Customer Reviews for

No Talking

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Students and adults alike could learn from this book!

"No Talking" by Andrew Clements is a great book for elementary aged students...and their teachers! The book is written in a way that makes it easy for students to read and follow the story, containing a lot of humor and dialogue as well as some well-done, but not distra...
"No Talking" by Andrew Clements is a great book for elementary aged students...and their teachers! The book is written in a way that makes it easy for students to read and follow the story, containing a lot of humor and dialogue as well as some well-done, but not distracting, illustrations. So what is the book about? Basically, Dave Packer and all his fifth grade classmates make up the "unshushables", a group so talkative no teacher can quiet them for an entire class period. But, when Dave learns about Gandhi and the days of silence he took to clear his mind, he comes up with the idea to try it himself...but he just can't stand Lynsey Burgess and all her blabbermouth friends with all their talking about silly things one day at lunch. In this moment, a grand challenge begins, one that involves the entire fifth grade class, one that captivates all the teachers, frustrates the principal, and teaches everyone an amazing lesson about communication and collaboration.

I would definitely recommend this book for students, for teachers, and for anyone who has a noisy child or works in a noisy school. "No Talking" is filled with lessons for all. It is easy to relate to and very hard to put down. It's boys versus girls, teachers versus students, and the principal against a force even she can't overcome with an explosive ending (brought to you by Dave) and a great lesson that all of us should stop and think about.

Five stars from me!

posted by Innasense on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Iread this book twise.

I read this book twise.

posted by 17420255 on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Students and adults alike could learn from this book!

    "No Talking" by Andrew Clements is a great book for elementary aged students...and their teachers! The book is written in a way that makes it easy for students to read and follow the story, containing a lot of humor and dialogue as well as some well-done, but not distracting, illustrations. So what is the book about? Basically, Dave Packer and all his fifth grade classmates make up the "unshushables", a group so talkative no teacher can quiet them for an entire class period. But, when Dave learns about Gandhi and the days of silence he took to clear his mind, he comes up with the idea to try it himself...but he just can't stand Lynsey Burgess and all her blabbermouth friends with all their talking about silly things one day at lunch. In this moment, a grand challenge begins, one that involves the entire fifth grade class, one that captivates all the teachers, frustrates the principal, and teaches everyone an amazing lesson about communication and collaboration.

    I would definitely recommend this book for students, for teachers, and for anyone who has a noisy child or works in a noisy school. "No Talking" is filled with lessons for all. It is easy to relate to and very hard to put down. It's boys versus girls, teachers versus students, and the principal against a force even she can't overcome with an explosive ending (brought to you by Dave) and a great lesson that all of us should stop and think about.

    Five stars from me!

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    vary good

    It is really funny and I just wanted to keep reading it.It is a book that everybody could read. It is just a down to earth book.It is one of my favorite books I have ever read.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Loved It!

    I read this book.I think 5th graders would love this book.
    In No Talking,it 's boys against girl.It has a twist in it to.Dave Packer came up with the idea.Here is one rule,if a teacher asks you a question you can only say 3 words per question that,is asked.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Luv it!!!!!!

    ••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
    Its a really really good book.
    Check out other books from this author, they are really good too.
    ••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    No Talking a Good Read

    Andrew Clements does a great job again with his book No Talking. The book is well-written in a style that is perfect for the average 5th grade reader. The plot and conflict fall right in line with things a typical 5th grader might experience at school and make it very easy for student readers to make connections. The book also includes a great lesson-it would make a great read for teachers with very talkative classrooms! This is also an important reminder for adult readers (especially teachers and administrators) that we are, as adults, fallible and make mistakes. We have to be willing to swallow our pride as well and remember that it's all about the kids and setting good examples. <BR/>This book is a fabulous addition to any child's home library or any teacher's classroom library!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Smoke to proof

    The hell you talking bout?

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    SHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No talking

    A contest between a boy and a girl. It is a good book. Can the boy and girl keep up the contest for one week?? Buy the book to find out.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great book

    A Fifth Grader that loves books
    The book "No Talking" is a very eventful book. It is about a boy named Dave and a girl named Lynsey. They make a bet on who can talk less boys or girls. If you speak that gender gets a point and whoever has the most points in the end loses. Personally this is a very good book and I really enjoyed it. There are many humorous thoughts when the smart teacher asks Dave a question and he can't answer or the boys got a point. Soon in "No Talking" people start to figure something is going wrong and they try to stop it. But does the game go on?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    No Talking

    Andrew Clements definitely knows children. Many a teacher wish that they could get their students to be quiet for 5 minutes much less a whole day. Well written, Mr. Clements!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Amazing book

    Awesome revenge!
    Boys vs girls rule!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No Talking

    I thought that Andrew Clements did a great job with this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Read this book!

    This is an awesome book. You should get it. It is about some kids who start not talking in school. They can only say 3 words when a teacher talkes to them. The teachers don't like it at furst,...........

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Andrew clements

    Not to say Clemets is a bad writer, infact I have read multiple books of his and greatly enjoyed them, but he lacks something in each of his books that put me back aways. Each time I read one of his books, I get a couple chapters in and I atomaticly know exactly what the book is going to be about and what is going to happen towards the end of the book and what is going to happen before that and how it is going to happen. Not exactly predictable, alright, predictable. I just get bored when I know what is going down. Of course, I am a writer myself and you might not notice this. By all means, this is a great book thou I refuse to recommend this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    No talking

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    LOV IT. BST BOOK EVR

    I love this book because it is fun but also educational. It teaches kids how you can comuinicate without talking. I think that every person should read this very awesome book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Great book

    Awesome and funny!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Funny and spelling perfect

    I thought the book was wonderful the spelling was great but the poncuation was WAY off from it's sopost to be

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    A Great Read!

    I liked this book because it was fresh and the characters were realistic and well-developed. However unrealistic the circumstance was, it perfectly captured the voice of fifth grade boys and girls, as well as their opinions about themselves and eachother. This book is my top
    Andrew Clements book. If you liked No Talking, be sure to check out Frindle, another wonderfully written Andrew Clements book.
    Happy Reading,
    Abby

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Awesome

    I loved this book. It's about boys and girls competing to see who talks more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7