Customer Reviews for

No Second Chance

Average Rating 4.5
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best Friend to the Rescue, Old Flame to Assist

Dr. Marc Siedman is shot, and nearly murdered, his wife is murdered and his 6 month old daughter, Tara, is missing. Marc recovers from his physical wounds, but not the emotional one of losing his daughter. The police, unfortunately, like him for the murder, and think ...
Dr. Marc Siedman is shot, and nearly murdered, his wife is murdered and his 6 month old daughter, Tara, is missing. Marc recovers from his physical wounds, but not the emotional one of losing his daughter. The police, unfortunately, like him for the murder, and think he set the whole thing up. Lenny, Marc's best friend (from childhood), and bulldog lawyer comes to the rescue. Rachel, an old flame of Marc's winds up helping him follow the money. The author manages to mix in mental illness in an interesting light, the white slave trade and some of the factors which support it, he helps bust up the redneck stereotype, and helps us consider what a best friend will do and how it will affect us. Very well woven, and a big plus to this author. I've read other of his books, but not any of the ones in the recommend list (but I will very likely go buy and read them!)

posted by Mika_Starwalker on March 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Librarian

I was quiet disapointed with this one. I can ususally get right into his books. However, I couldn't seem to understand why it took up to chapter 34 before it got exciting. I also couldn't understand why the author felt it necessary to go into constant detail when des...
I was quiet disapointed with this one. I can ususally get right into his books. However, I couldn't seem to understand why it took up to chapter 34 before it got exciting. I also couldn't understand why the author felt it necessary to go into constant detail when describing something that really had nothing to do with the story.

posted by Anonymous on September 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Best Friend to the Rescue, Old Flame to Assist

    Dr. Marc Siedman is shot, and nearly murdered, his wife is murdered and his 6 month old daughter, Tara, is missing. Marc recovers from his physical wounds, but not the emotional one of losing his daughter. The police, unfortunately, like him for the murder, and think he set the whole thing up. Lenny, Marc's best friend (from childhood), and bulldog lawyer comes to the rescue. Rachel, an old flame of Marc's winds up helping him follow the money. The author manages to mix in mental illness in an interesting light, the white slave trade and some of the factors which support it, he helps bust up the redneck stereotype, and helps us consider what a best friend will do and how it will affect us. Very well woven, and a big plus to this author. I've read other of his books, but not any of the ones in the recommend list (but I will very likely go buy and read them!)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Loved it!

    Stayed up all night to finish this book! I just couldn't put it down. Lots of twists and turns. This is my first book by Harlan Coben and I am excited to read more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Beach Read

    Great book to enjoy on the beach or by the pool

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Clever...A good Read

    Read during breaks at work, and since I use public transportation, takes your mind off the long ride home.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    "Always a great read!"

    I always enjoy this author...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended for a rainy day.

    This book was a little too long; but, I had to read it all to see the results of all that detail!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    one of the bestest!

    this is the fifth book in the Myron Bolitar series. This book draws the reader very close to Myron at a level not usually seen in most books. For those unfamiliar with Bolitar, he runs MB SportsRep. But his journey to this point, after his budding basketball career was abruptly ended due to a serious on-court injury, gives Myron a dimension far beyond the typical sports agent. The book is fast-paced with Myron and Win, his quirky and lethal partner, encountering all manner of sleazy people and people with something to hide. Brenda Slaughter, the girl that the new WPBA basketball league is featuring, should be on top of the world. However her father has gone missing after she filed assault charges against him, not to mention the fact that her long-lost mother of twenty years has been on her mind all of that time. Myron becomes Brenda's sports agent in order to protect the leagues investment. But the assignment gets more complicated and riskier by the day.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    A good read

    Harlan Coben has written many good books. This is just one of them, and this one is a good one.

    The main character awakens with all kinds of problems, the main one that his wife has been killed and his six-month old daughter has been kidnapped.

    The book takes you through twists and turns of plots that are intersting and keep you turning the pages.

    The end was a surprise to me.

    A good read.

    J. Robert Ewbank author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeps you on the edge of your seat!

    This was my second Harlan Coben novel. The first one was The Woods, which I enjoyed very much. No Second Chance is a little "busier" then The Woods. There are a lot of people to keep track of & quite a lot of twist & turns. This, however, makes for a very exciting story. There are a few spots that are too unbelievable to ignore, and this is the only reason I gave it 4 stars rather then 5. The characters are all likeable, the plot is interesting, very little if anything is predictable and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Overall, this is a great book & perfect for a summer beach read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Captivating story

    This is the 2nd Coben book that I have read and I was not disappointed. I enjoyed the writing style very much and immediately passed the book on with my recommendation to another reader.<BR/><BR/>Interesting story, unexpected conclusion and believable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great mystery/thiller

    This is the first Harlan Coben book I've ever read. I've read most of his other books because I enjoyed this one so much. <BR/><BR/>There are many twists along the way which will make it hard to put the book down once you start. <BR/><BR/>If you enjoy a good thriller, give this book a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Good Thriller!

    This is an excellent thriller that had me drawn in from the start. It has an opening that sure hits the mark. Marc Seidman is shot and left for dead. Several days later he wakes up in a hospital and finds that his wife was murdered and his baby daughter is missing. The book is one where Marc and an old-FBI girlfriend (Rachel) try to search for clues and are always several steps behind the bad guys. The author does a good job of keeping the reader guessing along with Marc and Rachel. There are some parallels in the book to some recent current events involving babies and child star actors gone bad. What prevented me from giving it a full five stars is that some of the resolutions at the end were a little ridiculous. Still all in all a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Well worth it

    This book starts out well - very interesting with good solid characters. It grips you from the get-go. This was my third Coben book, and I really enjoyed it. The twists and turns were awesome, but I did think one of those twists, was a little bit weak (the reason for the 4 stars).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    It's truly a bargain

    I got it from the bargain books section, and I finished this novel within a week. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves suspense and mystery stories, but do not expect the twists will be a roller coaster one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    A Real Page-Turner!

    A very good book by a very good author. I think this is my fifth Coban book and I've enjoyed all of them tremendously. I look forward to the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2005

    keeps you guessing

    I read this book in 24 hours! Fantastic book! Couldn't put it down! I think the plot line was very original. The only thing that keep me from giving it a five was the fact that the author did go into details that didn't didn't have to do with the outcome. I suppose that also added an element of suspense, you don't know if it has to do with the plot. Keeps you guessing all the way to the last chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    Captivating but confusing....

    This book really hopped and was a good read. Just a little confusing tieing in all the characters and there connections. I would read another Coben book and that says a lot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Read the entire book in 2 1/2 days!

    You've probably heard 'couldn't put it down' or 'true page turner' hundreds of times. I know I certainly have. Unfortunately, these cliches are fitting to say the least. I ready this entire book in 2 1/2 days of commuting to work and staying up far too late at night to finish chapter after chapter. Great suspense and intrigue are plentiful throughout the entire read. There was very little downtime if any.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3