Customer Reviews for

Nocturnal

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Loving Sigler more with every book of his that I read!!!

    So I am a HUGE fan of Infected and Contagious....I think they are some of the most creative and well written sci fi horror books I've ever read. The characters are extremely well developed, the dialogue is witty, but the thing I like most about Sigler is that his attention to the science behind the fiction is fantastic. He provides the reader a "believeable" delivery...even though the story is way out there.....you feel it's possible the whole way through!!

    Now, enough about Sigler as a whole, and more about Nocturnal specifically. I almost feel like this was two separate books. The first part is the "build up" to the big revelation of what's really going on, and the second part plays out the story. I was on the edge of my seat while reading the first part of the book....always intrigued and saying "what the hell is going on, here?" At the same time, I was becoming very involved with the characters, which is what you want as a fiction reader...to get drawn into the story. Sigler punches you in the stomach with a huge narrative hook in the middle of the book, and then takes you on a great finishing ride the rest of the way through. Yeah, yeah yeah.....there's action and blood and guts and all the stuff others mention when it comes to Sigler.....you know you're getting a dose of gore. But it's his writing style and wonderfully creative stories that makes him an awesome author.

    I cannot wait for Pandemic.....I hear it's being released Oct 1st of 2013. Hope Sigler keeps churing them out!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    I am SOOO excited to see this in print!

    Scott Sigler presented this story a few years ago as a free podcast. He's re-worked the story and gotten it published. Based on my past experience with Scott Sigler novels, this is a great thing! I'm looking forward to reconnecting with some of my favorite "Siglerverse" characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    SPOOKY FUN!

    Another GREAT novel from Scott Sigler! I've read and enjoyed his others as well. NOCTURNAL is gory, humorous, engaging, and just plain freaky. Loved it!

    ~DO~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This was the last of Scott Sigler's books that I decided to tack

    This was the last of Scott Sigler's books that I decided to tackle. I chose to do it last because of the size of the book. 

    True to Sigler fashion the chapters are short and exciting.

    This is a great read for the modern day science fiction reader. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    At first I wasn't sure if I was totally sold on the idea of a &q

    At first I wasn't sure if I was totally sold on the idea of a "tortured" cop, but since I love his other books, I thought I'd at least give it a shot ... and this book was SO good I had to write a review on it. Kept me guessing in the beginning as to what or who was the bad guy, but I liked that, and some parts forced me to turn on extra lights, not just a flimsy book light. AWESOME.  He really makes you feel for and fall in love with the characters. I would recommend this book in a heartbeat      

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Scar

    The characters were fleshed out just enough to pull me into their story line. Although the plot was based in pure fantasy, Sigler structured a premise tight enough to hold water.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Amazing Author

    I was introduced to Scott Sigler through his book Infected.I now own all of thrm

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Very smart, very cool & very SCARY!

    You'll enjoy this book if you like horror. I read it in one night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Awesome Read !!!

    Part, detective buddy story. Part, I want my MOMMIE !!! Mutant Cannibal serial killer horror.
    Braised breast of Bag lady anyone? How about a young and tender frickaseed flank of Beefcake...... anyone?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great piece of work!

    This is a great book by Scott Sigler. I first heard of Scott on MOSTER TALK podcast. He also has some great short stories available as well. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Excellent Reading

    Sigler is a unique storyteller! Great new book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Sigler can do no wrong

    From the first moment I was introduced to Scott's work, there was no turning back! This book is no exception!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I find it hard to believe that this book is 566 pages. It felt

    I find it hard to believe that this book is 566 pages. It felt like 100 pages. I haven't read a book this fast in a long time. Scott Sigler really paces his story well. He doesn't give it all away up front. Sigler practically keeps the reader turning the pages even though something scary, suspenseful and/or gory awaits. Many times I found myself thinking that "no, Sigler won't do that or go there" but yes, he does. He really doesn't hold anything back and I really appreciate that. Scott Sigler is an awesome writer and Nocturnal is proof of that greatness. Can you really go wrong with a character named Pookie? I didn't think so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Sigler at his best

    What else is there to say? Sigler promises big thrills and delivers in spades. The story is great and the dialog is sharp enough to cut. Fun read cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Great would love series of adventures

    Another great Sigler story. I think would be really cool if a series was started based on this character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Great story

    Keep it up Scott. Love your podio books to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Great story

    I found Scott Sigler a couple of years ago and he's now one of my favorite authors. He has a great imagination and combines genres well. This is a buddy-cop movie rolled into a bizarre story of supernatural that most horror fans will really enjoy. It's violent, funny, and exciting. Unlike his GFL series, which is great, this book is more adult in language and content. Great read. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Fantastic Blending of genres!

    Sigler's best book so far. A very talented author. The best author the mainstream's either not heard of or dont understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Great pulp

    This is some great pulp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2