Customer Reviews for

Nobody's Fool

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Should get six stars

I'm on a campaign to get this book into the hands of as many serious readers as possible. Richard Russo has created the most wonderful cast of down-but-not-out characters since Steinbeck's 'Cannery Row'. Sully, the reluctant poster boy for unrealized potential, survive...
I'm on a campaign to get this book into the hands of as many serious readers as possible. Richard Russo has created the most wonderful cast of down-but-not-out characters since Steinbeck's 'Cannery Row'. Sully, the reluctant poster boy for unrealized potential, survives in a state of contented, decrepit serenity, until he is jarred into a re-evaluation of his sins, past and present, by the arrival of his recently layed-off (and highly estranged) son, Peter. The family grudges stretch back and forth in time, but Sully can see the possibility of a redemption (of sorts) if he can do right by his grandson. The dialogue is superb, the supporting cast (especially Rub) is delightful. Hilarious, heartwarming, and heartbreaking, 'Nobody's Fool' is all you could want in a novel. Mr. Russo mines the same material in 'The Risk Pool', also a marvelous novel by a remarkable author.

posted by Anonymous on March 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Doom and Gloom in a small town

This very lengthy novel had few redeeming features. An endless story about a defunct town occupied by dysfunctional people. It was extremely boring and often filthy. Its faults were not relieved by the occasional humor. - - - - A waste of reading time!

posted by rajet on March 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2000

    Should get six stars

    I'm on a campaign to get this book into the hands of as many serious readers as possible. Richard Russo has created the most wonderful cast of down-but-not-out characters since Steinbeck's 'Cannery Row'. Sully, the reluctant poster boy for unrealized potential, survives in a state of contented, decrepit serenity, until he is jarred into a re-evaluation of his sins, past and present, by the arrival of his recently layed-off (and highly estranged) son, Peter. The family grudges stretch back and forth in time, but Sully can see the possibility of a redemption (of sorts) if he can do right by his grandson. The dialogue is superb, the supporting cast (especially Rub) is delightful. Hilarious, heartwarming, and heartbreaking, 'Nobody's Fool' is all you could want in a novel. Mr. Russo mines the same material in 'The Risk Pool', also a marvelous novel by a remarkable author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    Doom and Gloom in a small town

    This very lengthy novel had few redeeming features. An endless story about a defunct town occupied by dysfunctional people. It was extremely boring and often filthy. Its faults were not relieved by the occasional humor. - - - - A waste of reading time!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2000

    Great read=No Fooling

    Richard Russo has a knack for bringing to life deeply scarred, flawed characters that nobody'd want in their lives-but you can't get enough of them on paper. Sully, on first glance a loser who's never there when you need him, turns out to have more than enough redeeming qualities, good folks who love him, and a handful of demons. The relationships in his life are complicated and ambivalent with the exception of his landlady, Miss Beryl, who taught him in the eighth grade, and always managed to keep him in her life-even when nobody else was left. This book,like Sully, is a diamond in the rough=by the end, you'll be in awe of its brilliance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Yes to Nobody's Fool

    This is one of my favorie books ever. Nothing happens and nothing needs to 'happen' since this is about the characters who inhabit the pages. I think this is Russo's best work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    My favorite book, bar none

    Nobody's Fool disloged To Kill a Mockingbird from the top spot on my favorite books list. Sully is so much fun (and exasperating) as are the other denizens of Upper Bath. I have to read this once a year; when I read this, I'm visiting people I love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2003

    GREAT!

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I'VE EVER READ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2002

    I LOVE THIS BOOK.........

    I'm just over half way through "Nobody's Fool" and I can't say how much I like it. I read " Empire Falls" and loved it so much, I just couldn't wait to get to Richard Russo's next book. As soon as I finish this one, I'm going to get another one of his!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    My favorite book!

    I would absolutely recommend this for book club discussions; that is how I found it. I have read all of this author's books and watched the movie based on it four times. Russo has great compassion and this is reflected in the book. I cannot say enough good things about this book, it is fantastic and worth reading more than once. His books touch the heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    I decided to try this book when I read the synopsis and it menti

    I decided to try this book when I read the synopsis and it mentioned slyly funny. I love a book that can make you laugh even under the saddest circumstances. Richard Russo does just that in Nobody's Fool. Poor Sully, the main character, can't catch a break in life; although, truth be told, he never tried very hard. He shuffles along on his bad knee attempting to make a living, deal with family, and solve his love life. Things keep falling apart on him, but through it all, he has a good heart that shines through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Very good.

    Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Amusing read

    Love it! Small town life at it's best...and worst! Nothing really happens while at the same time things are happening. Humorous and touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    A gift

    This was a gift to my Mom, who liked it alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2