Customer Reviews for

Noble Destiny (Nobles Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Captivating

This lady can write and so funny to boot• YOU GOT TO READ THIS!

posted by Anonymous on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Okay

The first half of the book was painful to read. The heroine was very hard to like. She was the kind of person we all avoid, all about herself,petty. I almost stopped reading because i didnt care what happened to her. Got much better at the end. Glad it was only 2 ...
The first half of the book was painful to read. The heroine was very hard to like. She was the kind of person we all avoid, all about herself,petty. I almost stopped reading because i didnt care what happened to her. Got much better at the end. Glad it was only 2 bucks. Not worth more.

posted by 8465831 on November 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Captivating

    This lady can write and so funny to boot•
    YOU GOT TO READ THIS!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Loved this book!

    This was my first by this author. I immediately bought the others in the series. It was actually the 2nd in the series of 3 books and was my favorite. I laughed aloud at some points! I read it all in a day/night.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    Katie shows she is a force!

    Lady Charlotte Collins, like all women of the ton, during Regency period, were raised to be vane, shallow and think little past the fashions of the day. This has always chaffed Charlotte, cousin of the vivacious Gillian Leigh (Gillian¿s story is told in Noble Intentions where she married Noble Britton). Charlotte shocked the ton and outraged her family, by eloping with a second son of Italian noble, just after Gillian married Noble. But now she is back after five years. A window, penniless thanks to the hatred of her mother-in-law, she is ready to embrace the shallowness and adoration of the ton again - only she is shocked to find the doors of the ton slammed in her face. Her father was furious with Charlotte for the shocking elopement, and though dead, her brother Matthew is determined to see she is not received. She rushed to Gillian for aid and support, but Gillian, now a mother, is off to the West Indies with Noble and the kids to inspect their plantation, so she gives her sage advice: Marry well and marry soon. Once Charlotte embraces the notion, one man comes to mind Alistair Macgregor, known as Dare. He 'looks well on her' - i.e. - they make a beautiful couple, he is an Earl, and he is still un married. There were sparks five years ago, and Dare likely would have offered for Charlotte, but when he inherited the Earldom, he inherited a mountain of debts that will take three life times to pay off. In London, to see his sister Patricia married and to find financing for his marine steam engine, he was thrilled to see Charlotte again, disappointed to know he feels the same because he cannot offer for her because since he has nothing to offer a woman. Especially, he has nothing to offer Charlotte, who will need to be supported in lavish style. To his surprise, she proposes married to him! He declines, which does not deter Charlotte. She sets up a situation to trap him into marriage¿and what a situation! The plan works, but suddenly things are not going as Charlotte planned. A faulty codpiece, a circus for a wedding - literally! - and a husband who refuses to bed his wife because he is determined, she may have caught him and used his honourable ways to get him to marry her, but she cannot force him to be a husband, a lady just has to take matters into her own hands¿such as shooting her husband¿to cheer him up, mind you!!! In Macalister¿s third novel, (Improper English and Noble Intentions her others - with Men In Kilts, A Girl¿s Guide to Vampires and Heat Wave due out later this year) she shows she is a force here to stay. Dare is enchanting, to die for, and Charlotte and her murdering the language is a howl. Maybe not quite as extra special as Improper English or Noble Intentions, this is still a winner that will have you howling. If you scored books 1- 100, her first two would rate 100s, this would be a 98. You cannot get much better than that!! Cannot wait for the rest of her works coming our soon. Fans that love Lynsay Sands or Amanda Quick, will love the second in the Noble line!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    LUV THIS AUTHOR!!!

    A funny romantic oomedy that is a real page turner.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Wonderful

    Loved, loved, loved this book. I laughed so hard. The author makes you feel like you are right there. It was great. I would read more of this series without hesitation

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Okay

    The first half of the book was painful to read. The heroine was very hard to like. She was the kind of person we all avoid, all about herself,petty. I almost stopped reading because i didnt care what happened to her. Got much better at the end. Glad it was only 2 bucks. Not worth more.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Not as good as first book

    Characters appear silly and spoiled...quite annoying

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Painful

    The author failed miserably at incorporating physical humor into the story. Whereas the author wants Lady Weston to appear innocent and naive of her clumsiness and folly, the real result is an annoying character. The story line has gaps and contradictions too obvious to make this story enjoyable. This is the first book in a long time that I would have to say is a true waste of time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Book 2 in series

    This wasn't funny like book one was and I didn't like the selfishness of the character. Didn't pick up til half way thru.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Very funny

    Nice flow funny dialogue

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine Regency romance

    Four years ago, the Ton was stunned when Lady Charlotte Collins eloped with Italian Count Di Abalonia. However, that marriage ended tragically and now Charlotte returns to England to what she believes is her rightful place amidst the aristocracy. However, her peers have a long memory and refuse to accept Charlotte back into the fold. Her only recourse to regain what she lost is to marry her way back. <P>Lord Alasdair ¿Dare¿ MacGregor attends the wedding of his sister where he meets Charlotte for the first time since just before her scandalous marriage. Dare enjoys the verbal battles with Charlotte just like he did five years ago, but has no plans to marry anyone. All he wants is to flee London so he can return to working on his marine engine, but Charlotte knows he is perfect for her to overcome her past, not that his owning her heart hurts her decision. <P>Readers will enjoy the war of words between the lead couple though why Charlotte insists she must return to her place of prominence is never fully understood. Still, she is a refreshing individual whose antics with the hero is not only amusing but also provide insight into the options Regency women had. Dare is a delightful counterpart who needs a catalyst to realize he cherishes Charlotte more than his engine. NOBLE DESTINY will please sub-genre fans with its battle of the sexes plot starring two fine protagonists. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    This is book 2 in the Noble series. Charlotte Collins has come

    This is book 2 in the Noble series.

    Charlotte Collins has come back to London after a disastrous first marriage. She has set her sights on Alasdair MacGregor as her second husband. Having landed themselves in a compromising situation, they are quickly married.

    Alasdair won't consumate the marriage until Charlotte is in love with him, so she sets her mind to do just that. Between Charlotte constantly getting her meaning of words wrong and Alasdair working on his steam engine there are plenty of antics to liven up this marriage. 

    Can this turn into a marriage of love?

    I really tried to like this book. I enjoyed the first one in the series, but this one was just horrible. The storyline had potential, but the author blew it with annoying characters.

    The heroine was a selfish snob and didn't take anyone or anything else into consideration. That combined with the fact that she was always misusing words was quite annoying. Add to that the long monologues from the butler and it was like pulling teeth to get me to finish the book. 

    I know this is a re-issued book and maybe MacAlister's writing has gotten better, but at this point I don't think I will be picking up anymore of her books. I think there should have been some major re-write done before re-releasing this book and maybe the whole series.

    Thanks go to Sourcebooks via NetGalley for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Read from May 26 to 27, 2014 Book Info  Kindle Edition, 384

    Read from May 26 to 27, 2014




    Book Info 
    Kindle Edition, 384 pages
    Expected publication: June 3rd 2014 by Sourcebooks Casablanca (first published May 28th 2003)
    original title Noble Destiny
    ASIN B00HFDVOOG
    edition language English
    series Noble #2
    characters Charlotte Collins DiAbalongia, Alasdair (Dare) McGregor - Lord Carlisle
    setting London, England (United Kingdom) 
    other editions (12)
    Source:Netgalley EARC




    Book Buy Links 
    Amazon 
    B&amp;N 




    BOOK SYNOPSIS








    Just how far will Lady Charlotte go to win his heart?




    Lady Charlotte Collins returns to England as a poor widow. She's eager to take her place in the ton, but is quickly shunned by all. There is only one way to redeem her good standing: find a groom with wealth, a title, and good looks. Alasdair McGregor posseses all these fine attributes, but he cruelly refuses to be the answer to Charlotte's problems. So what is she to do but take extreme measures? She'll make him fall in love with her by any means necessary, even a gun. Can this determined lady capture his heart, or will she misfire?




    My Thoughts








    Charlotte had eloped against the wishes of her family and the counsel of friends 5 years prior, returning a penniless widow to England she wants nothing more than to be reinstated within society and to that end she hatches a scheme to trap Alasdair McGregor-Earl of Carlisle into marriage. 




    Enlisting the aid of the only friend she has left she puts her plan into motion as upon finding the direct approach of proposing marriage to “Dare” a failure Charlotte is left with only the option of trickery. The means which she employs works up to a point as Dare does accept her invitation to what he assumes to be a mutually satisfying assignation during a ball they both attend.




    What happens during the meeting is comical and at the same time sets the stage for Charlotte and Dare’s relationship through most of the book, it is one of both exasperation and passion in equal measures!




    When started this series with Noble Intentions I was delighted with the misunderstandings that the characters found themselves muddling through over and over. This second book carried the same theme throughout but is able to stand on it’s own with a cast of characters that will keep you scratching your head with a smile on your face at their outrageousness. 




    There were times however the smile slipped as trying to keep up with the convoluted meanderings of Charlottes mind exhausted my patience as well as Dare’s, by the end though I was as besotted by her as everyone else she managed to charm along the way.




    Delightful but not quite as much as first book as at times could not make up my mind whether to applaud or curse the character of Charlotte, Batsfoam however stole the show every scene he was involved in!




    [EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    It gets better...

    I agree with other reviews that the firtst half was hard to read... The main character was clueless and selfish beyond belief. She redeems herself the second half. If you can get past the first half, it's actually a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Clunker..................................................

    I should have listened to the bad reviews. But I liked the first book. And it was only $1.99. Time and money wasted. I know it was said before but Charlotte is so whiny selfish and self absorbed it becomes impossible to like the book. You can't even imagine why Dare loves her. With one exception--her friend Caro--no one else in England---or apparently Italy even likes her. Wouldn't say it's the worst book I ever read---but it's in the top ten. It did pick up slightly in the end. Thus the 2 stars. Would not recommend at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Worth the read

    This book had some very funny parts. The overall story was not as good as the first in this Noble series. I do like this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Great series

    Loved this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Fun book.

    Enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Unexpectedly good

    I have read most of Katie MacAlister's books but this series was a surprise. I've never read any historical romance by this author, mostly her vampire books but Noble Destiny was very good. I couldn't put it down. Well worth it! I had to get the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Katie MacAlister is a writing genius. Don't hesitate

    Noble Destiny is a very interesting story filled with love, devotion, family betrayal and a true love story. Please don't hesitate to also read Katie Macalister's book NOBLE INTENTIONS Series #1. Ladies be sure you do this when the children are awake as I laughed over and over through this story. Grab a cool drink, recline back and enjoy Katie's humor and romance. Katie you are a wonderful author and I thank you for the medicine of laughter. Pudgie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7