Customer Reviews for

Noble Intentions (Nobles Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Funny and Sexy!!

Noble Intentions and Noble Destiny were the first Katie MacAlister books I ever read; I was hooked!! They are SO funny and SO sexy!! I see by the reviews that she has quite a following with her later books, but I prefer the earlier Katie MacAlister. Two other brillia...
Noble Intentions and Noble Destiny were the first Katie MacAlister books I ever read; I was hooked!! They are SO funny and SO sexy!! I see by the reviews that she has quite a following with her later books, but I prefer the earlier Katie MacAlister. Two other brilliant reads are Men in Kilts and Improper English.

posted by MsMaudie on June 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hillarious!

This is my first book by this athour. The book is very funny with lots of romance between husband and wife. The book was very entertaining but i did not like the son taken to rescue his father under those conditions. Also the crime and intended crime against the boy wa...
This is my first book by this athour. The book is very funny with lots of romance between husband and wife. The book was very entertaining but i did not like the son taken to rescue his father under those conditions. Also the crime and intended crime against the boy was distasteful.

posted by femalereader1 on November 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Funny and Sexy!!

    Noble Intentions and Noble Destiny were the first Katie MacAlister books I ever read; I was hooked!! They are SO funny and SO sexy!! I see by the reviews that she has quite a following with her later books, but I prefer the earlier Katie MacAlister. Two other brilliant reads are Men in Kilts and Improper English.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Cute.....Funny......Sexy

    I enjoyed this very funny book. Even the epilogue was amusing. For those opposed to sex in your read this is not the book for you. It sizzles quite often. Sometimes in a cute and funny way. I'll read it again and a again. Looking forward to the second Noble series!!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!! -- You much check it out! Will worth the price.

    Enjoyable. Easy to read. Kept me laughing. A change from the more serious historical romances readings. Gave each character a personality that I can picture in my mind as the story goes on.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Funny and whitty

    This historical romance is sooo funny. I havent read anything this funny in a while. Whitty heroine, her clumsiness is to adore. The hero is a tall handsome brooding type that at time you just want to slap him up side the head, and others you want to kiss him. Over all a great read with a different type of plot. A must read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Charming as well as humorous.

    This is a refreshing novel with humor mixed in with romance and mystery. Had me laughing.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    ThisĀ is a very amusing Regency romance that will delight sub-gen

    This is a very amusing Regency romance that will delight sub-genre fans especially since Noble lives up to his name as he is the victim of Gillian's pratfalls. The lead couple is a delightful pairing whose story line remains true to its basic slapstick like theme. Fans who enjoy a jocular look at the foibles of the Ton will want to read Katie MacAlister's humorous tale - just keep ice packs and bandages handy in case one falls while laughing. Huge chunks of the book are laugh-out-loud hilarious. Others, especially those in which Gillian reaches out to Noble's emotionally scarred young son, Nick, are truly moving. And then there are the book's naughty bits. Whew! They left me tingly! Especially the scene with all the strawberries and . . . well, I'd better not reveal too much. Noble Britton, aka, Lord of Lips, Loins, Kisses, etc. fell in love at first sight with the oh so tall, oh so ACCIDENT prone, and oh so delightful half-American, Gillian Leigh. Nothing shy and retiring about this lady! You see, she definitely has this 'problem' with speaking EXACTLY what pops into her mind - no holds barred.
    For Gillian, the attraction was definitely mutual, when she first spotted him, her Lord of Magnificence. The author has such a way with dialog that is just so precious you can just picture all of these scenes. I could not put this book down and read it in 5 hours - less if I didn't have to pick myself up from the floor so often from laughing.
    As Noble begins to court Gillian, he quickly finds out that `unfortunate incidents' follow his potential bride around--why, a simple carriage ride turns into a great adventure where you may risk your life! But he finds himself drawn to her in a way that he can't escape...
    Kudos, Katie MacAlistar! This is probably the most humorous, moving regency I've ever laid my hands on. Every page was filled with hilarious scenes, to the point I found tears rolling down my eyes-yet she continually pulled at my heartstrings with the slights Noble receives, and how Gillian is quickly at his defense. It was wonderful seeing these two find their way to love!! Ms. MacAlistar weaves the story with wonderful secondary characters I just can't wait to read about, and a plot to uncover to boot!!
    This is a not to be missed regency-you'll find yourself unable to put this book down!! This one is a keeper.
       

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Funny

    I love the humor in this book, I actually laughed out loud throughout!! Humor, romance & mystery!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Cute, funny, but still steamy

    Very funny (actually laughed out loud), but still had some nice steamy scenes. Thoroughly enjoyable!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Hilariously Romantic

    This is such a change from the typical cookie cutter historical romances that are out there. You know where the female is flawlessly beautifully and the man is the perfect specimen. This is refreshingly different. I had this on my nook and started reading on bus while chaperoning a class trip. I started laughing out loud! Yes, out loud! This book was so enjoyable, I couldn 't wait to get 2nd in series to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Cute but the characters were annoying.

    This was a below average romance. Hard to follow at times and the heroine in the story sounds more like a child than a woman. Not a book i would recommend.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Hillarious!

    This is my first book by this athour. The book is very funny with lots of romance between husband and wife. The book was very entertaining but i did not like the son taken to rescue his father under those conditions. Also the crime and intended crime against the boy was distasteful.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    Okay but not a blockbuster!

    I was prepared, based on other reviews, to love this book but I was disappointed. I had never read Katie MacAlister before this title and I must say that I probably won't download any more of her books after having suffered through this one. I didn't find the author's attempt at humor to be very entertaining but instead rather stupid. The best part of the book was the relationship between Nick, the Duke's son, and his new stepmother which I found endearing. This isn't the worst romance I have ever read but it falls really short of the best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2003

    A fresh new voice in Regency romance

    This Victorian charmer is funny, heartwarming. I found myself with a big smile on my face nearly all the way through this!!!Her voice is sparkling, perfect for the period!! 25 year old, half-American Gillian Leigh is in London to attend her cousin's coming out season in the ton. She is quite delighted to be a wallflower - provided she could stop doing klutzy things like setting the Duchess' favourite gold curtains on fire!! She does not waltz - she murders toes!!! She is outspoken, has dogs with a 'problem' that has everyone fanning the air!! She is a quick judge of character and is not afraid to blister her aunt for going along with the ton in giving the cut direct to the Earl of Wessex. The Earl is in town for the first time in 5 years, following the death/murder??? of his beautiful wife, supposedly at his hands when he found her in the arms of her lover. He wants a wife to produce an heir, a mother for his illegitimate son, but most of all he wants a wife that will cause no problems, no gossip. Gillian's cousin quickly sets sites on the dark earl knowing reformed rakes make the best husbands, but she sees the earl has eyes for her tall, amazon, redheaded cousin. He is drawn by her open honesty, and despite the smashed toes, black eye, bashed head and broken nose, he thinks Gillian is just what he needs. He will make her a countess, giving her everything - but his heart. However, Gillian is not about to settle for anything less and will wage a war of attrition to get it!!!! Don't miss the sequal Noble Destiny or wonderful contemporary Improper English

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2002

    What a hilarious read!! Don't miss this!

    Gillian Leigh has come to London to stay with her family. At five and twenty she has no intentions of having a season, and really no plans on marrying. But because her younger cousin, Charlotte, is being introduced into her first season, Gillian finds herself embarking on just that. Who would have ever guessed that at her first ball, even after the `unfortunate incident¿, she¿d meet Lord Adonis? Lord Wessex, Noble Britton, has decided it is time for him to find a wife for himself, and a mother for his son. He¿s come to London with a plan, and very exacting requirements for his wife to be. After the scandal he¿s still living down that occurred with his first wife, he wants a woman who will be quiet, unassuming, biddable, and will not draw attention to herself. But when Noble sees Gillian, he¿s immediately drawn to her by her refreshing attitude, and the fact that she is so open and honest. As Noble begins to court Gillian, he quickly finds out that `unfortunate incidents¿ follow his potential bride around--why, a simple carriage ride turns into a great adventure where you may risk your life! But he finds himself drawn to her in a way that he can¿t escape¿ Kudos, Katie MacAlistar! This is probably the most humorous, moving regency I¿ve ever laid my hands on. Every page was filled with hilarious scenes, to the point I found tears rolling down my eyes¿yet she continually pulled at my heartstrings with the slights Noble receives, and how Gillian is quickly at his defense. It was wonderful seeing these two find their way to love!! Ms. MacAlistar weaves the story with wonderful secondary characters I just can¿t wait to read about, and a plot to uncover to boot!! This is a not to be missed regency¿you¿ll find yourself unable to put this book down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2001

    A funny and romantic Regency romp!

    I've had the good fortune to read an advance copy of this engaging novel--it's a winner! Macalister's story of romance and adventure between its giddy and accident-prone heroine and troubled hero charmed the pants right off me. Readers of romance and Regencies will find plenty of qualities to admire here--and so will those of us who don't read those genres regularly. In fact, I thought I'd have to be dragged kicking and screaming across a bed of nails before I'd ever read a Regency, and yet once I started Macalister's novel I was utterly hooked. The characters are fascinating, the adventure exciting, and the humor...good gravy, the humor! It flows abundantly. Definitely recommended. I hear the author has a sequel or two in the words, and I'm looking forward to purchasing them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2015

    Fun

    I could not put this book down, let along stop laughing !
    Would like to read a sequal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    Funny and romantic!

    Some of the humorous situations require some suspension of disbelief and some of the behavior is a little too contemporary for the times, but overall a delightful read, with a believable and swoon-worthy romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Life is too short

    ...to waste your time reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Apprentice den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers

    3.5 Stars
    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Noble Britton is searching for a wife, someone quiet and biddable and is kind to his son and is nothing like his first wife. The first wife that it is rumoured he murdered.Miss Gillian Leigh seems the right bride for him, though she may be unconventional and slightly clumsy, never have his toes felt so trampled, and her height and flaming red hair set her apart from the rest of the ladies, her honest and kind manner appeal to him. However, Gillian, despite her tendency towards disaster and her mad cap ideas, she seems to be stumbling right into his heart.

    This book was guilty pleasure, I found myself liking it even as I was rolling my eyes over the sheer over the top ridiculousness of the whole thing. This was definitely a very farcical historical romance, which I don’t mind and is perfect if you are looking for something easy to make you laugh, but at some point in the book it stopped being funny and became more exasperating.

    If you like an awkward and unconventional heroine, which I am partial to, then you may like Gillian, she was clumsy and had a tendency to speak without realising she was voicing her thoughts. However, I started to find her annoying, I don’t know if it was intentional but she seemed a little…dim and slightly simple to me. Her actions were strange sometimes, hilarious but decidedly odd and childish. But, for the purposes of providing comedy she was fantastic. Noble was the straight man, who seemed as befuddled by Gillian’s antics as I did. Together they made an oddly sweet couple and despite my irritation at them sometimes, they were a good match.

    There was also a flimsy plot regarding Noble’s deceased wife and the murky events surrounding her death, I am not sure what this added to the book, apart from more opportunities for Gillian to think up harebrained schemes, but I had guessed the culprit fairly early on.

    I would normally have only given this a rating of 2, but I admit, Noble Intentions did give me a few really good belly laughs, so I added a bit extra. If you want something quick, easy and funny then you may like this book, but another choice for something light hearted and funny, but with better writing and a bit more substance is Julia Quinn.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15