Customer Reviews for

The Nobodies Album

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME!

    Let me start by saying that I LOVED "Dogs of Babel" and recommended it to a lot of my friends. So I was very happy when I found "The Nobodies Album". I thought this book was incredible. It actually gave me chills a few times, and I had to put it down for a few moments to catch my breath! This is a really really good book. Very strong emotions. Love the way Carolyn Parkhurst writes about things that are totally original and unique, such great new ideas! I read a lot so finding something that's a completely new concept for a book is a real treat. This book has everything - mystery, love, loss, grief, very emotional. I love it and I can't wait for her next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Nobodies Album

    The Nobodies Album is a multi-layered story revolving around author Octavia Frost, who has written a new book which is nothing but re-written endings to her previous books. On her way to drop her manuscript to her editor, she sees a news flash that her son, a popular rock star is being accused of killing his lover. Having being estranged from him for four years, she tries to reconnect with him and help him in his time of need. This is the meat of the novel which is also intertwined with the endings of the manuscript. In reading this story and the re-written chapters, we learn of Octavia's life and struggles and wonders if it could all have been different. Could we re-write our lives? This is an emotion journey and I enjoyed the ride, but at times found the re-written chapters a little distracting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A pleasure to read

    Octavia Frost is a novelist who has decided to rewrite the endings of her previous bestselling novels. Many of her stories reflect the loss of her husband and daughter in a tragic accident years earlier. Currently estranged from her remaining child, Milo, a musician, she learns that he has been charged with the murder of his girlfriend.

    Part mystery and part reflection on the mistakes Octavia made with her son, Carolyn Parkhurst weaves the novels of Octavia throughout the book as Octavia reaches out to Milo and begins to try to repair their relationship while helping him through this terrible time.

    Ms. Parkhurst has written a lovely book about loss and love and THE NOBODIES ALBUM was a pleasure to read. Lynn Kimmerle

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Loved it

    Very interesting story. Well written. Strong and likeable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Excellently written

    Maybe I should give it 5 stars, I like it almost as much as Dogs, but it was very good. The portraits she paints of relationships of all kinds but especially familial are complicated, messy, relatable. I liked the title much more once I read that part as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Ah-mazing

    There is one word to decribe this book and it is ah-mazing!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A solid and enjoyable read, if not mind-blowing

    Octavia Frost is a successful author, but there are times when she feels like a failure as a mother. Having lost her husband and daughter at a relatively young age, she was left to raise her young son alone. The son that she must admit she was never really very compatible with. And by all external appearances, she was a good mother. She cared well for her son, gave him every external thing he needed. But there has always been a chasm between them. Despite this, they have both succeeded. She is a successful author, he is a popular musician.

    Then comes the day when she learns that her son Milo has been arrested for the murder of his fiance. She rushes to his side, unsure of how to best help him, and together the two of them begin navigating the distance between them.

    This book started out a little slow for me, but eventually it picked up and pulled me in. The relationship between Octavia and Milo is very real and believable. Her love for him is apparent, and her desire to try to "make it all better" is genuine. But Milo harbors pain from the past, and hasn't yet found a way beyond it.

    The actual story is interspersed with the endings of many fictional stories, and then alternate endings for those stories. This is probably what dragged the story down. While I enjoyed a couple of the stories, most were pretty boring.

    All in all, this was a pretty good story. It was a bit of a roller coaster ride-- up, down, enjoyable, not so enjoyable. Overall it was pretty enjoyable, with the last third being the best of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Family Story and Mystery!

    This book was so well written and very hard to put down. Author Octavia Frost has had a successful career but has been estranged from her son Milo, a famous rock star; they have grown steadily apart since the death of her husband and daughter when Milo was 9. But tragedy is about to bring them back together again when Octavia hears a news report that her son has been arrested for the murder of his girlfriend.

    There are excerpts from Octavia's books which all sound like books I would like to read! This was a story about family, failures, forgiveness and redemption. Through the words from the books Octavia has written you get glimpses into the life shared by her and Milo after the death of half of their family. Now Octavia and Milo need to work together to prove his innocence and repair their broken relationship.

    This was a very powerful book that flowed through the beautiful writing; it's so much more than a mystery but the mystery was a good one. This was my first book by Carolyn Parkhurst but for sure won't be my last.

    4 ½ Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    New combination of well written theme, character, and circumstance

    Just read it! I've read all of hers. This is the best, and I eagerly await the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Book I Waited For

    One of the reasons I give 4 stars to books I enjoyed is that I know I will soon come across a book that stands above all of those. The one that a five star rating is meant for. The Nobodies Album is such a book. Elegantly written and touching the reader on so many levels, it tells a tale of mother and son, of an author who worries about the impact her books might have, who is somewhat sensitive when they are criticized. (Makes me think twice about my 2 and 3 star reviews!) But the relationships discussed in this novel, those of friends and family, are told in a compelling drama of a mother who was convinced that her estranged son could not commit murder, and the faith that kept her after him following four years of silence. A well-recommended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Parkhurst does it again!

    Octavia Frost is on her way to drop off her latest manuscript to her editor in NYC, when she sees a news blurb that her son is accused of murdering his girlfriend. This is only big news because her son is Milo Frost, lead singer of the very popular band Pareidolia. Though it's been more than four years since she's seen her Milo, she flies out to be with him immediately. When she gets there, she meets the colorful cast of characters Milo has surrounded himself with, begins to salvage her relationship, and piece together the specifics of what actually happened on that terrible night.

    Parkhurst's novels have yet to be anything less than extraordinary. Dogs of Babel is one of the few books I continue to recommend to anyone who hasn't read it yet. Her second book, Lost and Found, was not quite on par with her first, but was still a fantastic read. And now with The Nobodies Album, she has returned to the gasp-out-loud high impact story I have come to expect from her.

    Let me start by saying I often find reading stories-within-stories to be tedious and distracting from the actual story I want to read. But in The Nobodies Album, the pieces flow together seamlessly. In fact, I came to look forward to the excerpts of Octavia's stories, as they were equally as engrossing as the main plot. The whole concept is based around changing the ending to a story after it is written, and in this sense Parkhurst plays with the readers mind, making them wonder if endings truly aren't written in stone (as they say).

    Parkhurst's writing gets deep into the psyche of Octavia, a mother having to go through more than her fair share of tragedies. There are some truly graphic scenes that made me have to pause my reading and think of something cheery, just to be able to go on reading again. However, there are plenty of tender moments in the book as well, and I found myself not wanting the book to end so soon.

    Parkhurst is an author I will always look forward to reading more of!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2