BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Nobody's Damsel

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

EM Tippetts has a habit of making the reader underestimate her b

EM Tippetts has a habit of making the reader underestimate her books and then BAM! you feel silly for not seeing the ending. NOBODY'S DAMSEL was like this for me. I'd read book #1, Someone Else's Fairytale a while ago and loved it, so I was attached to these characters....
EM Tippetts has a habit of making the reader underestimate her books and then BAM! you feel silly for not seeing the ending. NOBODY'S DAMSEL was like this for me. I'd read book #1, Someone Else's Fairytale a while ago and loved it, so I was attached to these characters. The history and my attachment with the main characters, Jason and Chloe, boosted the read to a 4 starrer for most of my reading it and then this happened:

at 70-75% I said this: "Have you read SOMEONE ELSE'S FAIRYTALE (book #1)? Well this book #2 is different yet intriguing. I'm loving it!"

[Looks like something epic is happening]

at 90-95% I said this: "Dang!! This book has twisted my arm behind my back and made me bow to it. Did NOT see that twist."

[Sounds painfully great!]

NOBODY'S DAMSEL takes a different turn in the storyline than FAIRYTALE. This one is more of a mystery, but behind it all is the core relationship between swoony Jason Vanderholt and Chloe. I'm happy EM Tippetts chose this road. We learn more about both Jason and Chloe this way -- a deeper level into their personality and how this affects their careers, him as an A-List Hollywood actor and her as a forensic scientist.

I know so many people will relate to this book. Chloe and Jason get married in FAIRYTALE without getting to know the ins and outs of each other properly. This book is a fantastic story about a newlywed's troubles to form a happy life as one unit and understand each other's differences. It's cute and lovely.

But let me just say that the main storyline, the "mystery" part, will blow you away. Chloe was abducted and almost killed as a child and guess what? Her first case is almost identical to what happened to her. She's thrust into this situation where she must live by her horrible memories constantly, all while the paparazzi are incredibly horrible to her, yet push that aside and focus on this poor little girl.

NOBODY'S DAMSEL blew me away. I had to write this review three days after I finished the book just to compile my thoughts and do this review justice.

Recommended reading -- 5 stars!

posted by Rebecca_Berto on January 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A little better

Once again I found the writing style boring. It was akso a little confusing going back and forth between tv and the book's storyline. Once again no chemistry between main characters. I liked the main focus of the story and the csi info which was also semi-entertaining. ...
Once again I found the writing style boring. It was akso a little confusing going back and forth between tv and the book's storyline. Once again no chemistry between main characters. I liked the main focus of the story and the csi info which was also semi-entertaining. I will say the reviews were very misleading. I found the best part of the story was the end when the author spoke of her friend that passed away. The writing style was more approachable.

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    A little better

    Once again I found the writing style boring. It was akso a little confusing going back and forth between tv and the book's storyline. Once again no chemistry between main characters. I liked the main focus of the story and the csi info which was also semi-entertaining. I will say the reviews were very misleading. I found the best part of the story was the end when the author spoke of her friend that passed away. The writing style was more approachable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    In Nobody's Damsel, the sequel to Someone Else's Fairytale, auth

    In Nobody's Damsel, the sequel to Someone Else's Fairytale, author E.M. Tippetts continues the story of Chloe and Jason after they get married. Written in the first person narrative, this book delves deeper into their relationship as a newly married couple and how they transition into married life with different careers: Jason as an A-List Hollywood actor and Chloe as a forensic scientist with the Albuquerque Police Department. The transition is anything but easy when they have the paparazzi constantly trailing them, causing drama and spreading rumors about Jason cheating on Chloe with his ex-girlfriend/current co-star. And if that isn't enough, Chloe's first case brings up a traumatic experience from her past. Chloe was abducted and almost killed as a child, now her first case is almost identical to what happened to her, and she is now thrust into a situation where she has to relive horrible memories from the past.




    Where the first novel focused on the romantic relationship between Chloe and Jason, the sequel focuses more on Chloe's job as a forensic scientist. That's not to say that there isn't romance, it's still there just not the sole focus of the story. I think the author does a great job of interweaving the mystery of the case with the continuation of delving into Chloe and Jason's evolving relationship and their struggles to balance their careers and overcome issues that arose in their marriage. I thought that the storyline was intriguing and well researched, it has enough twists and turns that keeps the reader engaged. I also appreciated that the author made Chloe and Jason's marriage realistic as they not only had romance but also had to deal with issues and demands from their careers.




    Nobody's Damsel has everything that a reader could wish for in a book: an intriguing mystery with a touch of CSI forensic science, a handsome Hollywood actor, love, romance, drama, relationship issues and inner battles with the past. It is a riveting action packed story that is thoroughly engrossing, it leaves the reader wanting more. Chloe and Jason's story will be continued in a third installment in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I am a 36 year old male, not accustomed to this author's genre.

    I am a 36 year old male, not accustomed to this author's genre. The author gave me the book as a gift, so I read it and loved it. The 
    reader will appreciate the simple delivery of otherwise plot complexity and inner conflict the main character experiences. Best, 
    however, is the awesome twists and surprises in the end. You have to read the book to see for yourself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was really good and interesting. As a crim, Chloe now

    This book was really good and interesting. As a crim, Chloe now has to deal with some heartbreaking stuff. The story was great, but so so sad. Every day life is, though. I hope there are more books about Chloe and Jason!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    So refreshing!! Reading Emily's books takes me out of my normal

    So refreshing!! Reading Emily's books takes me out of my normal paranormal and fantasy genre. And it's just so refreshing to read something out of the norm. Nobody's Damsel is so much better than any CSI, NCIS, Law & Order or any other crime scene shows.

    I felt so much emotion while reading this story, and loved every bit of it. Of course as usual Chloe is dealing with the stress and hassle from the paparazzi for being married to an A-listed Movie Star. However, this time they have gone too far.

    Chloe has started a new job, working in the crime lab for her local police department. She's working on a particular case that is bearing down on her emotions and its hitting home for her. She keeps remembering what had happened to her when she was 11 years old. She's determined to work hard and pull what ever strings available to try to bring a happy ending to this case.

    If you want a read that's full of drama, passion and so much more than Nobody's Damsel is perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    It wasn't as great as I thought it was going to be--it was even

    It wasn't as great as I thought it was going to be--it was even better. After hearing that there would be a sequel to Someone Else's Fairytale, my first reaction was to repetitively check B&N until it was here and the author was kind enough to give me a heads up for when it did come out. Of anyone is interested in reading this, I highly reccomend you do so. I just bought it a few hours ago and here I am. The characters were beautifully developed, the novel holds you constantly in thrall, and your fourth wall will be broken (I'm sure all the other readers will catch it). One of my favorite aspects of all of E M Tippetts works is that she layers multiple plots into a single piece. You're never reading to ind out what happens to just one person but you're reading because you absolutely need to know what happens to this person, that person, those relationships, and that case. If you don't read this, you're seriously missing out. Make the right choice here. But read the sequel Someone Else's Fairytale first!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. I read it every fr

    Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. I read it every free chance I had . Nobody's Damsel is a good sequel and a good read. It is clean, engaging, sweet, and gripping in parts.

    This review will contain SPOILERS for Someone Else's Fairytale. So, if you do not want to know what happened in the first book of that series, stop reading now, go get that book and then read this review and get this book.

    I enjoyed watching Jason and Chloe's relationship start and grow in Someone Else's Fairytale. To hear about their early married life was a treat. Ms. Tippetts wrote the characters and their relationship so well. It was real. Anyone could relate to the issues they faced and the tension that so many newlyweds endure. I felt for Chloe and Jason. I worried about them. The first year of marriage can be tough. I can't imagine the first year of marriage when one spouse is a movie star and the other is starting what can be an emotionally draining career, a crime scene analyst.

    Ms. Tippetts also writes wonderful secondary characters. While these characters are not focused upon, they add a lot to the story and to the development of the main characters. I really liked Miguel and Detective Baca. Miguel was unsure about Chloe, especially considering who she is married to, but he gives her the benefit of the doubt and they seem to hit it off. He looks out for her in the office as well. Detective Baca is still so proud of the woman Chloe became despite the ordeal that he saved her from during her childhood. I also liked the paparazzo that was following Chloe and snapping pictures. He turned out to have some redeeming qualities.

    The story itself was good. At first, I was confused with the movie/television scenes that started most chapters. They seemed to be exactly what was happening in each chapter. However, once I found out the background to those scenes...how those scenes came about...I really liked it. What a clever angle on that sub-story!
    I want more about Chloe and Jason! I hope that there is another book in the Someone Else's Fairytale series.

    Would I recommend it: I would recommend it. Be sure to read the first book, Someone Else's Fairytale.

    Will I read it again: I may read this book again at some point in the future, especially if I re-read Someone Else's Fairytale or if another book in this series is released.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I gave this book 3.5 stars. I would like to thank the author Em

    I gave this book 3.5 stars.

    I would like to thank the author Emily for this eBook copy in exchange for my fair review.

    Nobody’s Damsel is the sequel to Someone Else’s Fairytale. A short amount of time has passed from the last book and Jason and
    Chloe are now living in Albuquerque. Jason is still travelling for film shoots and Chloe is about to begin her new job as a criminalist. 

    Along with the pressures of a new job and being a newlywed, Chloe has the added strain of the paparazzi following her every move.
    When you are attending high profile crime scenes, this can be problematic to say the least.

    This book focused more on Chloe’s job and the first case she was assigned to. As I am a huge romance fan I obviously would have
    preferred to read more scenes of Jason and Chloe together. As a result I felt I lost a bit of momentum with them as a couple. 
    Although this could be seen as a true reflection on their relationship as they did have to spend long periods of time apart.

    It is hard to mention the plot as I wouldn't want to give too much away in regards to the case Chloe is working on. I will say that you
    travel this journey with Chloe and can feel her frustrations and fears about the case. I liked the twist at the end concerning an old case
    as this instilled hope in Chloe and was a reminder that not all was lost.

    At first when the parallel crime script was introduced I was a bit confused as I thought I had missed the introduction of it but as you
    progress towards the end it becomes clearer as to why it has been interlaced.

    Emily included a disclaimer at the end of the book to explain that for the purpose of the story some criminalist details and locations
    were fabricated or moulded for the benefit of the book. To be honest I never questioned that aspect whilst reading. I was happy to be
    immersed in the story and this to me is a sign of good story telling.

    Overall this was a good read, it has raised the bar on the first book and it was interesting to be immersed in Chloe’s ‘crim’ world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    EM Tippetts has a habit of making the reader underestimate her b

    EM Tippetts has a habit of making the reader underestimate her books and then BAM! you feel silly for not seeing the ending. NOBODY'S DAMSEL was like this for me. I'd read book #1, Someone Else's Fairytale a while ago and loved it, so I was attached to these characters. The history and my attachment with the main characters, Jason and Chloe, boosted the read to a 4 starrer for most of my reading it and then this happened:

    at 70-75% I said this: "Have you read SOMEONE ELSE'S FAIRYTALE (book #1)? Well this book #2 is different yet intriguing. I'm loving it!"

    [Looks like something epic is happening]

    at 90-95% I said this: "Dang!! This book has twisted my arm behind my back and made me bow to it. Did NOT see that twist."

    [Sounds painfully great!]

    NOBODY'S DAMSEL takes a different turn in the storyline than FAIRYTALE. This one is more of a mystery, but behind it all is the core relationship between swoony Jason Vanderholt and Chloe. I'm happy EM Tippetts chose this road. We learn more about both Jason and Chloe this way -- a deeper level into their personality and how this affects their careers, him as an A-List Hollywood actor and her as a forensic scientist.

    I know so many people will relate to this book. Chloe and Jason get married in FAIRYTALE without getting to know the ins and outs of each other properly. This book is a fantastic story about a newlywed's troubles to form a happy life as one unit and understand each other's differences. It's cute and lovely.

    But let me just say that the main storyline, the "mystery" part, will blow you away. Chloe was abducted and almost killed as a child and guess what? Her first case is almost identical to what happened to her. She's thrust into this situation where she must live by her horrible memories constantly, all while the paparazzi are incredibly horrible to her, yet push that aside and focus on this poor little girl.

    NOBODY'S DAMSEL blew me away. I had to write this review three days after I finished the book just to compile my thoughts and do this review justice.

    Recommended reading -- 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Can't say enough about this series!!

    Damn good doesn't come close to describing how remarkable these stories are so far.thanx for givin us beautiful words!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Can't wait for the next installment!

    I love following Chloe & Jason's story. Both of them have inner conflict and they work through it together. The crime solving aspect is a great bonus to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Good thing it was free

    Shallow and completely disconnected from the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    Contemporary crime fiction at its best! Chloe, newly wed and n

    Contemporary crime fiction at its best!
    Chloe, newly wed and new graduate, gets a job offer in a tough economy... so she says yes. The new job strains her emotions, her new marriage, and even her concept of what her childhood meant. Break out your tissues and prepare to read all day--this book is un-put-down-able. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1