Customer Reviews for

No Rest for the Witches

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    ;)

    ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Charming Little Witches

    I simply got this book because I'm a fan of two of these authors.
    But overall I would give this book a 3.5.

    Davidson's story was okay. Wasn't really what I expected. The plot was kind of bland but the characters were unique. Ireland already having a wired name was an interesting person. She's a human that "adopted" roommates like the Ezra, the vampire, is spunky to say at the least. Owen, the werewolf, is a charming wolf that makes you smile at how dog-like he is. Lent, the Violent Fairy is tall and brash and literally a tree banger. Judith, the woman stuck inside a car... and lastly the Zombie named Zelda/Willow. Then Micah came along and made her life a bit more difficult for her liking. I would rate this as a 2.5.

    Handeland's had more of a plot. In a Devil's Fork Dana needs to fight against a killer that doesn't leave any evidence behind expect for some voodoo dolls. With the Help of the mysterious Julian she takes a step into the world of magic. I would like to rate this as a 3.

    McCray's was the best out of all of them, it was simple but the most attention grabbing out of the four. Her characters are charming and so was the situation she puts them in. Sydney the move than average witch needs to protect the human world from Druid with Conlan the playboy fairy warrior. Rating is a 4.

    Lastly, Warren's was also a simple story and also interesting. Miranda was not that hard to love with her stubborn and perky personality, along with Michael smooth and suave ways. With a bit of magic they meet, and together they try to prevent a certain someone to steal a spot in the head council of the Others. The rate I would give this is a also a 3.

    So overall all the stories were unique with unique plots. Each authors had their weak and strong points in their story. Enjoyable and absolutely not a waste of time, I would recommend this to anyone that wants a simple story with a dispose of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    No Rest for the Witches

    I really enjoyed this paranormal romance anthology. Cheyenne McCray and Lori Handeland's novellas both were peppered with a little urban fantasy which I appreciated.

    Cheyenne McCray "Breath of Magic" I checked this anthology out of the library for this novella and I wasn't disappointed. This particular novella seems to pick up where Wicked Magic leaves off. Sydney, a D'Anu witch and Conlan, a Tuatha D'Danann warrior along with the rest of the D'Anu coven and warriors that came over from Otherworld, track down Darkwolf and Junga. Unfortunately they get more than they bargained for when Balor, the god of death shows up as well. A battle for Balor's powerful eye ensues. This story was well thought out, smoothly done and felt complete. There was a ton of action, magic, sex and mystery. This was by far my favorite story out of this anthology. 5/5

    Lori Handeland "Voodoo Moon" Special Agent Dana Duran has been sent to Devils Fork, Louisiana to investigate a unique serial killer. She meets Julian, a local voodoo shop owner, who opens her eyes to some of the dark secrets of voodoo. This story felt smooth and complete. There was a nice eerie and spooky feeling to it but at the same time there was a sense of predictability, however, the novella was interesting and enjoyable nonetheless. I am a sucker for stories that focus on voodoo and I commend Lori for going the non-traditional route and including a delightfully different supernatural story, unlike most fantasies today that pretty much stick to the European version of supernatural mythology. This story came in at a close second favorite. 5/5

    MaryJanice Davidson "The Majicka" This story was much ado about nothing. This story was a potpourri of supernatural beings. It felt like the author just threw a whole bunch of different supernaturals creatures together, with no interesting focus and called it a story. I didn't enjoy this story and probably won't read anything from this author in the future. 1/5

    Christine Warren "Any Witch Way She Can" This story was completely boring and couldn't keep my interest. The main character struck me as rather pathetic. This was my first time reading anything from this author and I probably won't read anything from her again in the future. 1/5

    All-in-all I think this anthology was a success. The anthology was even split between two fantastic novellas and two flops.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I really enjoyed MaryJanice Davidson's story in this anthology, and would love to see the characters again in their own book. Although it contained the same "we just met, now let's have sex" as most of her other books, the characters were funny and unique enough that I still liked it. <BR/><BR/>Lori Handeland's story was quite freaky, Cheyenne McCray's was sexy, and Christine Warren's was really enjoyable.<BR/><BR/>Overall, a quick way to spend an hour or two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2007

    Fun read

    I happen to be a big fan of all four authors. Love Christine Warren & MJD. Though I have been disappointed by MJD as of late, I found that this was her best in years!!! Original & laugh out loud funny. Lori Handleland & Cheyenne McCray were more formula. But that is typical for those two authors. Christine Warren has familiar characters. the story itself was original & enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great anth0logy

    'The Majicka' by MaryJanice Davidson. Micah seeking the next Majicka has come to Cannon Falls, Minnesota where he meets Ireland and her roommates (a vampire, a fairy, a werewolf, and a zombie always under foot) at the Shea family farm.----------------- 'Voodoo Moon¿ by Lori Handeland. FBI agent Dana ¿I¿m not Skully¿ Duran does not believe in magic yet the just the facts point to a serial killer practitioner. In Devil¿s Fork, she meets Sheriff Marcus Brody who asked Quantico to send him a Behavioral Analyst however, the paranormal is not her expertise.------------ 'Breath of Magic' by Cheyenne McCray. As the D'Anu witches and D'Danann warriors battle Darkwolf, Sydney and Conlan battle their feelings for one another.------------- 'Any Witch Way She Can' by Christine Warren. Miranda is the unthinkable, a human in a family of paranormal. However, Randy casts a love spell personal ad answered by Miranda.--------------- These are four enjoyable romantic fantasies with each tale unique. An added bonus is that Lori Handeland and Cheyenne McCray have provides tales within their respective mythos. NO REST FOR THE WITCHES is a fabulous anthology.------------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2