Customer Reviews for

No Talking

Average Rating 4.5
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Students and adults alike could learn from this book!

"No Talking" by Andrew Clements is a great book for elementary aged students...and their teachers! The book is written in a way that makes it easy for students to read and follow the story, containing a lot of humor and dialogue as well as some well-done, but not distra...
"No Talking" by Andrew Clements is a great book for elementary aged students...and their teachers! The book is written in a way that makes it easy for students to read and follow the story, containing a lot of humor and dialogue as well as some well-done, but not distracting, illustrations. So what is the book about? Basically, Dave Packer and all his fifth grade classmates make up the "unshushables", a group so talkative no teacher can quiet them for an entire class period. But, when Dave learns about Gandhi and the days of silence he took to clear his mind, he comes up with the idea to try it himself...but he just can't stand Lynsey Burgess and all her blabbermouth friends with all their talking about silly things one day at lunch. In this moment, a grand challenge begins, one that involves the entire fifth grade class, one that captivates all the teachers, frustrates the principal, and teaches everyone an amazing lesson about communication and collaboration.

I would definitely recommend this book for students, for teachers, and for anyone who has a noisy child or works in a noisy school. "No Talking" is filled with lessons for all. It is easy to relate to and very hard to put down. It's boys versus girls, teachers versus students, and the principal against a force even she can't overcome with an explosive ending (brought to you by Dave) and a great lesson that all of us should stop and think about.

Five stars from me!

posted by Innasense on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Iread this book twise.

I read this book twise.

posted by 17420255 on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2015

    Great book

    Great book totally recomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2014

    Look here

    Were reading this book in class and its really good i love it so far my teacher said last year sje cried at the end and her class tried the chAllang but thy talked so much they couldent keep score so they didnt do it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Read ME

    Im makenzi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Lol

    Love this book it is AMAZING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Add me

    I am new and need some friends if u know me my name is madison goleman and i go to huntington inermidante school

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Cool

    Really funny!!!#

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Loved it

    I realky like it because ut is a fright about boyies on a team and girls on a team and they can not talk at all not in school or home no where they talk by writeing down this but they can only say three words which is really hard even for me and i am the most quites girl in my famliy.if u do not know if u should get it u should really get it brcause it is funny and it makes u think for a min hope u get and then give it five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Broken

    Ehat's the plan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Killer

    Thx

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    AWESOME!!!

    My classmate read this for an interpretive speech and it was amazing. My friend Lana also recommended this book so I am reading it right now:) - Holly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Best bok Best book ever

    No talking is a very good book i wish it was only well free if it was i would read it and finish it every like i said best book ever i recomend it to everyone enjoy if you get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!...gt this book you wil not regret it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    SUCH A GOOD BOOK

    I loved this book !!!!!!!!!!!!!! This book is cor ages 10 and up and im 12 and i loved it. If u want a book that will keep u wanting to read. SO READ IT !!!!!! PLEEEEEASE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Dragonboy01





























    COOL!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Plz read this comment!

    I dont want to be sexus or anything, but its scientifficaly proven that girls talk more then guys because guys just bottle things up and girls fell better after they talk. So ya. Really good book and i think that everyone shouls rread it. Or else i will eat u.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Goooooooooooooood

    So far gooooooooooooooood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    So far

    So far it is a great book and the principal is just the exact oppisite of mine because mine sang a song with an artist the kind that makes songs and he lets us scream at Sunrise river school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    THE BEST EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Th best! When Lisndey and Dave see each other they scream. That is not good because they have to do a social studys progegt together. While they were doing that Dave learned about a guy named Ghandi. He did not talk a lot so he could focuse more. So he tried that on the day that they were doing the project it turned out horrible! Then during lunch it was way harder. So he was listening to that sharp cunning Lisndey and Dave had a outrage. He screamed at the top of his lungs, "I bet if you stop talking for 5 minutes your head will explode!" So they started a contest for no talking for 2 and a half day. Girls against boys. Will they get b usted from the teachers? Mire importantly, will their nickname the unshushables still live in that contest? Most importantly, which team will win, girl or boys?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Hey!!!

    Hey! It is Jadelyn KG and I love this book! I think it is an awesome story! It is about two of different sex/genre battling againist each other, debating WHICH SEX/GENRE talks MORE, I think that it is a fantasic story, I love it and I hope whoever reads it likes it too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Great book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Great book! It is both funny and entertaining. I defently recimend this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    G

    G

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6