Customer Reviews for

No Such Thing As A Free Ride

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Hello, Brandy Alexander!

    I've missed you - and you will too when you're finished with this 4th book. Brandy's doing what she does best once again-giving a voice to those who can't defend themselves while risking her own life and heart. So, darlin', if you haven't read this one, what are you waiting on? If you haven't read any of them, please do read in order, No Such Thing as a Secret, then NSTA A Good Blind Date, No Such Thing as A Free Lunch, NSTA A Free Ride, and the work in progress right now, NSTA A Lost Cause.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Read and then read again

    Love it , can't wait for the next one. Real characters, humor, real issue. Read all her books available on nook. She is now one of my favorite authors.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    I just love this series. The first was sent as a "Lend Me&

    I just love this series. The first was sent as a "Lend Me" and I bought the rest of the series as soon as I was done. Good fun reading with enough substance to keep you going. Grab a handful of Hershey's chocolate kisses and a glass of wine and sit down and enjoy. Read her books in order and when you get to this book, you will all ready be in love (lust for some) with all the characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    BUY THIS SERIES!!!

    Seriously, just do yourself a favor and buy the whole series at once. Worth it, worth it, worth it! I ADORE this series! The main character Brandy is so easy to root for! I am going to stand on my roof top and shout this series praises! If you like comedy, mystery, romance and witty dialogue you will love these books! My only complaint is I have no idea when the next book will be available! I had tried to buy the first book at my B&N and as told it was no longer in print or some such nonsense, and would have to have it ordered..a.k.a spend more money. At first i hesitated, I wasn't sure if I was willing to spend more than the usual amount on books I hadn't tried. But trust me when I say they are worth it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Get Enough of this Series!!!

    Puff-piece Reporter, Brandy Alexander does it again! Once more Philadelphia is shaken upside down as she gets herself in deep with everything a good chick mystery book is about.
    Each book stands well on its own, but you'll still want to buy the entire series, oh, and a box of chocolate to go with it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!

    I didn't think it was possible for this series to get any better but Shelly Fredman out did herself on this one. Brandy has grown so much in this book, you will laugh, cry and wish you were her!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    The best of a great series

    A hilarious, exciting, and tender story with an irreverent, tough, tender, loyal, and mostly intelligent main character. I love Brandi and of course her sexy beyond belief guys. In most books like this the characters get in ridiculous predicaments for no reason. While Brandi does put herself in some tough spots the action fits with the story and her character. I have been impressed with that fact that she learn from her mistakes. I was surprised at how much I love the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just when you didn't think it could get any better....it does!!!

    This time last year, I was introduced to Shelly's Brandy Alexander series. It was highly recommended but I only ordered No Such Thing As A Secret incase I didn't like it. Before I finished the first chapter, I wanted to kick myself in the butt for not getting Blind Date and Free Lunch. I immediately ordered them and was sorry I had to wait. I almost attacked the mailman when they finally came because he didn't hand me my package quick enough. Then, I almost had a stroke when I learned that there was not a 4th book yet. I had to learn more so I went to Shelly's website and found out a 4th was n the works. The wait was long, but it was sooooo worth it.

    I'm not the best at summaries and don't like to give away the whole story in my reviews, but Shelly outdid herself with this one. Brandy finds herself in the middle of the harsh world of runaway street kids. And even with the seriousness of the topic, there are still plenty of laughs to be had. Brandy has a knack of getting herself in over her head, but don't worry. Nick and Bobby are behind her all the way. We also get to learn more about Nick's background and childhood. Franny has the baby. But most of all, Brandy learns to stand on her own two feet and go after what she wants. Just like the first 3, I could NOT put this down. Unfortunately, there aren't that many books out there anymore that I can say that about, but this book is like a drug, and you will want more.

    If you are looking for a great read that is fun and exciting....this is the series for you. You will NOT be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OMG- It REALLY doesn't get any better than this!

    I just had the absolute thrill of reading Shelly Fredman's fourth book in her Brandy Alexander Mystery Series, No Such Thing as a Free Ride.

    Fantastic! This book earned every one of the five stars I rated it.

    What a great storyline. Shelly's characters are so alive in this book. Having been a fan of Shelly Fredman's Brandy Alexander mystery series, getting hooked from the first book, each book has gotten better and better.

    Too many times a series tends to get old or filled with repeats or simply tweaked plots, this series has real growth of the characters in the series.

    I loved Brandy in this fourth book. Heck, I have loved her from the first book and it is such a pleasure to be a part of a character's everyday life and see how she has grown and matured without losing that special uniqueness that is Brandy.

    The social topic covered by this book was very well done and I hope will bring attention to a serious social problem in today's society - homeless teenagers.

    Despite the seriousness of the topic, this book was filled with Fredman's unique brand of one liner's and all that is simply who Brandy is. All my favorites are well showcased. Lot's of Alphonso, Franny has her baby - Yippee - and plenty of wonderful Bobby and Nick time.

    Too many times a series becomes stale and disappointing. Not so with this series. Kudos to author Shelly Fredman for giving this avid reader a great book. My screen name says it all. Happiness IS reading - reading a really good book.

    I hated to see it end. This fourth book in the series had me unable to put it down and very sad when I reached the last page.

    Believe me -NOT because of the ending - ONLY because I had no more pages to read. THAT feeling is truly what a good book is about. This is a VERY GOOD book. The best so far. Hopefully, author Shelly Fredman will be giving us another Brandy Alexander mystery to look forward to.

    WHAT A BOOK! WHAT AN ENDING! Enough said....Mum's the word, which means I won't give anything away.

    As the first person to review, I am trying very hard not to divulge anything to spoil anyone's reading pleasure of this great book - but I can only hope to read more reviews of this book.

    Free Ride is a keeper to read over and over again. Shelly Fredman is also a keeper on my list of favorite authors of must read books. Fantastic book, Ms. Fredman and my congratulations on a job VERY WELL done.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    I will keep reading these books over and over again. 

    I will keep reading these books over and over again. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    LOVE this series, please hurry with the next one, I'm on the edg

    LOVE this series, please hurry with the next one, I'm on the edge!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Brandy Does It Again!

    I have enjpyed this series. Although they are similar to J. D. Nixon Heller bpoks, still fun to read. Looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Fantastic book/series

    I loved reading this book. I dont like giving away things with spollers....so read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Light chick lit

    Entertaining easy read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1