Customer Reviews for

No Regrets

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Nice Read to Snuggle With

    This is a great book to take when you want time for youself. It has everything you want in a romance. The heroine was a nice change from the glamorous standard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Lovely Regency! A Keepr

    Caroline Torrington is not the usual specimen of attractiveness--at least, in her own eyes--and she doesn't believe for a minute that Lord Foxhaven really desires her. When he involves her in scandalous behavior, however, she concedes that she must marry him or be forever disgraced. At best, she believes him coming to her rescue only to create a marriage of convenience that will satisfy society--and his demanding father--and allow him to continue his dissolute life uninterrupted. At worst, she believes he might have some misguided desire to come to the aid of his childhood friend, and she really cannot bear either motive. To find out the truth of the matter, I encourage you to read for yourself this entrancing tale of love, heartbreak, and more love. No Regrets is a masterful piece of writing, and Regency buff that I am, I have to say that Michele Young is definitely a mistress of the Regency era. From the streets of London to its grand ballrooms, the cant of the times flows without fail. You can't miss this great read. It's on my keeper shelf! Diane Davis White Author of Moon of the Falling Leaves.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    Well rounded

    I thought this book was great! Plot was complete and consistant with the characters. Sexual content was not vulgar or over the top. Related well to the pudgy, plain Jane with spirit, and hopelessly in love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    'No Regrets' written by Michele Ann Young is a very delightful change, The heroine Caroline Torrington is not your typical skinny heroine she is a wonderfully voluptuous woman. The Hero Lord Foxhaven thinks she is wonderfully breathtaking unbeknownst to Caroline. These two are forced into an arranged marriage. The story...Well unless I spoil it for you and I won't so let me just say I am looking forward to reading more from the very talented Michele Ann Young.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    not worth time nor money

    it was just terrible, so easy to predict and even skip pages and not loosing anything important. It seems like it was writhed as a fanfic and not a novel, the heroine was not some one you would identify with or even sympathy, she was just stupid and only got more stupid as you go on in the book, the hero was just a stereotype of, well a hero, he seem bad and will not go to the rules of anyone, but in hart was this wonderful human being that loves kid, eugh! the villain seems like the bad guy in some bad cheese movie. Over all was the worst book I have read so far 'and even as a fanfic I think would be bad!'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    A Delighful Regency Romance

    Caroline Torrington thinks of herself as pudgy and unattractive, not understanding others view her as lush and voluptuous. Her parents are dead, and she and her sisters are destitute. As the eldest, it is up to her to find a way for her sisters to have a season when their time comes, so they might make good marriages. Enter Lord Lucas Foxhaven, childhood friend and her secret love. He offers her marriage, as he has for the past year. He won¿t get an inheritance until he is wed, and his father decided that Caroline, as a vicar¿s daughter, would make Lucas the perfect wife, providing the steadying influence he needs. Lucas is determined to wed Caroline so he can get his hands on his inheritance. She agrees to a marriage of convenience, with dissolution of the marriage later. Lucas agrees. Once in London, they both see how difficult the no touching part of the marriage is, although Caroline thinks it¿s because Lucas is disgusted with her large size. Lucas loves her lushness, but will not give in to temptation because he views Caroline as a good friend, and he does not want to hurt her. More difficulties arise, communication goes awry and suspicions blossom on both sides. Caroline is kidnapped, and Lucas finally grows up and acts like the man Caroline had always considered him to be. I loved this book. It wasn¿t at all what I had thought it would be. The author skillfully created her characters. Her heroine¿s naivety is believable, as is her goodness, insecurity, and human frailties. After he matures, the hero is very sigh-worthy. But oh, what a lovely story from the hero¿s rash proposal of marriage, all the way to the last page. This is a wonderfully told romance, and I highly recommend No Regrets.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    Enjoyable and Romantic Read

    Michele Ann Young's Regency novel No Regrets begins in a very interesting (and romantic) manner: Lucas Rivers, Viscount Foxhaven, rides his horse into the house where our heroine, Caroline 'Caro' Torrington is secretly working and carries her off. The couple were childhood friends and Lucas cannot receive inheritance until he marries Caro, but she has stubbornly refused him. Caro, who could be called voluptuous, is very attracted to Lucas, who is rather a Rake, but doesn't believe he could ever find her beautiful. Finally, in order to provide give her sisters a stable financial future, Caro agrees to a marriage of convenience, which will be ended sometime in the future. They agree to 'no regrets.' Along the way, Caro receives society-lessons from Lucas' friend's sister, meets a previously unknown French cousin, spends time with Lucas' Aunt Rivers and Cousin Cedric (who looks after a lot of Lucas' business), and tries to win Lucas' affections (though she has actually already done so). Lucas, in reality, is very attracted to Caro, but does not want to violate their agreement or somehow ruin their longtime friendship. Unfortunately, Caro thinks she disgusts him. This leads to a variety of misunderstandings, including Caro believing Lucas has a mistress. Though the couple grows closer, Caro believes she is doing Lucas a favor by leaving him and traveling to France with her cousin to visit French relatives. Lucas follows her there, but when Caro is kidnapped (or has she voluntarily decided to remarry?), he must decide how he really feels about her. I don't want to spoil the rest of the story, so I will stop there. I really enjoyed reading No Regrets. It is a well-written and interesting Regency. Young did an excellent job incorporating the proper period elements and crafting a tension-filled love story. Lucas is a very attractive hero, with his dark hair and 'chocolate' eyes (yum!). Caro is a woman we can all relate to because she really struggles with her self-esteem and believes herself to be completely unattractive, especially to Lucas. The secondary characters add a lot to the tale, especially Caro's lady's maid Lizzie. She's hilarious. Fortunately, this book is on the long side (for a Regency), which means the reader gets to enjoy it a little bit longer. Lucas and Caro's difficulties in communicating their true feelings are frustrating---to the characters and to the reader---but that works in this story because the reader understands what they are going through. Obviously Lucas and Caroline have long-held and deep feelings for each other. As we all know, though, sometimes it is hard to express such important emotions to the most important people in our lives. I highly recommend No Regrets by Michele Ann Young.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    You won't regret reading this book

    A lovely break from slim, svelte heroines, Young's Caroline Torrington is refreshingly Rubenesque. Caroline Torrington, Caro, sees herself as large, dowdy and overweight, but Lucas Foxhaven finds her lush, delicious, succulent and, for a variety of reasons, off limits. When his antagonistic and controlling father demands Lucas marry Caro to maintain his allowance, Lucas chafes. To smite his father, he foolishly proposes a marriage of convenience--no love, no sex, no children, no regrets. Even before Caro agrees to this sham marriage, she's full of regret. Hurt, but in a desperate financial state herself, Caro agrees. She's always loved Lucas, but she's fat and he's fit. She knows the only way he'd ever consent to marry her is for money. Will this couple ever really get together? Michèle Ann Young's NO REGRETS is the perfect love story with wonderfully imperfect characters. I loved Caro. She's a queen-size girl with a queen-size heart who innocently fumbles her way into queen-size blunders. Beautiful and loving, she learns to see her own beauty and love herself just about the time Lucas makes some discoveries of his own. You won't regret reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1