Customer Reviews for

No Talking

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Students and adults alike could learn from this book!

"No Talking" by Andrew Clements is a great book for elementary aged students...and their teachers! The book is written in a way that makes it easy for students to read and follow the story, containing a lot of humor and dialogue as well as some well-done, but not distra...
"No Talking" by Andrew Clements is a great book for elementary aged students...and their teachers! The book is written in a way that makes it easy for students to read and follow the story, containing a lot of humor and dialogue as well as some well-done, but not distracting, illustrations. So what is the book about? Basically, Dave Packer and all his fifth grade classmates make up the "unshushables", a group so talkative no teacher can quiet them for an entire class period. But, when Dave learns about Gandhi and the days of silence he took to clear his mind, he comes up with the idea to try it himself...but he just can't stand Lynsey Burgess and all her blabbermouth friends with all their talking about silly things one day at lunch. In this moment, a grand challenge begins, one that involves the entire fifth grade class, one that captivates all the teachers, frustrates the principal, and teaches everyone an amazing lesson about communication and collaboration.

I would definitely recommend this book for students, for teachers, and for anyone who has a noisy child or works in a noisy school. "No Talking" is filled with lessons for all. It is easy to relate to and very hard to put down. It's boys versus girls, teachers versus students, and the principal against a force even she can't overcome with an explosive ending (brought to you by Dave) and a great lesson that all of us should stop and think about.

Five stars from me!

posted by Innasense on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Iread this book twise.

I read this book twise.

posted by 17420255 on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Iread this book twise.

    I read this book twise.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Amazing

    I love this book so much it is a book about laketon elementray schools dave packeton tries not to talk for a day and he is the most chattiest kid in the 5th grade

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Anonmyous May 25,2012

    This was a great book. I paid rapt attention while I was reading. I had actually always wondered what would happen if students decided to go agains teachers. Here they do something similar. I assure you children of all ages will love this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Good book

    I liked this book alot. ( this would never be POSSIBLE at my school :)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    This book is awsomme

    It is very interesting

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    wow!

    At first no talking seemed like a childish book that i would hate. but after reading i couldnt help but loving it! It relates to something we have all been through....A battle of the sexes! the boys think the girls talk too much, the girls think the boys talk to much. soon the contest comes alive! they stop talking for a couple weeks.this 5th grade class is the loudest in history when they stop talking the princapal becomes suspesis

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Read ME

    Im makenzi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Lol

    Love this book it is AMAZING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Add me

    I am new and need some friends if u know me my name is madison goleman and i go to huntington inermidante school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Cool

    Really funny!!!#

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Loved it

    I realky like it because ut is a fright about boyies on a team and girls on a team and they can not talk at all not in school or home no where they talk by writeing down this but they can only say three words which is really hard even for me and i am the most quites girl in my famliy.if u do not know if u should get it u should really get it brcause it is funny and it makes u think for a min hope u get and then give it five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Broken

    Ehat's the plan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Killer

    Thx

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Micheif

    Poof. The thing i posted gone

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    AWESOME!!!

    My classmate read this for an interpretive speech and it was amazing. My friend Lana also recommended this book so I am reading it right now:) - Holly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Cool

    Coolbwdbeyi

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Boo no talking

    This book sucks u should not read it

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Best bok Best book ever

    No talking is a very good book i wish it was only well free if it was i would read it and finish it every like i said best book ever i recomend it to everyone enjoy if you get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!...gt this book you wil not regret it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    SUCH A GOOD BOOK

    I loved this book !!!!!!!!!!!!!! This book is cor ages 10 and up and im 12 and i loved it. If u want a book that will keep u wanting to read. SO READ IT !!!!!! PLEEEEEASE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7