Customer Reviews for

No Safe Harbor (Edge of Freedom Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cara Hamilton arrives from Ireland at Ellis Island...she got hel

    Cara Hamilton arrives from Ireland at Ellis Island...she got help getting through customs from a kind man she met on her ship? As soon as she is through she begins searching the crowd and looking at all faces for her brother.
    She thought her brother Eoghan was dead, and when she receives a precious letter from him, she set off to America. He has told her to "trust no one!"
    The trust no one rings true throughout the story. No one really seems to be whom they present themselves as.
    We travel around late 1890's New York City, and danger seems to lurk everywhere! Things I never thought of...fire wood in NYC. There still was!
    As we go along with Cara looking for her brother, you will wonder if she will ever find him? If she does will he still be alive. Will the people she ends up trusting betray her?
    The answers are here in this historical mystery, reaching from Ireland to NY. Enjoy!

    I received this book from Litfuse Publicity Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    No Safe Harbor is the first book in Elizabeth Ludwig's newest se

    No Safe Harbor is the first book in Elizabeth Ludwig's newest series Edge of Freedom. Cara Hamilton sets out to find her twin brother who was believed to be dead. When she finds a letter from him, she leaves her home in Ireland and sets out to New York. Cara's brother warns her not to trust Rourke Walsh in his letter but Cara finds herself trusting him and telling him her reasons for being there. As Cara searches, others follow her with the intent to find her brother through her search.

    No Safe Harbor is the first book by Elizabeth Ludwig that I have had the pleasure of reading. As a HUGE fan of historical fiction I found myself drawn to this book. Set in 1897, Elizabeth Ludwig gives insight to what people coming from another country on boats endured; how easy it was for them to get in trouble because of not knowing English. Elizabeth Ludwig accurately depicts the conditions of life in that time for immigrants making the journey to America. This book has a little bit of everything: Suspense, action, romance, and history. Elizabeth brings to life a diverse and interesting cast of characters in this book. She also painted a vivid picture of the world and politics of 1897. The story grabbed a hold of me from the start, all the way to end. Leaving me wanting more! I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the rest of the books in this series. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Historical Christian Fiction, you won't be disappointed. I give this book 4 STARS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Try an Irish/american historical fiction

    Will look for other writings by this arthor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cara Hamilton arrives in New York City in 1897 in answer to a s

    Cara Hamilton arrives in New York City in 1897 in answer to a somewhat cryptic letter from her long lost brother. She was expecting him to find her and for them to begin a new life in America together but instead finds herself caught in a web of political intrigue and deep set grudges. A man shows up when she needs a friend most. Cara longs to trust him despite a warning from her brother to trust no one.

    "No Safe Harbor" by Elizabeth Ludwig is a fast paced read. I love a book that balances suspense with romance and history. This book did it perfectly. It also had strong but subtle messages of faith woven in. It was inspirational yet never came of as preachy. I plan on reading more books by this author as soon as I can!


    I received a free copy of this book to review from Bethany House publishing.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cara Hamilton braved the Atlantic crossing from Ireland for one

    Cara Hamilton braved the Atlantic crossing from Ireland for one purpose: To find her twin brother Eoghan. Her twin, who until a couple of short months ago, she thought was dead. With no parents or guardians to prevent her, she boarded the first ship to America she could find.

    The letter from Eoghan had contained a specific warning: Don't trust anyone and don't speak to anyone until he could tell her who to trust. But he didn't meet her at Ellis Island as she expected, and the sparkling blue eyes of the handsome man who took the seat next to her on the boat from Ellis Island to New York didn't seem to reflect any danger.

    Rourk "Walsh" hid his true identity close to his chest. This young woman was the sister of the man he swore to kill, the man who had killed Rourk's father. Rourk hoped she would lead him to her brother. He offered to escort her to the house where she hoped to find lodging.

    He just didn't count on falling in love with this pretty redhead.

    Elizabeth Ludwig has woven this story of intrigue and animosity into a love story well worth the read. Thank you so much, Elizabeth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a huge fan of general market historical suspense/mystery by

    I'm a huge fan of general market historical suspense/mystery by authors like Deanna Raybourn and Carol K. Carr and I'm so glad that Elizabeth Ludwig wrote this Christian historical novel so I can add her to my must-read suspense author list. I've read a bunch of contemporary suspense in the Christian fiction genre but I can't recall reading one with a historical setting in recent months. No Safe Harbor was a refreshing, detailed read that I really enjoyed. I'll admit to finding it a bit hard to get into (there were a lot of characters to keep straight) but as the chapters went the suspense kept building and I found myself unable to put the book down. The gritty streets and seedy docks of New York fairly leap off of the page. Add to it politics, gangs, and revenge and you get a pretty serious tale that just isn't a "fluffy" story of boy meeting girl and fighting for love but a story where they're also fighting for their lives. This really was an entertaining book with drama to the nth degree. Ms. Ludwig has definitely left the story open for a sequel or two as not everything was tied up in a nice bow. Hopefully the next book brings more answers as to just who a few of the key characters introduced in No Safe Harbor really are and just what they will do when they reach Ireland. I for one can't wait to read what happens next in Dark Road Home!




    Please stop by Elizabeth's website to browse the books and say hi!




     ~ My Rating: 4.5 stars ~ 




    *I received my free copy of this title from the author as an influencer. I would not have reviewed the book if I couldn't honestly say I enjoyed it.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    What a power-packed historical fiction of Ireland and NYC in 189

    What a power-packed historical fiction of Ireland and NYC in 1897! Political unrest, murder, and revenge transport the Turner family from Northern Ireland to America to order to find the snitch/alleged murderer of their father and a husband.

    Elizabeth Ludwig’s book, No Safe Harbor, is an intriguing story of inconsolable revenge festering from the shores of Ireland to the shores of America to find Eoghan Hamilton. The author keeps us hoping that Cara Hamilton finds her brother before he is compromised and killed. She’d been warned by her brother not to trust anyone in America, yet she falls for Rourke Walsh and puts her trust in him.

    Little does Cara know that Rourke wants her brother dead also to avenge his father’s death. His conniving ways puts him in a bad light for me most of the time, yet there’s a hint of his faith that keeps him cautious. He’s secretive and lies to Cara to get his hands on her brother, and Cara does likewise to protect her brother. Thus the dilemma that runs throughout the storyline. Both feel betrayed by the other. Yet their attraction is very palpable.

    Elizabeth does an excellent job of twisting the plots almost page by page to keep your head spinning. One page you’re ready to trust Rourke, and the next you can’t. Little do Cara and Rourke know there were more sinister activities going on outside the rim of their romantic yearnings.

    Elizabeth’s use of metaphors makes for vivid, picturesque descriptions that fit the scenarios to a ‘T.’ The Irish brogue adds to the realistic storyline, as well as the in-depth descriptions and inner thoughts of the characters. Without the luxury of electricity, walking at night was dangerous, even deadly. Add the explosive intermingling of the women at the boardinghouse at times, especially between Cara and Deidre, and the story is ripe for suspense and intrigue. We aren’t privy to the reason until close to the end of the story.

    It’s a story that demonstrates the ravages of man’s vengeance instead of forgiving and leaving vengeance to the Lord, and the host of other maladies that afflict man when politics tears Ireland apart and the skirmishes are brought to America. One realizes that life in a new country may not be any different if they don’t resolve the issues that caused them to leave the first country.

    This book was provided free by Amy Lathrop and Christen Krumm of the Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1