Customer Reviews for

Nobody Move

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Denis Johnson Lite

    A fun, fairly forgettable read. But even Lite Johnson is better than most.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    The language is very offensive. Do not recommend.

    The language is very offensive. Do not recommend.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Homage to Pulp

    Denis Johnson has always been influenced by noir fiction, and even wrote a screenplay based for a film of a Jim Thompson novel, and a noirish novel, Resuscitation of Hanged Man. Nobody Move is a nice respite from his last novel, which was long and multi-layered and a thorough exploration of the Vietnam War. Nobody Move, written in the minimalist style of Jesus Son, is a straightforward thriller that begins with a botched extortion incident then evolves into a wild ride of revenge. The characters are well drawn and the ending a surprise. Not his best, but not as bleak as Jesus's Son. As a long time Johnson fan, I was satisfied. The reader feels the fun the writer is having with this homage to pulp. Please visit: timothyherrick.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nobody Move: a novel by Denis Johnson

    Nobody Move is a four part story originally published as a serial in Playboy Magazine over the course of four issues (Jul 09 - Oct 09). It was what Denis Johnson described as an effort to create a noir, crime story in the vein of Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett. Now it's all here in this wonderfully jacketed hardcover.

    Denis follows the Elmore Leonard school of writing by jumping into the story right away, leaving pretty much all the back story to the dialogue and the visual, narrative cues. The result you get is a flowing caper novel, like Denis was flying by the seat of his pants for pretty much the whole time.

    Jimmy Luntz, a barbershop chordsmen lead with an unhealthy fetish for lottery tickets, meets Gambol, a bounty hunter working for Juarez, a gangster with very deep connections. Very simple premise but as the story moves along at its leisurely pace, we see things aren't so simple. It becomes apparent Luntz never had the money in the first place, neither does he have the means to get it. But soon, he encounters a beautiful woman named Anita who just happens to have the means to acquire a large sum of money. She quickly becomes the target of pretty much all of them, essentially making her the hook of this story.

    All of this delivered in clear-eyed prose peppered with Denis' usual sarcastic tone. He managed to meld the crime, noir voice with his usual style (as seen most prominently in Jesus' son) and it was a delight to read. And because he had a strict word limit, the prose had to be spare, which turned out to be especially suitable for the noir, crime style shown here. His descriptions were among the most imaginative and he has a very funny tongue-in-cheek style which keeps things humorous and light-hearted.

    Plot wise, it was very difficult to guess what's about to happen next, this could be largely due to the on-the-fly nature of this story. Nothing happened the way I expected it to. Just when I thought something was going to happen, something entirely different happened instead. For an on-the-fly story this could be done to great effect, but it also leaves lots of plot holes, and that's what I noticed about the story. Some threads were resolved very carelessly, simply because they had to be.

    And because Denis likes to pepper details around, you'll occasionally find some things very difficult to figure out, at least initially. For example, the relationship between Anita and his father, it took me till part four before I started flipping back to get the details on that. Was that a good or bad thing? I don't know. I chalked that down to probably Denis' flamboyant writing sensibilities.

    That said, I loved the story enough to warrant a re-read but I can't help but think if Denis could do much better if he didn't have the periodical constraints. He did a good job anyway and that's what I think deserves mention more than anything else. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Not Worth the Money or the Time

    Characters you don't care about, a tedious, reductive plot, ridiculous. Can't believe I spent any time at all with it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Move

    If ever a group of people deserved each other, the characters in this novel pass the test. Well-written with insightful observations into human behavior, Nobody Move is an enjoyable read on a short flight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Johnsons the best ever since Fiskadoro

    great read have fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1