BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

No, They Can't: Why Government Fails-But Individuals Succeed

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Great book

    Loved it. Introduced hundreds of great points i had never considered before.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    For every liberty-loving American!

    Great book! It is written in a style similar to his reporting. Very easy to read and makes a lot of sense. Great work, John!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended- Read it now!!

    I found the book to be a very easy read. The author, John Stossel, presented the material in an easy-to-understand fashion. He had his thoughts divided into chapters in a very thoughtful manner.

    I learned much from reading this book. I recommend it to those interested in learning how our government is, or is NOT, running, I did
    not know how much our liberties had been stifled until I read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Great Read, Makes you Think

    This is a really good book to make you think about what government does and doesn't do well. Sadly much isn't done well and John gives lots of facts in an easy to read format.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    John Stossell is a genius.

    John Stossell is a genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    A masterpiece, good writing.

    A masterpiece, good writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Turn your mindset of American society upside down. Great book, y

    Turn your mindset of American society upside down. Great book, yes it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Incredible ideas, information on how to succeed, get USA moving

    Incredible ideas, information on how to succeed, get USA moving in positive direction.

    John Stossell for President in 2016 (I wish), his ideas are incredible, time-tested to work, very informative. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Made me look at every aspect of American society in a fresh pers

    Made me look at every aspect of American society in a fresh perspective, this book is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    #1 book on market today! Well written, very insightful, packed

    #1 book on market today! Well written, very insightful, packed full of useful wisdom to apply in daily life.

    Incredibly insightful, packed full excellent writting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Great read!!

    This explans everything that we conservatives now support

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Good Read--Let's you know what is happening today!

    I really enjoyed this book so much. It makes one stop and think about what is happening, and some of the ways of fixing the problems. We really have to cut spending. If you get something for nothing, someone is paying. You can only print so much paper money. If we don't learn to control ourselves in this country soon, we are going to end up like Greece! It's scary!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    A must read for anyone wanting to save our Republic.

    I have read all of John Stossel's recent books. This is absolutely the best. Very well written and much easier reading than most non-fiction. He covers all of the issues of the day and shows how the left, instead of fixing our countries ills, are making it worse, to the point that continuing on the present track will destroy our Republic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Awesome!

    Fantastic! Inspirational! (I recommend!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    It is seldom I find a book that tells a story so straight forwar

    It is seldom I find a book that tells a story so straight forward. I don't agree with everything John believes. So far I haven't found anything in the book that is not 100% accurate. Regardless having worked in a government job, I know that the book gives an accurate view of what you can expect of government services. There are many things the politicians are selling us that the government can either not do or do efficiently. The restraint on the employee result in the employee working for harder to produce for less. The more government enters your life the worst you fair. I would recommend this book to every one as a way to realign your prospective of what government can do and what it can't do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    every freedom loving american should read this book

    John comes at you with his libertarian point of view. However, every american should be concerned with our governments power to take away our basic freedoms through over regulation and over spending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Great book

    I've always enjoyed Stossel and this new book did not disappoint me. I may not agree with everything he points out in his book, but it is thought provoking. I think every member of Congress should be forced to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Highly recommended.

    Great book. While I don't agree with all John's ideas, it was refreshing to read them. One error . . . John states minimum wage in Richmond, CA is $ 16.00 an hour. I live in Richmond and this is just not true. Must be a typo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2