BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

No Regrets and Other True Cases (Ann Rule's Crime Files Series #11)

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ann Rule excels again

No Regrets is excellent reading material. Much detail on all persons involved in the case of finding out what happened to the Captain. The persistance of all involved, from suspect to detectives, makes this a page turner. You will not be disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on November 20, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NO REGRETS--NOT HER BEST WORK

I have read many of her books, but have found this last one not up to her usual standards. The characters are not really people that I cared about and there were many inconsistencies in the story. It seemed that Ms. Rule needed to get another book in the pipelin...
I have read many of her books, but have found this last one not up to her usual standards. The characters are not really people that I cared about and there were many inconsistencies in the story. It seemed that Ms. Rule needed to get another book in the pipeline and this was it. The first story titled 'The Sea Captain' was the longest and didn't hold my attention. The other ones were shorter and some were better than others. None of them had the date/ year of when the crime happened and that bothered me a lot. Seemed like she just found some older crime files to use as filler in the book. I hope that her next one holds my interest. My regret was that I bought the book instead of borrowing it from the library.

posted by Anonymous on November 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Save your money

    I have read all of Ann Rule's books and this has to be the worst. I have enjoyed all of her books in the past, however, this is one that I can not recommend to others. I think she was just looking for stories to fill the pages of the book. Yes, save your money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    NO REGRETS--NOT HER BEST WORK

    I have read many of her books, but have found this last one not up to her usual standards. The characters are not really people that I cared about and there were many inconsistencies in the story. It seemed that Ms. Rule needed to get another book in the pipeline and this was it. The first story titled 'The Sea Captain' was the longest and didn't hold my attention. The other ones were shorter and some were better than others. None of them had the date/ year of when the crime happened and that bothered me a lot. Seemed like she just found some older crime files to use as filler in the book. I hope that her next one holds my interest. My regret was that I bought the book instead of borrowing it from the library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    Ann Rule excels again

    No Regrets is excellent reading material. Much detail on all persons involved in the case of finding out what happened to the Captain. The persistance of all involved, from suspect to detectives, makes this a page turner. You will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Ann Rule- wonderful Writer

    Anyone who enjoys true crime stories will enjoy this book. Mrs. Rule tells the story of not just the side of the one who has done the crime but more important the victims side of the crime and their families who lived through the tragedy. I highly recommend all of her books,you won't put them down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Ann

    Very poor. It was as if she pulled a few stories out of her file to write a quick book. Not up to her standards, i would not recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2006

    Not the Ann Rule that usually rules

    I agree with the other two posters that this book seemed thrown together to satisfy her publisher's needs, not to shed light on anything that anyone would care about. More than any of her other books, I had the sense with this one that I was rereading some of her True Detective stories from the sixties, except without the bite. Zzzzz...Ann, normally you do 'rule' but not this time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    Good but not her best

    While I liked this book I found it less compelling than Ann Rule's previous works, Her compassion for the victims does shine through though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Gy

    Ff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ann Rule brings back to life many compelling yet, heartbreaking

    Ann Rule brings back to life many compelling yet, heartbreaking stories.

    It's hard to imagine how cold and calculated some people can be. But, however hard it is to imagine, these cases are all too real. From a 65 year old woman to is suspected to be a heinous killer, to a kidnapping that no one knows what will happen, Ann Rule delivers. All of her books are well written and researched. What makes them better is that she has sat at these trials and done hours of interviews with people involved in the cases. That makes her work even better. As with all her books, I recommend this one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    Minor exploitation!

    I am all for true crime stories being told. But do you all realize that this book has pictures of a minor's crime scene? (And btw, the victim was 15 and not 16.) I haven't read the book, and I won't. I can't give it a rank lower than one star. Those pictures should never be allowed to be published, let alone be allowed to be in public libraries, etc. There is nothing wrong with the telling of true crimes, but exploiting the victims in that way is just wrong, especially when they are minors. The families deserve better than that, whether the pictures are a matter of public record or not! I have read that she tried to contact the family, but I don't believe she tried hard enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    Well Researched, Carefully Crafted

    I liked this book because (in the main story) the author gave so much background about the victim, his very interesting life, and the setting where the crime took place - as well as detail about the crime and the investigation. The short stories were shocking and heartbreaking, but told with much sensitivity towards the victims and with analysis of the psychology of the various situations. Once you start this book, it's hard to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2006

    Heartbreaking Stories Reported with Lots of Heart

    I liked this book because it was so well-crafted I just couldn't put it down. In the book's main story, The Sea Captain, a shocking discovery in one chapter is followed by another shocking discovery in the next chapter, et al. The total effect of the story is mind blowing. This book is truly what they call a 'page-turner,' and if you have read Rule's 'The Stranger Beside Me' you'll enjoy this book - it's up to that standard. The shorter stories at the end of the book are equally heart-breaking and well reported.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2006

    ANN RULE . . RULES!

    ANN NEVER DISAPOINTS ME! I THINK I HAVE READ EVERYONE OF HER BOOKS. I ALWAYS GET MORE THAN MY MONEY'S WORTH. 'NO REGRETS' IS A BOOK TO CURL UP WITH. RUTH MEYERS THOUGHT SHE COULD GET AWAY WITH MURDER, SHE WAS SO SURE OF HERSELF THAT SHE TOLD SEVERAL PEOPLE. THE KICKER IS THAT SHE ALMOST DID. THE SEA CAPTAIN WILL HOLD YOUR INTEREST TILL THE VERY END. AS A TRUE CRIME WRITER ANN RULE IS TOP OF THE LINE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2006

    Ann Rule writes another winner

    Ann Rule only enhances her reputation as the world's best true crime writer with her latest book, No Regrets. No other writer, true crime or otherwise, connects with her readers and draws us into the lives of the people she writes about like Ann. Her compassion shines through, as always, with each word she writes. We care because she cares. My only regret is that Ann can't write faster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2006

    Ann Rule never disappoints!

    This book was very well written and obviously Ms. Rule put a lot of time into researching the stories. I would highly recommend this book to any fan of true crime stories, as well as any of the other books written by the very talented Ms. Rule.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Loser

    No timeline, uninteresting, and to old. I'm so sorry I bought this book. In all the old, old, stories no updates. She should be working on quality and not how many books can she pull from the very old files. DON'T BUY THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    True-Crime Treasure Chest

    Ann Rule's well-researched and effortlessly narrated tales of true crime are always compelling. 'No Regrets' is the latest (2006) in her collection of true crime short stories, though one of them may be considered book length. I especially love these short story collections because any one of them makes a thoroughly absorbing interlude that can easily be fit into one's day -- or tucked away and saved for a rainy day. I've read all of Ms. Rule's books and have yet to put one down from boredom. She hooks you right away and then carefully spins out her story. I recommend this and any other Ann Rule book or collection of crime stories to anyone who likes to be well entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Compelling and Riveting Read

    I found this book very well written. Ann Rule lets the reader into the mind and motivation of murderer. Her book is more about the why and result of crime than description of the gore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    Ann Rules in true crime

    A very good read. This is one book I couldn't put down! Ann is at her very best. The Sea Captain was spellbounding. The bonus stories, at the end of the book, I found fasinating. No Regrets in buying this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Mesmerizing Stories

    I loved this book! The tension and horror of the first story built relentlessly throughout. And before the horror starts, the author lets us really get to know the victim. The other stories are great too - appalling actually as you keep in mind they're REAL, not stories. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2