared about what the heroine was fighting for. The herione was written well but my only criticism was the relationship of the hero and the villan was never fleshed out fully. Its hard to understand how they both got involved in the paranormal and why the hero wanted to try to give the villan a chance to change his ways when you don't really understand their past frienship/history. Overall well worth the read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Okay as a Romance Novel, Poor as a Sci-Fi Novel

    While the idea for the plot was interesting, the writing was not good enough to flesh it out. Characters were rather flat.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Surprisingly good

    I didn't know what to expect. It had all the elements I love, sci-fi, time travel, paranormal, historical and romance. I will admit it took several page before I got into the story, but isn't that always the case with a new author. It was also great to have someone like Joan hook up with someone like Simon. I just know I liked it enough to pre-order the next installment.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    vulgar language

    Didn't even spend 2 minutes reading the sample- will not buy- have deleted due to vulgar language.

    5 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    RATING:4.5! A MIX OF FANTASY,PARANORMAL AND HISTORICAL ROMANCE! NO PROPER LADY BY ISABEL COOPER....A MUST READ...

    NO PROPER LADY by Isabel Cooper is a delightful historical paranormal with a touch of urban fantasy romance set in 1888 England. It is written with details,depths and has characters that will take your breath away. It has black magic,spells,sweet sensuality,romance,martial arts,mysticism,secrets, betrayal ,lost friendships,evil vs good,time travel,tragic glimpses into the future,danger,passion, and making things right. It is likely the story of a female version of Terminator meets a male version My Fair Lady. Simon Grenville,a Duke,sexy,knows some magic,handsome,and determined to destroy Alex Reynell.Joan,from a future world of England,a female Terminator,responsible to take out the dark magic that has nearly destroyed her world.Joan is a little rough around the edges,an assassin and has a bleak future. While,wants to destroy Alex,who was once his best friend until he used dark magic on Simon's little sister,he will need to join forces with Joan. Together,these two form a bond of not only passion,a need to stop the dark magice but also a love. This is a fast paced,action packed,story with some humor,danger,sensual tension and adventure. This is this author's debut into romance it weaves time travel,spirituality,and romance with a mix of historical,paranormal and fantasy.A unique blend that flowed easily with an abrupt end. I will be looking forward to others by this author. A great read which was a quick read and interesting characters. Can't wait to see what is next for this author,hope to see some of these characters revisited. This book was received for review from the publisher.Details can be found at Sourcebooks Casablancva,an imprint of Sourcebooks,Inc. and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    N

    Well, thanks to harriet klausner and the other long winded plot spoilers, here is yet another book ruined by excessive plot reveals. Come on, bn, when are you going to put a stop to these vain, rude, inconsiderate plot spoilers who ruin books for other readers? You are losing money due to lost sales. I refuse to buy a book when these hateful, selfish ppl tell everything that happens.

    4 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    refreshing romantic urban fantasy

    The demonic horde is winning the war against humanity. Desperate, the human forces decide to send back several centuries Joan the warrior assassin to kill Alex Reynell the evil wizard and destroy his arcane book of spells before the malevolence conjures up the demons to this plane.

    Joan arrives in 1888 England where she immediately rescues Simon Grenville the magician from attacking cerberi. She explains her mission to him even as Joan cannot believe there are birds flying in the air and the landscape is green. Simon takes Joan to his home while concealing from his guest that he plans to use her to enact revenge against his former best friend Alex who nearly killed his sister. As he teaches her how to behave in proper Victorian society, they fall in love, but she knows the mission comes first while he changes his mind and believes her safety is more t important than anything else.

    No Proper Lady is a refreshing romantic urban fantasy starring a female Terminator in Victorian England. The story line is loaded with action whether the heroine is fighting the Alex and his minion or struggling to understand the restrictive rules of High Society in which she wonders how a warrior can hide a sword while dancing and wearing tons of uncomfortable clothing. Part of the fun is the reactions by the heroine to the environment (no Dickens anti Industrial Revolution descriptions) and to love. Fans will enjoy going back in time with Isabel Cooper as our guide.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    decent story

    Although this book was slow at times, overall it held my interest through to the end and had an interesting premise. I'm generally not a reader of historical romance, but this had an interesting enough twist to keep me reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    recommend- entertaining read.

    I enjoyed this book. It was a slight twist of fantasy and science-fiction that I found entertaining. It was a quick read and a nice entertaining escape. I read a lot of various romance novels ranging in quality and genres and I enjoyed this one enough to keep it and read again later. The author has promise and I look forward to seeing other books by her.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Refreshing, Original Debut

    Cooper's debut romance weaves time travel, magic and the paranormal, and spirituality into a unique and fascinating blend. The characters are richly-drawn and sympathetic, the world itself well-constructed. My only complaint (aside from the completely misleading cover) is that the final confrontation with the villain felt abrupt; it could have been fleshed out. Still, I highly recommend "No Proper Lady", and I'm looking forward to the sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    not my kind of read

    to far out there

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Disappointing

    I was really interested in this book. At first I felt like I had been dropped into a sequel without having read part one or had inadvertently started about four chapters in. Since it had been described as a cross between My Fair Lady and Star Wars I continued to read. It ended up, IMO, thinly disguised porn. It seemed like there was a vivid description of the male character's state of arousal every other page. Much the same for the female. Perhaps, if I'd hung in there, I would have found more to the story, but was too put off by the overemphasized sexual attraction and the obvious direction of their relationship. Did not finish the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Boring

    I was disappointed that such an interesting premise could turn boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    N

    Can i just say that whoever wrote the review under me woke up on the wrong side of the bed!!!!

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    Did not like the period mix.  

    Did not like the period mix.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    A great, unique read!

    While this book was confusing at times, I'm glad I kept reading until the end! It has an interesting blend of the past and the future, along with romance and action! It does have curse words and sexual scenes, so if that's something you don't like then reconsider, otherwise it's worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    very enjoyable

    one of the better time travel books i've read in years

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3