Customer Reviews for

No Way Back: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A serious thriller!

I am already a pretty big Andy Gross fan & have really enjoyed reading him from back in his "Patterson/co-auth." days. This man is TALENTED!

I found this novel absolutely RIVETING! I could not stop reading...I fell asleep w/my Nook on even...lol. What a realistic, t...
I am already a pretty big Andy Gross fan & have really enjoyed reading him from back in his "Patterson/co-auth." days. This man is TALENTED!

I found this novel absolutely RIVETING! I could not stop reading...I fell asleep w/my Nook on even...lol. What a realistic, thrilling, heart pounding page turner!

If you're new to Mr. Gross, I would definitely say "read it" as I feel this book will have much mass appeal. Yes, it is a "thriller/mystery" so one will be more pleased if already a fan of the genre, obviously. ;-) If you know Andy's writings already, do not pass this gem of literary delight up!

Cheers, fellow readers! :)
NurseLisainOhio (twitter-tweet me if you are looking for a "NOOK Friend"!), GoodReads, foursquare, instagram, etc...

posted by 7022467 on April 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I felt it was a good book, but not a great book. It really didn

I felt it was a good book, but not a great book. It really didn't grip me or drag me in as some of the other reviews found it.

posted by mb4 on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Great quickie

    Entertaining and mature read with a variety of exciting situations

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Great book!

    My first time reading one of Gross' books that he didn't co-write with James Patterson. Very good story that keeps you interested with each chapter. My only negative comment is some of the storyline is a little far fetched but it can be overlooked with how good he tells the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Andrew Gross wrote a very compelling tale in No Way Back. I was into the story from page one and it held my interest to the last word. He writes terrific novels with James Patterson, but he equally as talented on his own. If you enjoy Patterson, you'll love this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Always good

    Look forward to his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wendy is mad with her husband and lets a lapse of judgement ruin

    Wendy is mad with her husband and lets a lapse of judgement ruin her whole life. While drowning her "sorrows" at a bar she meets Curtis, who she is immediately attracted to. Against her "logical" mind she lets her libido take over and agrees to go with him to his hotel room. Once there she has second thoughts and tells Curtis she changed her mind. Curtis takes it ok and she goes into his bathroom to freshen up. While there she witnesses a terrible crime and is told by the bad guy "you don't realize what you stumbled into."

    Wendy flees and is being chased by some very powerful government people and she is "blamed" for three murders that she didn't commit. The bad guys will stop at nothing to make sure she is dead. The author also weaves in an ambush in Mexico involving government agents and some college kids who are killed by the ambushers. That and a Connecticut nanny (Lauritzia) who is discovered by a very powerful Mexican drug cartel that is also looking for her father. She barely escapes assassination and tries to go into hiding.

    While Wendy is on the run these stories will converge and Wendy will need to find out answers as to how all the events are connected if she has any hope of staying alive. This book is another excellent read from Gross , who is good at drawing the reader in with a lot of tension filled chases and mystery that the reader keeps on guessing at.

    As good as this book is, it falls short of his last book (15 Seconds) which followed a similar type of storytelling and had a lot of plot similarities. This prevents me from giving this book the full five stars but it is a strong four.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Andrew Gross in his new book, ¿No Way Back¿ published by Harper

    Andrew Gross in his new book, “No Way Back” published by Harper Collins Publishers brings us into the lives of Wendy Gould and Lauritzia Velez.

    From the back cover: One woman is framed for a horrific crime, and desperate to prove her innocence.

    Wendy Gould is an attractive, happy suburban mom, and an experienced ex-cop. A chance meeting with a stranger in a hotel ends when the man is murdered and she’s the only witness, forcing her to run from rogue federal agents determined to keep her silent, even if it means killing her. Things only get worse when the authorities—the wrong ones—find their way to her door, giving her no recourse but to flee from her only safe haven.

    Lauritzia Velez, meanwhile, is a devoted nanny. She’s also a woman with a deadly secret that has driven her into hiding until she can prove her innocence.

    Scared and alone, these two women with nothing in common will eventually join forces and embark on a dangerous odyssey to find the truth and save their lives. It’s a desperate hunt that leads them into a nefarious web of treachery, lies, and corruption involving drug lords, arms dealers, and shadowy figures in the highest echelons of government.

    A breathtaking tale featuring two strong, sympathetic women who must rely on each other to take down powerful, lethal forces, No Way Back is a riveting tale full of twists and thrilling surprises from the bestselling author who is “coming up on the rails behind Harlan Coben and Lee Child” (Evening Standard, U.K.).

    I think the book title sets the stage for the story that is to follow. What if you left for work or an appointment and when you arrived at your destination you were informed there was no way back? For me, I think I would go slightly crazy. Good thing Wendy Gould has some police experience so she doesn’t go crazy. However she does have to run. And while on the run she links up with Lauritzia and then they are both on the run. “No Way Back” is a riveting, page-turning thriller as both ladies lives are in deadly danger. Mr. Gross packs in a huge amount of action, adventure, and suspense as the two women figure out a way to turn the tables on their pursuers and bring down the cartel that is trying to kill them. May I never get myself into this kind of situation because I could never get out. Good thing Mr. Gross could figure out the way out and give us a wild ride while getting there. Give yourself plenty of time to enjoy this book as you will want to finish it before going to bed. “No Way Back” is an exciting adventure from start to finish.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Partners In Crime. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Andrew has a hit again , strong story and intense enough to keep

    Andrew has a hit again , strong story and intense enough to keep you intriqued

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Sissy 4/2013

    Good!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1