Customer Reviews for

No Story To Tell

Average Rating 3.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Well Written!!

I truly enjoyed this book! The characters come to life on the page, and it kept me guessing to the very end. I must say, I would not normally choose a book about a "dancer", but Victoria is so much more, don't let that throw you off. It has everything to do with the cha...
I truly enjoyed this book! The characters come to life on the page, and it kept me guessing to the very end. I must say, I would not normally choose a book about a "dancer", but Victoria is so much more, don't let that throw you off. It has everything to do with the characters and their interactions (however dysfunctional), and they are all so well developed and described you won't want to stop reading. Definitely take a chance on KJ Steele, you won't be dissapointed. Cant wait for her next book!

posted by TammieTJ on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A sad story to tell

While the writing and the characters are crafted very well, the story was almost too depressing for me. This is a meloncholy tale about one woman and her fear to change what life has given her. Victoria leads a sad life, and the author brilliantly illustrated just how...
While the writing and the characters are crafted very well, the story was almost too depressing for me. This is a meloncholy tale about one woman and her fear to change what life has given her. Victoria leads a sad life, and the author brilliantly illustrated just how harsh her life has been. The writing is very well done, I just thought this story was too gloomy and the small glimmer of hope we receieve just wasn't enough to wash out out the dismal taste this book left in my mouth. I'd rather not pay to be bummed out, and this book definitely bummed me out.

posted by jenmurph21 on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Well Written!!

    I truly enjoyed this book! The characters come to life on the page, and it kept me guessing to the very end. I must say, I would not normally choose a book about a "dancer", but Victoria is so much more, don't let that throw you off. It has everything to do with the characters and their interactions (however dysfunctional), and they are all so well developed and described you won't want to stop reading. Definitely take a chance on KJ Steele, you won't be dissapointed. Cant wait for her next book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recreate Your World!

    Victoria Lackey is a fighting survivor, beginning on the day of her birthday when her twin died and she lived. Her family weren't too thrilled with her and wished her brother had lived. One doesn't need too much of an imagination to know how she grew up; her abusive father and cowering mother die young, followed by an Aunt; and Victoria falls where she will. It's amazing as we progress and meet Bobby her husband who treats her more like a child and possession than a wife. Then we meet her friend, Rose, who seems to be the only one who is sensitive to Victoria's inner world - a world no one in this small town of Hinkley really knows about - oh what a surprise is waiting to burst out of its shell!

    Then we meet Elliot Spencer, the man who thinks and feels so widely that he speaks to Victoria's dreams in a way that mirrors so much within any reader's life as well. For Victoria wanted to be a dancer but the people around her, except for her mother who once fought for her to be in a dance recital, thwart her every attempt. Now she decides to give in to the fancy to start a dance school. Where will it go?

    How will Bobby react to his new woman who most of the time reacts with fear and submission to him, while he in turn demeans and commands her. What choices does she have. The plot evolves with some strange phone calls and messages that Victoria believes are coming from Elliot and which encourage her more. Again, what a surprise is coming that will shock readers to the core!

    One can dream about the "road not taken," but Victoria is a well-developed character who begins to observe her world and dream about possibilities, something almost every reader can relate to in some way.

    No Story To Tell is about recreating one's world - something to tell one's self more than other dreamers and idlers! Fascinating read, Ms. Steele!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    A NEW FAN CREATED

    I have never been a fan of much fiction and have gravited to non fiction books for my reading.

    I heard of the author's book through Facebook and tried it after my wife purchased it.

    I must say that I am very captivated by the writer's style and advanced ability to craft a great story. I will definitely be purchasing her future books (I hope).

    The story has many amazing and real characters - many of whom I felt I actually knew from my own life events.

    This is a definite read..........and this comes from a fiction agnostic.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A sad story to tell

    While the writing and the characters are crafted very well, the story was almost too depressing for me. This is a meloncholy tale about one woman and her fear to change what life has given her. Victoria leads a sad life, and the author brilliantly illustrated just how harsh her life has been. The writing is very well done, I just thought this story was too gloomy and the small glimmer of hope we receieve just wasn't enough to wash out out the dismal taste this book left in my mouth. I'd rather not pay to be bummed out, and this book definitely bummed me out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Surprising twists ! One to be read!

    Definitely a book to throw into the beach bag or to cuddle up by the fire with. Interesting characters plus a small town, mix them together and an engaging story is born. Twists and turns through out make the pages flip and easily engrosses the reader to continue. Absolutely a recommended read.... then join me as we wait for the next novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    A great read ..

    From the opening paragraph, I was drawn into Victoria's world. It's been a long time since I've read a book from cover to cover in one sitting. This was the one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Read it

    I would recommend this. The characters were interesting, a bit twisted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Depressing read

    I was impressed with the way the author brought you into the lives of the small town characters. However for me, I did not like the story...was about the realities of living with bad choices made by the main character...sad. So glad I didn't pay for this book. Why pay to get brought down?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Captivating

    This novel showed me a powerful way to say "sorry, not interested" to fate.

    Thank you so much for this succulent read. It's words pulled me in to an experience that was exciting, and strangely familiar.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Meet some unforgettable characters

    If you like a book with a good mix of characters who have personalities that can rouse your emotions ,you will love this book. K J Steele draws her readers right into the lives of the folks living in this small town of Hinkley. The story winds around Victoria who has a dream of becoming a dancer but is blocked by her own personality and also that of her husband. K J Steele writes with a sureness and sensitivity and I look forward to reading her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    A Very Enjoyable Read

    I recently finished reading "No Story to Tell" and have to say I loved it. Great character development through out made for a very enjoyable read. The small town characters from Hinckly reminded me of the "characters" from the small town I grew up in. A very impressive novel from a first time author. Looking forward to seeing how her next story unfolds. I definately recommend adding "No Story to Tell" to your list of great books to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Compelling Characters - Excellent read

    I was drawn into this novel and its characters very quickly - I found the world painted by KJ Steele fascinating. She has a real ear for dialogue and her characters were authentic and compelling. I was emotionally engaged with the story and highly recommend this novel. It's great to see such a talented new Canadian author...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Couldn't put it down...!

    As I started to read this book, it pulled me in...and I was trapped, completely captured in the story that unraveled as I turned the pages...
    K.J. Steele, certainly had my attention, as she is sure to do for anyone that picks up this book. Her writing will carry you through the pages and freeze time....leaving you wanting more. "No Story to Tell", is one story that will have you mesmorized....it needed to be told.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Good!

    I enjoyed this book. It was kind of different with some really odd characters/people in it. It had a very good story line. It could have been anyones story, who came from a town of everybody knows everybody & everybody is in everybodys business. Loved the ending especially, just seemed like it was a long time coming.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Awful

    A story populated mostly by terrible characters -- unsympathetic lowlifes. Only Victoria and Elliot seemed like real people whom you could care about. The rest were people you pray you would never run into in your life. I just wanted the story to end. I would never read anything else by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!!

    Wonderful book. Great read... Highly Recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    Great book, easy read and wonderful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Highly recommended

    If you enjoy a story that truly makes you feel compassion for the heroine and you enjoy many twists and turns of the plot, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Crummy ending

    Crummy ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Very boring! Could not wait to finish.......

    Very boring! Could not wait to finish.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2